

SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY ENGAGING THE WORLD

To: Senate

From: Jo Hinchliffe, Secretary Senate Nominating Committee

Jo Himanillo

Date: June 6, 2014

Subject: Senate Committee Elections

This is a summary of the nominations received and outstanding vacancies for the Senate committees. Senators who wish to submit additional nominations must send an email to the secretary of the Senate Nominating Committee (joah@sfu.ca). These nominations must be received by the secretary **no later than Friday, June 6, 2014**. Nominations received after that time will not be accepted. Senators making nominations must ensure in advance that the nominee is willing to stand for election.

If only one nomination is received for a position, the position will be elected by acclamation. If more than one nomination is received for a position, online voting will be held during the week following the Senate meeting on Monday, June 9, 2014. An email will be sent to all senators with information about the candidates and a link to the online voting system. Voting will be permitted for 48 hours and election results will be released within three days of the end of voting.

COMMITTEE	POSITION	TERM (starting June 1, 2014)	Nominations Received	Elected By:
	Faculty Senator	1 year	Lisa Shapiro	Acclamation
CC	Student Senator	1 year	Shirin Escarcha Dimitri Ossinsky	ONLINE VOTE
	Faculty member	1 year		
DOAC	Convocation Senator	2 years	Rob McTavish	Acclamation
DQAC	Student, undergraduate	1 year	Madelaine Simpkin	Acclamation
	Student, undergraduate	1 year		
	Senator	2 years	Peter Tingling	Acclamation
ESC	Senator	2 years	Paul Percival	Acclamation
	Student Senator	2 years	Chardaye Bueckert	Acclamation
REB	Student, graduate	1 year	Avleen Randhawa	Acclamation
	Student, graduate	1 year		
SAB	Faculty member (regular)	2 years	Mary-Catherine Kropinski	Acclamation
	Faculty member (regular)	2 years	Shauna Jones	Acclamation
	Faculty member (regular)	2 years		
	Student, undergraduate (alternate)	1 year	Colin Chu Jashanjot Singh Dhaliwal Kayode Fatoba	ONLINE VOTE
	Student, graduate (regular)	2 years		
	Student, graduate (alternate)	2 years		

	Vice-Chair of Senate	1 year	Daniel Leznoff	Acclamation
	Senator	2 years	Steve Easton	Acclamation
SCAR	Senator	2 years	Panayiotis Pappas	Acclamation
	Senator	1 year	Paul Percival	Acclamation
	Student Senator (alternate)	2 years	Barbara Szymczyk	Acclamation
	Faculty Senator	2 years	Lynne Quarmby	Acclamation
	Faculty Senator	2 years	Julian Guttman	Acclamation
	Faculty member	2 years	Stephen Spector	Acclamation
SCCS	Faculty member	2 years		
	Convocation Senator	1 year	Sylvia Gajdics	Acclamation
	Student	2 years	Laura Forsythe	Acclamation
	Student (alternate)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator	2 years	Elizabeth Elle	Acclamation
	Faculty Senator	2 years	Anke Kessler	Acclamation
SCEMP	•		Shirin Escarcha	
	Student Senator, undergraduate	1 year	Barbara Szymczyk	ONLINE VOTE
	Student, graduate (at large)	1 year		
	Faculty (FASS)	1 year	Lisa Shapiro	Acclamation
	Faculty (Business)	2 years	Pek-Hooi Soh	Acclamation
	Faculty (Education)	2 years	Kumari Beck	Acclamation
SCIA *	Faculty (Environment)	2 years		
beni	Faculty (Health Sciences)	2 years		
	Faculty (Science)	2 years	Carl Lowenberger	Acclamation
	Faculty (Lifelong Learning)	2 years		
	Graduate student (at-large)	1 year		
	Faculty member (regular)	2 years	Doug Allen	Acclamation
	Faculty member (alternate)	1 year	Jillian McIntosh	Acclamation
SCODA	Faculty member (alternate)	1 year	Christian Venhuizen	Acclamation
	Student member (3 regular, 2 alternate)	1 year	Brandon Chapman Jashanjot Singh Dhaliwal Ehsan Jozaghi Kathryn Knapp Ali Najaf Subin Punnen Saumya Sangal	ONLINE VOTE
SCUH	Faculty Senator (FCAT)	1 year	Chris Shaw	Acclamation
	Faculty Senator (Environment)	3 years		
	Faculty Senator (Health Sciences)	3 years	Julian Somers	Acclamation
	Faculty Senator (Science)	3 years	Daniel Leznoff	Acclamation
	Convocation Senator	3 years	Rob McTavish	Acclamation
	Convocation Senator	3 years	Sylvia Gajdics	Acclamation
	Student Senator	3 years	Ehsan Jozaghi	Acclamation
	Faculty Senator (FAS)	2 years	Glenn Chapman	Acclamation
	Faculty Senator (FASS)	2 years	Betty Schellenberg	Acclamation
	Faculty Senator (BUS)	2 years	Neil Abramson	Acclamation
	Faculty Senator (FENV)	2 years	Tracy Brennand	Acclamation
	Faculty Senator (FHS)	1 year		

	Undergraduate Student Senator (3 regular)	1 year	Dion Chong Colin Chu Madelaine Simpkin	Acclamation
	Undergraduate Student Senator (alternate)	1 year		
	Graduate Student Senator (regular)	1 year	Paul Yoon	Acclamation
	Graduate Student Senator (alternate)	1 year		
	Convocation Senator	2 years	Tracey Leacock	Acclamation
SCUS	Student, undergraduate (2 regular, 1 alternate)	1 year	Dion Chong Laura Forsythe Christiana He Saumya Sangal Garrett Shafer	ONLINE VOTE
	Faculty (FASS)	3 years	Panayiotis Pappas	Acclamation
COLUMN	Faculty (SCI)	3 years	Julian Christians	Acclamation
SCUTL	Student, graduate	1 year		
	Student, undergraduate	1 year	Laura Forsythe	Acclamation
	Faculty member	1 year	Siamak Arzanpour	Acclamation
	Convocation Senator	2 years	Colin Percival	Acclamation
SGAAC	Student, graduate (regular)	1 year		
	Student, graduate (regular) Student, graduate (alternate)	1 year		
	Student, undergraduate (regular)	1 year	Kayode Fatoba	Acclamation
SLC/LPAC Dual Positions	Student, undergraduate (regular)	2 years		Tieenamation
	Student, graduate (regular)	1 year	Avleen Randhawa	Acclamation
	Student, graduate (alternate)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (FASS)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (EDUC)	2 years	Dan Laitsch	Acclamation
SNC	Faculty Senator (ENV)	2 years	Nick Hedley	Acclamation
SINC	Student Senator	1 year		
	Graduate Student	1 year		
SPCSAB	Chair, Faculty Senator	3 years	Stephen Easton	Acclamation
	Faculty Member	2 years	Siamak Arzanpour	Acclamation
SPCSAB /	Student, graduate (regular)	1 year	Ting Liu (Emma)	Acclamation
SGAAC	Student, graduate (regular) Student, graduate (alternate)	1 year		
SPCSAB / SUAAC	Student, graduate (alternate) Student, undergraduate (1 regular; 1 alternate)	1 year	Chardaye Bueckert Brandon Chapman Shirin Escarcha Kayode Fatoba	ONLINE VOTE
	Faculty Member	1 year	Siamak Arzanpour	Acclamation
	Convocation Senator	2 years	Colin Percival	Acclamation
SUAAC	Student, undergraduate (1 regular, 1 alternate)	1 year	Jashanjot Singh Dhaliwal Subin Punnen	ONLINE VOTE

\* SCIA Faculty members: In the event that the Faculty Member is unable to attend, the Faculty Dean is authorized to appoint an alternate replacement.

CC	Calendar Committee
DQAC	Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee
ESC	Electoral Standing Committee
LPAC	Library Penalties Appeal Committee
REB	Research Ethics Board
SAB	Senate Appeals Board
SCAR	Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules
SCCS	Senate Committee on Continuing Studies
SCEMP	Senate Committee on Enrolment Management and Planning
SCIA	Senate Committee on International Activities
SCODA	Senate Committee on Disciplinary Appeals
SCUH	Senate Committee on University Honours
SCUP	Senate Committee on University Priorities
SCUS	Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies
SCUTL	Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning
SGAAC	Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee
SGSC	Senate Graduate Studies Committee
SLC	Senate Library Committee
SNC	Senate Nominating Committee
SPCSAB	Senate Policy Committee on Scholarships, Awards & Bursaries
SUAAC	Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee