SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY

MEMORANDUM

TO:

All Senators

FROM:

W.R. Heath

Secretary of

Senate

SUBJECT: Call for Nominations -

DATE:

August 27, 1987

Standing Committees of

Senate

A number of vacancies will occur to the undernoted Senate committees as of October 1, 1987. The Senate Nominating Committee has submitted nominations for elections to the undernoted committees to be conducted by Senate.

Under Senate regulations any Senator who wishes to add nominations to those shown below may do so by notifying the Secretary of Senate in writing of such nominations, to reach his office no later that Friday. September 11. 1987. Nominations received after that time cannot be accepted. If a nomination is made, the Senator making the nomination must ensure in advance that the nominee is willing to stand for election.

Senators will note that there are insufficient nominations yet received to fill all vacancies

Senate Committee on Academic Discipline (SCAD)

One Senator at-large to replace J. Osborne, as Chair, for one-year term of office, from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 1988

One Faculty Member to replace M. Roberts for two-year term of office, from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 1989.

P. Warwick

One Faculty Member (Alternate) to replace P. Kennedy for one-year term of office, from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 1988.

G. Mauser

Senate Committee on Academic Planning (SCAP)/Senate Committee on University Budget (SCUB)

Two Senators at-large to replace D. Goodman and K. Rieckhoff for two-year terms of office, from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 1989.

D. Goodman

L. Salter

One Senator at-large to replace S. Verdun-Jones for term of office from September 1, 1987 to September 30, 1989.

G. Strate

One Lay Senator to replace V. Nielsen for two-year term of office, from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 1989

M. Warsh

One Student Senator to replace R. Irvine for two-year term of office, from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 1989.

Senate Committee on Agenda & Rules (SCAR)
One Senator at-large to replace M. Singh for two-year term of office, from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 1989.

A.C. Kazepides

One Student Senator to replace S. Magid for two-year term of office, from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 1989.

Senate Committee on Continuing Studies (SCCS)

Two Senators at-large to replace P. Winne and E. Love for terms of office, from September 1, 1987 to September 30, 1989.

K. Heinrich

M. Roberts

One Lay Senator to replace M. Warsh for two-year term of office, from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 1989.

V. Nielsen

One Faculty Senator to replace J. Dickinson for balance term of office, from date of election to September 30, 1988.

Senate Committee on Honorary Degrees (SCHD)

One Student Senator to fill an existing vacancy for no specified term of office.

Senate Library Committee (SLC)

Two Senators at-large to replace J. Osborne and L. Salter for two-year terms of office, from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 1989.

A. Freedman M. Roberts

Senate Nominating Committee (SNC)
Three Senators at-large to replace R. Barrow, M. Roberts, and J.L. Berggren for oneyear terms of office from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 1988.

> R. Barrow J.L. Berggren

One Senator at-large to replace S. Verdun-Jones for term of office from September 1, 1987 to September 30, 1988.

D. Goodman

One Student Senator to replace P. Slanz for one-year term of office, from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 1988.

One Student Senator Alternate to replace S. Wright for one-year term of office, from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 1988.

Senate Policy Committee on Scholarships, Awards & Bursaries (SPCSAB)
One Faculty Senator, as Chair, to replace P. Kennedy for three-year term of office, from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 1990.

P. Kennedy

Three Faculty Members at-large to replace C.E. Love, R. Marx, and M. Singh for two year terms of office, from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 1989.

> K. Heinrich E. Love

One Lay Senator to replace V. Nielsen for two-year term of office, from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 1989.

V. Nielsen

One Student at-large to replace M. Hollingshead for one-year term of office from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 1988. (Nominations for this position will be provided by the Student Society and forwarded to the SNC by the Registrar's Office).

Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee (SUAAC)
One Faculty Member at-large to replace J. Osborne for two-year term of office, from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 1989.

J. Osborne

Two Students at-large to replace D. Thomson and to fill an existing vacancy for one-year terms of office, from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 1988. (Nominations for these positions will be provided by the Student Society and forwarded to the SNC by the Registrar's Office).

Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee (SGAAC)
One Faculty Member at-large to replace E. Boyanowsky for two-year term of office, from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 19889.

B. Thomson

Two Students at-large to replace E. Balka and A. Cadavid for one-year terms of office, from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 1988. (Nominations for these positions will be provided by the Student Society and forwarded to the SNC by the Registrar's Office).

Senate Undergraduate Admissions Board (SUAB)

Two Student Senators to replace B. Salter and S. Wright for one-year terms of office, from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 1988.

One Student Senator Alternate to replace P. Slanz for one-year term of office, from October 1, 1987 to September 30, 1988.