

#### LIFELONG LEARNING Dean's Office

515 West Hastings Street Vancouver, BC Canada V6B 5K3

TEL 778.782.5138 FAX 778.782.5098 cs@sfu.ca www.sfu.ca/cs

MEMORANDUM -

ATTENTION FROM

RE:

**SENATE** 

Helen Wussow, Dean, Lifelong Learning

SCCS Suggested Changes to Membership

DATE October 25, 2012

PAGES 1/1

At the bi-annual meeting on October 18, 2012, the members of the Senate Committee on Continuing Studies (SCCS) reviewed and revised the composition of the Committee's membership in light of the increasing burden on Faculty Senators to serve on Senate committees as well as a desire to involve a wider representation of the University community in a discussion of noncredit education at SFU. The proposed membership does not in any way modify the Committee's role and responsibilities. Committee membership would still require the approval of Senate, and the Committee would still report to Senate.

MOTION: That Senate approve the changes to membership in the Senate Committee on Continuing Studies. (please see attached)

then mu =

## **Senate Committee on Continuing Studies**

### **Current Membership**

Members	Conditions	Term	Expiry Date	Name
Dean of Lifelong Learning	Chair, Ex-officio (voting)			Helen Wussow
Librarian (or designate)	Ex-officio(voting)			Charles Eckman
Faculty Senator	Elected By Senate	2 years	May 31, 2014	Robert Gordon
Faculty Senator		2 years	May 31, 2014	Daniel Laitsch
Faculty Senator		2 years	May 31, 2014	Lynne Quarmby
Faculty Senator		2 years	May 31, 2014	
Senator (at-large)		2 years	May 31, 2013	Tracey Leacock
Senator (at-large)		2 years	May 31, 2013	Peter Ruben
Convocation Senator		2 years	May 31, 2013	D'Arcy Warner
Student Senator		2 years	May 31, 2014	Jens Lundgreen- Nielsen
Student Senator (Alternate)		2 years	May 31, 2014	
Secretary		(non- voting)		Ricki Muskett

# **Senate Committee on Continuing Studies**

# **Proposed Membership October 2012**

Members	Conditions	Term
Dean of Lifelong Learning	Chair, Ex-officio (voting)	
Librarian (or designate)	Ex-officio(voting)	
Faculty Senator		2 years
Faculty Senator		2 years
Faculty Member		2 years
Faculty Member		2 years
Senator (at-large)	Elected By Senate	2 years
Convocation Senator		2 years
Student		2 years
Student (Alternate)		2 years
Member of the University Community (at-large)		2 years
Secretary		(non-voting)