SFU

SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY

To: Senate

From: Jo Hinchliffe, Secretary Senate Nominating Committee

Date: May 24, 2012 Jo Hinchiff

Subject: Senate Committee Elections

This is a summary of the nominations received and outstanding vacancies for the Senate committees. Senators who wish to submit additional nominations must send an email to the secretary of the Senate Nominating Committee (joah@sfu.ca). These nominations must be received by the secretary **no later than Friday, June 8, 2012**. Nominations received after that time will not be accepted. Senators making nominations must ensure in advance that the nominee is willing to stand for election.

If only one nomination is received for a position, the position will be elected by acclamation. If more than one nomination is received for a position, online voting will be held during the week following the Senate meeting on Monday, June 11, 2012. An email will be sent to all senators with information about the candidates and a link to the online voting system. Voting will be permitted for 48 hours and election results will be released within three days of the end of voting.

COMMITTEE	POSITION	TERM (starting June 1, 2012)	Nominations Received
CC	Faculty Senator	1 year	Dianne Cyr
	Student member	1 year	
CRUA	Faculty member	2 years	Maureen Fizzell
	2 Graduate Students	2 years	Sylvia Gajdics
	(regular and alternate)		
DQAC	Convocation Senator	2 years	Jenn McRae
	2 Undergraduate Students	1 year	
ESC	2 Senators	2 years	Paul Percival
			Jenn McRae
	Student Senator	2 years	
REB*	3 Members from the University	1 year	Gordon Pritchard
	Community		
	2 Members from Community outside	1 year	Margit Nance
	of the University		Laurence Turner
	2 Students	1 year	Ashley Pullman
	(regular and alternate)		
SAB	2 Faculty members	2 years	Jeremy Snyder
	(regular and alternate)		Mary-Catherine Kropinski
	2 Graduate Students	2 years	Marc Legacy
	(regular and alternate)		

SCAR	Vice Chair of Senate	1 year	Paul Percival
	2 Senators	2 years	Paul Percival
			Stephen Easton
	Student Senator (alternate)	2 years	
SCCS	4 Faculty Senators	2 years	Robert Gordon
			Daniel Laitsch
			Lynne Quarmby
	2 Student Senators	2 years	Jens Lundgreen-Nielsen
	(regular and alternate)		C
SCEMP	2 Faculty Senators	2 years	Elizabeth Elle
			Paul Li
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year	
	Graduate Student (at large)	1 year	
SCIA**	Faculty (BUS)	2 years	Pek-Hooi Soh
(At least 2	Faculty (EDUC)	2 years	
faculty	Faculty (FCAT)	1 year	Martin Laba
senators)			Patricia Gruben
,	Faculty (HSCI)	2 years	Kelley Lee
			Charles Goldsmith
	Faculty (SCI)	2 years	Carl Lowenberger
	Faculty (Lifelong Learning)	2 years	
	Undergraduate Student Senator	2 years	
SCODA	3 Faculty members	2 years (reg)	Doug Allen
SCODIE	(1 regular, 2 alternate)	1 year (alt)	Karen Kavanagh
	(Melek Ortabasi
			Sam Black
	5 Student members	1 year	Marc Legacy
	(3 regular, 2 alternate)		Jennifer Brooks
			Nimisha Parekh
			Ashley Pullman
SCUH	Senator (APSC)	3 years	Jim Delgrande
	Senator (ARTS)	1 year	
	Senator (FCAT)	3 years	Rob Woodbury
	Senator (EDUC)	3 years	
	Senator (SCI)	2 years	
	Student Senator	2 years	
	Student member (at large)	3 years	Japreet Lehal
SCUP	Faculty Senator (APSC)	2 years	Glenn Chapman
	Faculty Senator (ARTS)	2 years	Betty Schellenberg
	Faculty Senator (BUS)	2 years	Peter Tingling
	Faculty Senator (FCAT)	1 year	
	Faculty Senator (ENV)	2 years	Tracy Brennand
			David Burley
	Faculty Senator (HSCI)	1 year	
	4 Undergraduate Student Senators	1 year	
	(3 regular, 1 alternate)	-	
	2 Graduate Student Senators	1 year	
	(regular and alternate)	-	
	Convocation Senator	2 years	Jenn McRae

SCUS	3 Undergraduate Students	1 year	Karan Thukral
	(2 regular, 1 alternate)		Yan Xiao
SCUTL	Faculty (FCAT)	3 years	Russell Taylor
	Faculty (EDUC)	3 years	
	Faculty (ENV)	3 years	Bob Muir
	Faculty (HSCI)	3 years	Kitty Corbett
	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Japreet Lehal
	Graduate Student	1 year	Jens Lundgreen-Nielsen Sylvia Gadjics
			Fiona Shaw
			Ashley Pullman
			Cathy Griffin
SGAAC	Faculty member	1 year	
	Convocation Senator	2 years	Jenn McRae
	2 Graduate Students	1 year	
	(regular and alternate)		
SGSC	3 Graduate Students	1 year	Sylvia Gadjics
	(1 regular, 2 alternate)		
SLC/LPAC	Undergraduate Student	2 years	
Dual Positions	(alternate)		
	2 Graduate Students	2 years	
	(regular and alternate)		
SNC	Faculty Senator (ARTS)	2 years	
	Faculty Senator (BUS)	1 year	Peter Tingling
	Faculty Senator (FCAT)	1 year	
	Faculty Senator (EDUC)	2 years	Daniel Laitsch
	Faculty Senator (ENV)	1 year	
	Faculty Senator (HSCI)	1 year	
	Faculty Senator (SCI)	1 year	
	Student Senator	1 year	
	Graduate Student	1 year	
SPCSAB	Faculty member	2 years	Christine Kim
	Faculty member	1 year	
SPCSAB/	Undergraduate Student (regular and	1 year	
SUAAC	alternate)		
SPCSAB/	Graduate Student	1 year	
SGAAC	(regular and alternate)		
SUAAC	Faculty member	1 year	
	Convocation Senator	2 years	Colin Percival
	2 Undergraduate Students	1 year	
	(regular and alternate)	- ,	

* Memberships on the Research Ethics Board are for one year terms while a review is under way. ** At least three of the Faculty members on SCIA need to be Faculty Senators.

CC	Calendar Committee	
CRUA	Committee to Review University Admissions	
DQAC	Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee	
ESC	Electoral Standing Committee	
LPAC	Library Penalties Appeal Committee	
REB	Research Ethics Board	
SAB	Senate Appeals Board	
SCAR	Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules	
SCCS	Senate Committee on Continuing Studies	
SCEMP	Senate Committee on Enrolment Management and Planning	
SCIA	Senate Committee on International Activities	
SCODA	Senate Committee on Disciplinary Appeals	
SCUH	Senate Committee on University Honours	
SCUP	Senate Committee on University Priorities	
SCUS	Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies	
SCUTL	Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning	
SGAAC	Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee	
SGSC	Senate Graduate Studies Committee	
SLC	Senate Library Committee	
SNC	Senate Nominating Committee	
SPCSAB	Senate Policy Committee on Scholarships, Awards & Bursaries	
SUAAC	Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee	