SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY MEMORANDUM

TO: Senate

FROM:

W. R. Heath

Chair, Electoral

Standing Committee:

SUBJECT: Report on Elections

DATE:

March 24, 1988

Student Election to Board of Governors

There were six candidates. Terry Fowler, Faculty of Education and Carol Hartmann, Faculty of Business Administration were declared elected. The other candidates were: John Chapman - Faculty of Applied Sciences, Michael Hoechsmann - Faculty of Education, Judy-Anne Wilson Stroup - Faculty of Business Administration, and Drew Gagnier - Faculty of Business Administration.

Student Election to Senate

There were fifteen nominees. Raymond Maaske from the Faculty of Science was declared elected by acclamation. The following candidates were declared elected: Suzanne Rashed - Faculty of Applied Sciences, Evelyn Almassy - Faculty of Arts, Ronald McGivern - Faculty of Arts, Jeffrey Shickele - Faculty of Arts, Ryan Beedie - Faculty of Business Administration, Charles Horn - Faculty of Arts, Craig Fitzsimmons - Faculty of Applied Sciences, Harbs Bains - Faculty of Arts, Steven Nyvik - Faculty of Business Administration, and Iain Nicol - Faculty of Arts. The other candidates were: Ray Irvine - Faculty of Arts, Glenn Jones - Faculty of Arts, Kevin Schindel - Faculty of Arts, and Sam Magid - Faculty of Business Administration.

No nominations were received from the Faculty of Education and a 2nd Call for nominations will be issued on Tuesday, May 10, 1988 during the first week of classes in the Summer Semester.

Faculty Elections to Senate

a) Faculty of Applied Sciences

The following nominee was declared elected by acclamation: Dr. Liora Salter

b) Faculty of Business Administration

The following nominee was declared elected by acclamation: Dr. Dean Tiosvold

c) Joint Faculty

The following nominee from the Faculty of Applied Sciences was declared elected by acclamation: Dr. Nick Cercone. Balloting is in progress to elect the other six candidates.