SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY

MEMORANDUM

TO: Members of Senate

FROM: W. R. Heath

Registrar

SUB JECT:

Elections - Standing Committees

DATE: Sept. 9, 1985

of Senate

Undernoted are the results of elections following submission of nominations from the Senate Nominating Committee, and following distribution of a memo on August 28th, 1985 to Senators seeking additional nominations, with such nominations closing on September 6, 1985. Senators will note that some elections are to be conducted by Senate at its meeting of October 7, 1985.

Senators will also note that there are insufficient nominations yet received to fill all vacancies and, under Senate regulations, any Senator wishing to add nominations to those vacancies shown below may do so by notifying the Secretary of Senate in writing of such nominations, to reach his office no later than Friday. October 4. 1985. Nominations received after that time cannot be accepted.

If a nomination is made, the Senator making the nomination must ensure in advance that the nominee is willing to stand for election.

SENATE COMMITTEE ON ACADEMIC DISCIPLINE

One Senator at-large to replace A.C. Kazepides, as Chairman, for a one-year term of office, from October 1, 1985 to September 30, 1986.

Elected by acclamation: A.C. Kazepides

One Faculty Member to replace J. Cavers for balance term of office, from date of election to September 30, 1986.

Elected by acclamation: E. J. Wells

One Faculty Member to replace T. Kameda for a two-year term of office, from October 1, 1985 to September 30, 1987.

Elected by acclamation: M. Roberts

One Faculty Member Alternate to replace E.J. Wells for a one-year term of office, from October 1, 1985 to September 30, 1986.

Vacancy - No nominations received

SENATE COMMITTEE ON ACADEMIC PLANNING/SENATE COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY BUDGET

Two Senators at-large to replace K. Okuda and J. Dickinson for balance terms of office, from date of election to September 30, 1986.

Elected by acclamation: W.L. Cleveland J.M. D'Auria

Three Senators at-large to replace W.L. Cleveland, J.M. D'Auria and K.E. Rieckhoff for two-year terms of office, from October 1, 1985 to September 30, 1987.

Elected by acclamation: D. Goodman K.B. Rieckhoff S. Verdun-Jones

One Lay Member Senator to replace V. Nielsen for a two-year term of office, from October 1, 1985 to September 30, 1987.

Elected by acclamation: V. Nielsen

One Student Senator to replace M. Noonan for a two-year term of office, from October 1, 1985 to September 30, 1987.

C. Valentine
A. Steele
(Election to take place at the October meeting of Senate)

SENATE COMMITTEE ON AGENDA AND RULES

One Senator at-large to replace D. McDonald for balance term of office, from date of election to September 30, 1986.

Blected by acclamation: M. Fellman

One Senator at-large to replace E.J. Wells for a two-year term of office, from October 1, 1985 to September 30, 1987.

Elected by acclamation: E.J. Wells

One Student Senator to replace G. Flynn for a two-year term of office, from October 1, 1985 to September 30, 1987.

Elected by acclamation: C. Valentine

SENATE COMMITTEE ON CONTINUING STUDIES

Two Faculty Senators to replace C.B. Crawford and A. MacPherson for balance terms of office, from date of election to September 30, 1986.

Elected by acclamation: G.A.C. Graham

Vacancy - Insufficient nominations received to fill all vacancies

Two Senators at-large to replace R. Barrow and G.A.C. Graham for two-year terms of office, from October 1, 1985 to September 30, 1987.

Elected by acclamation: M. Kimball E. Love

One Lay Member Senator to replace M. Warsh for a two-year term of office, from October 1, 1985 to September 30, 1987.

Elected by acclamation: M. Warsh

One Student Senator to replace S. Dalby for balance term of office, from date of election to September 30, 1986.

Elected by acclamation: A. G. Steele

SENATE COMMITTEE ON HONORARY DEGREES

One Faculty Senator (Arts) to replace K. Okuda for no specified term of office.

Elected by acclamation: J.F. Chant

One Faculty Senator (Education) to replace M. Wideen for no specified term of office.

Elected by acclamation: R. Marx

One Faculty Senator (Applied Sciences) (replacing T. Kameda, F.I.D.S.) for no specified term of office.

Elected by acclamation: N. Cercone

One Student Senator to replace S. Dalby for no specified term of office.

Elected by acclamation: I. M. Scott

SENATE LIBRARY COMMITTEE

Two Senators at-large to replace G. Flynn and M. Noonan for two-year terms of office, from October 1, 1985 to September 30, 1987.

L. Salter

G. Strate

G. Flynn

P. Tay

(Election to take place at the October meeting of Senate)

SENATE LIBRARY COMMITTEE/LIBRARY PENALTIES APPEAL COMMITTEE

One Student Senator and one Student Senator Alternate to replace K.C. Chin and P. Zeller respectively for balance terms of office, from date of election to September 30, 1986.

Elected by acclamation: E. Almassy

N. K. Lo (Alternate)

SENATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Four Senators at-large to replace A.C. Kazepides, J. Dickinson, K. Okuda and G.A..C. Graham for one-year terms of office, from October 1, 1985 to September 30, 1986.

Elected by acclamation: G.A.C. Graham

A.C. Kazepides M.C. Roberts S. Verdun-Jones

One Student Senator and one Student Senator Alternate to replace M. Noonan and H. McAllister for one-year terms of office, from October 1, 1985 to September 30, 1986.

Elected by acclamation: M. D. Noonan

C. Valentine (Alternate)

SENATE COMMITTEE ON SCHOLARSHIPS, AWARDS AND BURSARIES

One Faculty Member (Applied Sciences) (replacing D.K. MacIntyre, F.I.D.S.); One Faculty Member (Arts) to replace A. MacPherson; one Faculty Member (Business Administration) to replace D. McDonald; one Faculty Member (Education) to replace A.C. Kazepides; one Faculty Member (Science) to replace C.Y. Shen. Terms of office are for two years, from October 1, 1985 to September 30, 1987.

Elected by acclamation: N. Cercone (Applied Sciences)

P.E. Kennedy (Arts)

C.E. Love (Business Admin.)

R. Marx (Education)
M. Singh (Science)

One Lay Member Senator to replace V. Nielsen for two-year term of office, from October 1, 1985 to September 30, 1987.

Elected by acclamation: V. Nielsen

SENATE UNDERGRADUATE ADMISSIONS BOARD

Two Student Senators and one Student Senator Alternate to replace M. Noonan, J. Tham and P. Zeller respectively for one-year terms of office, from October 1, 1985 to September 30, 1986.

Elected by acclamation: R. J. S. Rainey

I. C. Muscroft

I. M. Scott (Alternate)

One Senator at-large to replace B.T. McGeer for balance term of office, from date of election to September 30, 1986.

Elected by acclamation: L.T. Pinfield

SENATE APPEALS BOARD

One Faculty Senator to replace C.B. Crawford for no specified term of office.

Elected by acclamation: J.F. Chant

One Faculty Senator Alternate to replace J. Ross for no specified term of office.

Vacancy - No nominations received

SENATE COMMITTEE ON UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES

Three Student Senator Alternates to replace K.C. Chin, J. McKinlay and P. Zeller for no specified terms of office.

Elected by acclamation: N. K. Lo (Alternate)

E. Almassy (Alternate)

P. Tay (Alternate)