

SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY ENGAGING THE WORLD

To: Senate

From: Kris Nordgren, Secretary Senate Nominating Committee

Date: May 24, 2019

Subject: Senate Committee Elections

This is a summary of the nominations received and outstanding vacancies for Senate committees.

All nominations must be received by the Senate Office from the Nominating Committee in time to be included in the documentation sent out for the next Senate meeting. Senators will be informed that further nominations may be made by individual members of Senate. Any such nominations must reach the Committee Secretary the Friday before the meeting of Senate, and no further nominations will be accepted after this time. The Committee Secretary will provide members of Senate at the Senate meeting with such further nominations as may have been received. Oral nominations during the meeting of Senate will not then be allowed.

If only one nomination is received for a position, the position will be elected by acclamation. If more than one nomination is received for a position, online voting will be held during the week following the Senate meeting on Monday, June 10, 2019. An email will be sent to all Senators with information about the candidates and a link to the online voting system. Voting will be permitted for 48 hours and election results will be released within three days of the end of voting

COMMITTEE	POSITION	TERM (from June 1, 2019)	NOMINATIONS RECEIVED	CANDIDATES ELECTED/ ELECTED BY
СС	Faculty Senator	2 years		
	Student Member	1 year		
	Faculty Member	2 years	Laura Marks	
DQAC	Undergraduate Student	1 year		
	Undergraduate Student	1 year		
ESC	Senator	1 year		
ESC	Student Senator	1 year		
	Graduate Student Member	2 years	Vienna Lam	
	Graduate Student Member	2 years	Evan Hutcheon	
	Graduate Student Member	2 years		
	Undergraduate Student Member	2 years	Kimia Tavakoli	
REB	Member (not affiliated with the University)	3 years		
KED	Member (not affiliated with the University)	3 years		
	Member (not affiliated with the University)	3 years		
	Member (not affiliated with the University)	3 years		

	Faculty member	2 100000		
SAB	Faculty member	2 years	Cooffron Doitros	
	Faculty Member (Alternate)	2 years	Geoffrey Poitras	
	Undergraduate Student	2 years		
	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	2 years		
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		
	Senator	2 years	Colin Percival	
SCAR	Senator	1 year		
	Student Senator	2 years		
	Student Senator (Alternate)	1 year		
	Senator (at-large)	2 years	Peter Hall	
SCCS	Member of the University	2 years		
	Community (at-large)	-		
	Student (Alternate)	1 year		
SCEMP	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year		
	Graduate Student (at-large)	1 year	Alexandra Gunn	
	Faculty Member (Applied Sciences)	2 years	Bonnie Gray	
	Faculty Member (Arts and Social	2 years	Lisa Shapiro	
	Sciences)	2 years		
	Faculty Member (Communication,	2 years		
SCIA	Art and Technology)	•		
JUIA	Faculty Member (Environment)	2 years		
	Faculty Member (Health Sciences)	1 year		
	Faculty Member (Science)	1 year	David Hik	
	Undergraduate Student (at-large)	2 years	Karan Pathania	
	Graduate Student (at-large)	2 years	Alexandra Gunn	
	Faculty Member	2 years	Dan Laitsch	
	Faculty Member	2 years	Abraham Punnen	
	Faculty Member (Alternate)	1 year		
	Faculty Member (Alternate)	1 year		
SCODA	Student	1 year	Kau'i Keliipio;	
SCODA		i yeai	Abhishek Parmar	
	Student	1 year		
	Student	1 year		
	Student (Alternate)	1 year		
	Student (Alternate)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (Applied Sciences)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (Arts and Social	3 vaara		
	Sciences)	3 years		
	Faculty Senator (Business Admin.)	3 years		
SCUH	Faculty Senator (Education)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (Health Sciences)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (Science)	1 year		
	Student Senator	3 years		
	Senator (at-large)	3 years	Tracey Leacock	
SCUP	Faculty Senator (Arts and Social Sciences)	1 year	Elise Chenier; Peter Hall; Brian Krauth; Steven Weldon	
	Faculty Senator (Communication, Art & Technology)	2 years	Chris Shaw	

	Faculty Senator (Education)	2 years	Dan Laitsch
	Faculty Senator (Health Sciences)	2 years	
	Faculty Senator (Science)	2 years	Charles Walsby
			Colin Fowler;
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year	Abhishek Parmar
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year	
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year	
	Undergraduate Student Senator (Alternate)	1 year	
	Graduate Student Senator	1 year	
	Graduate Student Senator (Alternate)	1 year	
SCUS	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Jennifer Chou; Abhishek Parmar; Karan Pathania
	Undergraduate Student	1 year	
	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	
	Faculty Member (Applied Sciences)	3 years	
	Faculty Member (Business Admin)	3 years	
SCUTL	Faculty Member (Health Sciences)	2 years	
	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Jennifer Chou
	Graduate Student	1 year	
SCAAC	Graduate Student	1 year	
SGAAC	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	
	Graduate Student	1 year	
SGSC	Graduate Student	1 year	
SGSC	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	
	Senator	2 years	
	Senator	2 years	
SLC/LPAC Dual Positions	Undergraduate Student	2 years	
Dual Positions	Graduate Student	2 years	
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	
	Faculty Senator (Applied Sciences)	2 years	
SNC	Faculty Senator (Arts and Social	1 year	
	Sciences)	1 year	
	Faculty Senator (Business	2 voore	
	Administration)	2 years	
	Faculty Senator (Communication,	2 years	
	Art and Technology)	2 years	
	Faculty Senator (Health Sciences)	2 years	
	Faculty Senator (Science)	2 years	
	Student Senator	1 year	
	Graduate Student	1 year	
SPCSAB	Faculty Senator	1 year	
STUJAĎ	Faculty Member	2 years	Paul Tupper
SPCSAB/	Faculty Member	2 years	Stephen Spector

SGAAC	Graduate Student	1 year		
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		
SPCSAB/ SUAAC	Faculty Member	1 year		
	Undergraduate Student	1 year		
	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		
SUAAC	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Jennifer Chou	
	Undergraduate student (alternate)	1 year		
Vice Chair of	Senator	1 voor	Colin Percival	
Senate	Senator	1 year	Collii Feicivai	

* SCIA Faculty members: In the event that the Faculty Member is unable to attend, the Faculty Dean is authorized to appoint an alternate replacement.

ĊĊ	Calendar Committee
DQAC	Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee
ESC	Electoral Standing Committee
LPAC	Library Penalties Appeal Committee
REB	Research Ethics Board
SAB	Senate Appeals Board
SCAR	Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules
SCCS	Senate Committee on Continuing Studies
SCEMP	Senate Committee on Enrolment Management and Planning
SCIA	Senate Committee on International Activities
SCODA	Senate Committee on Disciplinary Appeals
SCUH	Senate Committee on University Honours
SCUP	Senate Committee on University Priorities
SCUS	Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies
SCUTL	Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning
SGAAC	Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee
SGSC	Senate Graduate Studies Committee
SLC	Senate Library Committee
SNC	Senate Nominating Committee
SPCSAB	Senate Policy Committee on Scholarships, Awards & Bursaries
SUAAC	Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee