

To:

Senate

From:

Jo Hinchliffe, Secretary

Senate Nominating Committee

Date:

June 21, 2013

Subject: Senate Committee Elections

This is a summary of the Senate committee election results from the June 10, 2013, Senate meeting, nominations received for the July 8 meeting and outstanding vacancies. Senators who wish to submit a nomination must send an email to the secretary of the Senate Nominating Committee (joah@sfu.ca). These nominations must be received by the secretary no later than Friday, July 5, 2013. Nominations received after that time will not be accepted. Senators making nominations must ensure in advance that the nominee is willing to stand for election.

Jo Hinchills

If only one nomination is received for a position, the position will be elected by acclamation. If more than one nomination is received for a position, online voting will be held during the week following the Senate meeting on Monday, July 8, 2013. An email will be sent to all senators with information about the candidates and a link to the online voting system. Voting will be permitted for 48 hours and election results will be released within three days of the end of voting.

Election Results from June 2013 Senate Meeting

COMMITTEE	POSITION	TERM (starting June 1, 2013)	NOMINATIONS RECEIVED (after June Senate elections)	CANDIDATES ELECTED (from June Senate meeting)
СС	Faculty Senator	1 year		
	Student Senator	1 year		Catherine Shaffer
CRUA	Faculty member (regular)	2 years		Panayiotis Pappas
	Faculty member (alternate)	2 years		
	Student, undergraduate, (regular)	2 years		Malinda Pathacharige
	Student, undergraduate (alternate)	2 years		Tahira Mawji
DQAC	Faculty member	2 years		
	Student, undergraduate	1 year		Saumya Sangal
	Student, undergraduate	1 year		
ESC	Student Senator	2 years	Ehsan Jozaghi	
REB	Community member, not affiliated with SFU	3 years		Sarah Dadkhah
	Community member, not affiliated with SFU	3 years		Vivian Lo

	Community mamban not	1		
	Community member, not affiliated with SFU	3 years		Margit Nance
	Community member, not affiliated with SFU	3 years		
	Student, graduate	2 years		Ehsan Jozaghi
	Student, graduate	2 years		Marc Legacy
	Student, graduate	2 years		Yasaman Norouzi
	Student, undergraduate	2 years		
	Faculty member (regular)	2 years		Jeremy Snyder
	Faculty member (alternate)	2 years		Geoffrey Poitras
	Faculty member (alternate)	1 year		Lisa Shapiro
SAB	Student, undergraduate (regular)	2 years		Ally Baharoon
	Student, undergraduate (alternate)	2 years	Saumya Sangal	
	Vice-Chair of Senate	1 year		Paul Percival
	Senator	1 year		Panayiotis Pappas
SCAR	Senator	2 years		Tom Perry
SCILIC	Student Senator (regular)	2 years	Ehsan Jozaghi	
	Student Senator (alternate)	2 years		
	Convocation Senator	2 years		D'Arcy Warner
	Senator at-large	2 years		Tracey Leacock
SCCS	Senator at-large	2 years		Peter Ruben
5005	Student Senator	2 years		
	Student Senator (alternate)	2 years		
	Student Senator,			<u> </u>
SCEMP	undergraduate	1 year		
	Student, graduate (at large)	1 year		Catherine Shaffer
	Faculty (FAS)	2 years		Ramesh Krishnamurti
	Faculty (FASS	2 years		Tom Perry
~~~	Faculty (FCAT)	2 years		Patricia Gruben
SCIA	Faculty (Environment)	2 years		
	Faculty (Lifelong Learning)	2 years		
	Undergraduate student (at- large)	2 years		Holly Eksal
	Graduate student (at-large)	2 years		Yasaman Norouzi
SCODA	Faculty member (regular)	2 years		Daniel Laitsch
	Faculty member (regular)	2 years		Abraham Punnen
	Faculty member (alternate)	1 year		Kevin Stewart
	Faculty member (alternate)	1 year		Jillian McIntosh
	Student member (regular)	1 year		Caleb Kwon
	Student member (regular)	1 year		Marc Legacy
	Student member (regular)	1 year		Subin Punnen
	Student member (alternate)	1 year	Saumya Sangal	
	Student member (alternate)	1 year		

	Senator (FASS)	3 years		Anke Kessler
SCUH	Senator (Business)	3 years		Peter Tingling
	Senator (FCAT)	2 years		
	Senator at-large	2 years		Tracey Leacock
	Student Senator	3 years		Catherine Shaffer
	Student member (at-large)	3 years		0.000.000
	(replacing J. Lehal – term	2 years		Cheng Li
	2012-2015)			
	Faculty Senator (FCAT)	2 years		Chris Shaw
	Faculty Senator (FEDUC)	2 years		Daniel Laitsch
	Faculty Senator (FHS)	2 years	Kitty Corbett	
	Faculty Senator (FSCI)	2 years	12333) 002003	-
SCUP	4 Undergraduate Student	2 years		-
5001	Senators, (3 regular, 1	1 year	Tesicca Truong	
	alternate)	1 ) • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • • •	1001000 1100119	
	2 Graduate Student Senators,			-
	(1 regular, 1 alternate)	1 year		
	Student, undergraduate			
	(regular)	1 year		Yoko Lu
	Student, undergraduate			1.6 : 011 :
SCUS	(regular)	1 year		Maria Oliveira
	Student, undergraduate	1 year		Ramil Rudyak
	(alternate)			
	Faculty (FAS)	3 years		Diana Cukierman
CCUTI	Faculty (BUS)	3 years		
SCUTL	Student, graduate	1 year		Fiona Shaw
	Student, undergraduate	1 year		Yoko Lu
	Faculty member	2 years		
SGAAC	Student, graduate (regular)	1 year		
	Student, graduate (alternate)	1 year		
	Student, graduate (regular)	1 year		Ehsan Jozaghi
SGSC	Student, graduate (alternate)	1 year		
	Student, graduate (alternate)	1 year		
	Senator	2 years		Glenn Chapman
•	Senator	2 years		Daniel Leznoff
SLC/LPAC	Student, graduate (regular)	2 years		
Dual Positions	Student, graduate (alternate)	2 years		
	Student, undergraduate			TZ
	(regular)	2 years		Karanvir Thiara
SNC	Faculty Senator (FAS)	2 years		Glenn Chapman
	Faculty Senator (BUS)	2 years		Peter Tingling
	Faculty Senator (FCAT)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (FENV)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (FHS)	2 years		John O'Neil
	Faculty Senator (FSCI)	2 years		Claire Cupples
	Student Senator	1 year		Karanvir Thiara

	Student, graduate	1 year		
SPCSAB	Faculty member	2 years		Paul Tupper
	Faculty member	2 years		Bertille Antoine
	Convocation Senator	2 years		Colin Percival
SPCSAB /	Student, graduate (regular)	1 year		
SGAAC	Student, graduate (alternate)	1 year		
SPCSAB / SUAAC	Student, undergraduate (regular)	1 year		Ally Baharoon
	Student, undergraduate (alternate)	1 year	Saumya Sangal	
SUAAC	Faculty member	1 year		
	Student, undergraduate (regular)	1 year		Subin Punen
	Student, undergraduate (alternate)	1 year		

CC Calendar Committee

CRUA Committee to Review University Admissions
DQAC Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee

ESC Electoral Standing Committee

LPAC Library Penalties Appeal Committee

REB Research Ethics Board SAB Senate Appeals Board

SCAR Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules SCCS Senate Committee on Continuing Studies

SCEMP Senate Committee on Enrolment Management and Planning

SCIA Senate Committee on International Activities
SCODA Senate Committee on Disciplinary Appeals
SCUH Senate Committee on University Honours
SCUP Senate Committee on University Priorities
SCUS Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies

SCUTL Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning SGAAC Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee

SGSC Senate Graduate Studies Committee

SLC Senate Library Committee
SNC Senate Nominating Committee

SPCSAB Senate Policy Committee on Scholarships, Awards & Bursaries

SUAAC Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee