

SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY ENGAGING THE WORLD

To: Senate

From: Kris Nordgren, Secretary Senate Nominating Committee

Date: August 23, 2019

Subject: Senate Committee Elections

This is a summary of the nominations received and outstanding vacancies for Senate committees.

All nominations must be received by the Senate Office from the Nominating Committee in time to be included in the documentation sent out for the next Senate meeting. Senators will be informed that further nominations may be made by individual members of Senate. Any such nominations must reach the Committee Secretary the Friday before the meeting of Senate, and no further nominations will be accepted after this time. The Committee Secretary will provide members of Senate at the Senate meeting with such further nominations as may have been received. Oral nominations during the meeting of Senate will not then be allowed.

If only one nomination is received for a position, the position will be elected by acclamation. If more than one nomination is received for a position, online voting will be held during the week following the Senate meeting on Monday, September 9, 2019. An email will be sent to all Senators with information about the candidates and a link to the

online voting system. Voting will be permitted for 48 hours and election results will be released within three days of the end of voting

COMMITTEE	POSITION	TERM (from June 1, 2019)	NOMINATIONS RECEIVED (after July Senate Elections)	CANDIDATES ELECTED (from July Senate meeting)
СС	Faculty Senator	2 years		
	Student Member	1 year		
DQAC	Undergraduate Student	1 year		
	Undergraduate Student	1 year		
ESC	Senator	1 year		
REB	Graduate Student Member	2 years		
	Member (not affiliated with the University)	3 years		
	Member (not affiliated with the University)	3 years		
	Member (not affiliated with the University)	3 years		
SAB	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	2 years		
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		
SCAR	Senator	2 years		Steve Weldon
	Senator	1 year		Peter Tingling
	Student Senator (Alternate)	1 year		

[Member of the University			
SCCS	Community (at-large)	2 years		
	Student (Alternate)	1 year	Alexandra Gunn	
		1 year	Susan Luu;	
SCEMP	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year	Abhishek Parmar	
a a . .	Faculty Member (Communication,	2 years		
SCIA	Art and Technology)	1		
	Faculty Member (Health Sciences)	1 year		
SCODA	Faculty Member (Alternate)	1 year		
	Faculty Member (Alternate)	1 year		
	Student (Alternate)	1 year		
	Student (Alternate)	1 year		
SCUH	Faculty Senator (Applied Sciences)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (Education)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (Health Sciences)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (Science)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (Health Sciences)	2 years		
SCUP	Undergraduate Student Senator (Alternate)	1 year		
	Graduate Student Senator	1 year		
	Graduate Student Senator (Alternate)	1 year		
	Faculty Member (Business Admin)	3 years		
SCUTL	Faculty Member (Health Sciences)	2 years		
SGAAC	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		
	Graduate Student	1 year		
SGSC	Graduate Student	1 year		
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		
	Senator	2 years		Geoffrey Poitras
SLC/LPAC	Senator	2 years		Dan Laitsch
	Undergraduate Student	2 years	Abhishek Parmar	
Dual Positions	Graduate Student	2 years		Kimberly O'Donnell
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		
SNC	Faculty Senator (Applied Sciences)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (Arts and Social			
	Sciences)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (Communication,	2		
	Art and Technology)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (Health Sciences)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (Science)	2 years		
	Student Senator	1 year		
SPCSAB	Faculty Senator	1 year		
SPCSAB/	Graduate Student	1 year		
SGAAC	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		
SPCSAB/	Faculty Member	1 year		
SUAAC	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		
SUAAC	Undergraduate student (alternate)	1 year		

* SCIA Faculty members: In the event that the Faculty Member is unable to attend, the Faculty Dean is authorized to appoint an alternate replacement.

appoint an alternate replacement.			
CC	Calendar Committee		
DQAC	Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee		
ESC	Electoral Standing Committee		
LPAC	Library Penalties Appeal Committee		
REB	Research Ethics Board		
SAB	Senate Appeals Board		
SCAR	Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules		
SCCS	Senate Committee on Continuing Studies		
SCEMP	Senate Committee on Enrolment Management and Planning		
SCIA	Senate Committee on International Activities		
SCODA	Senate Committee on Disciplinary Appeals		
SCUH	Senate Committee on University Honours		
SCUP	Senate Committee on University Priorities		
SCUS	Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies		
SCUTL	Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning		
SGAAC	Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee		
SGSC	Senate Graduate Studies Committee		
SLC	Senate Library Committee		
SNC	Senate Nominating Committee		
SPCSAB	Senate Policy Committee on Scholarships, Awards & Bursaries		
SUAAC	Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee		