

SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY ENGAGING THE WORLD

To: Senate

From: Jo Hinchliffe, Secretary Senate Nominating Committee

Date: July 6, 2015

Subject: Senate Committee Elections

This is a summary of the nominations received and outstanding vacancies for the Senate committees. Senators who wish to submit additional nominations must send an email to the secretary of the Senate Nominating Committee (joah@sfu.ca). These nominations must be received by the secretary **no later than Friday, July 3, 2015**. Nominations received after that time will not be accepted. Senators making nominations must ensure in advance that the nominee is willing to stand for election.

If only one nomination is received for a position, the position will be elected by acclamation. If more than one nomination is received for a position, online voting will be held during the week following the Senate meeting on Monday, July 6, 2015. An email will be sent to all senators with information about the candidates and a link to the online voting system. Voting will be permitted for 48 hours and election results will be released within three days of the end of voting.

COMMITTEE	POSITION	TERM (from June 1, 2015)	NOMINATIONS RECEIVED (after June Senate elections)	CANDIDATES ELECTED (June Senate meeting)
	Faculty Senator	2 years		Peter Tingling
CC	Faculty member	2 years		
	Student	1 year	Athina Pilarinos	
	Faculty member	1 year	Laura Marks	
DQAC	Student, undergraduate	1 year		Colin Chu
	Student, undergraduate	1 year	Athina Pilarinos	
ESC	Student Senator	1 year		
REB	Student, graduate (3 positions)	2 years		Iva Cheung Marion Lougheed Avleen Randhawa
	Community, not affiliated w/ SFU	1 year		Paula Hrankowski
	Student, undergraduate	2 years		Tsatia Adzich
SAB	Faculty member (regular)	2 years		
	Faculty member (alternate)	2 years		Geoffrey Poitras
	Student, undergraduate (regular)	2 years		Dion Chong
	Student, undergraduate (alternate)	2 years		Rudo Zaranyika
	Student, graduate (regular)	1 year		Jayme Lewthwaite
	Student, graduate (alternate)	1 year		
SCAR	Vice-Chair of Senate	1 year		David Paterson
	Senator	2 years	Catherine Murray	
	Student Senator (regular)	2 years	Barbara Szymczyk	

	Student Senator (alternate)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator	1 year		
	Faculty Senator	1 year		
	Faculty member	2 years		Rebecca Cox
SCCS	Senator (at-large)	2 years		Tracey Leacock
	Member of the University	2 years		Datar Dubar
	Community (at-large)			Peter Ruben
	Student (regular)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator	1 year		Ted Kirkpatrick
SCEMP	Student Senator, undergraduate	1 year		Iman Baharmand
	Student, graduate (at large)	1 year		
	Faculty (FAS)	2 years		
	Faculty (FASS)	2 years		
	Faculty (FCAT)	2 years		Patricia Gruben
SCIA **	Faculty (FENV)	2 years		
	Faculty (FHS)	1 year		Mark Brockman
	Faculty (Lifelong Learning)	1 year		Wendy Steinberg
	Undergraduate student (at-large)	2 years		Rachel MacPhail
	Graduate student (at-large)	2 years		Tanya Procyshyn
	Faculty member			Daniel Laitsch
	(2 regular)	2 years		Abraham Punnen
	Faculty member			Jillian Macintosh
	(2 alternate)	1 year		Christian Venhuizen
SCODA				Iman Baharmand
SCODI	Student member	1 year		Ranjodh Gill
	(3 regular)	-)		Marc Legacy
	Student member			
	(2 alternate)	1 year	Hangue Kim	
	Faculty Senator (FAS)	3 years		Ted Kirkpatrick
	Faculty Senator (FCAT)	3 years		
	Faculty Senator (EDUC)	3 years		Elina Birmingham
SCUH	Faculty Senator (FENV)	2 years		
	Student Senator	1 year		Iman Baharmand
	Student (at-large)	3 years		Rachel MacPhail
	Faculty Senator (FCAT)	2 years		Chris Shaw
	Faculty Senator (EDUC)	2 years		Daniel Laitsch
	Faculty Senator (FHS)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (SCI)	2 years		Michael Eikerling
	•	2 years		Prabhpal Hans
SCUP	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year		Arjan Mundy
beer	(3 regular)	i you		Brady Yano
	Undergraduate Student Senator			
	(alternate)	1 year		Ali Najaf
	Graduate Student Senator			
	(1 regular, 1 alternate)	1 year		
SCUS				Dion Chong
	Student, undergraduate (2 regular)	1 year		Colin Chu
		-		
	Student, undergraduate (alternate)	1 year		David Lu
		•		
SCUTL	Faculty (FCAT)	3 years		Ker Wells

	Faculty (EDUC)	3 years	
	Faculty (FENV)	3 years	
	Faculty (FHS)	3 years	
	Faculty Senator	3 years	
	Student, graduate	1 year	Marc Legacy
	Student, undergraduate	1 year	Arjan Mundy
SGAAC	Student, graduate (regular)	1 year	Jayme Lewthwaite
	Student, graduate (alternate)	1 year	
SGSC	Student, graduate (alternate)	1 year	
	Student, graduate (alternate)	1 year	
SLC/LPAC Dual Positions	Senator	2 years	Glenn Chapman
	Senator	2 years	Daniel Laitsch
	Student, undergraduate (regular)	2 years	Brady Yano
	Student, graduate (regular)	2 years	Donya Samadi
	Faculty Senator (FAS)	2 years	Glenn Chapman
	Faculty Senator (BUS)	2 years	Peter Tingling
	Faculty Senator (FCAT)	2 years	
SNC	Faculty Senator (FHS)	2 years	John O'Neil
	Faculty Senator (SCI)	2 years	
	Student Senator	1 year	
	Graduate Student	1 year	
SPCSAB	Faculty Senator	2 years	Stephen Spector
SPUSAB	Faculty member	2 years	Paul Tupper
SPCSAB / SGAAC	Faculty member	2 years	
	Student, graduate	1 year	Abhishek Nanjundappa
	(1 regular, 1 alternate)		
SPCSAB / SUAAC	Faculty member	2 years	Siamak Arzanpour
	Student, undergraduate (regular)	1 year	Dorothy Ng
	Student, undergraduate (alternate)	1 year	Brett Nelson
SUAAC	Student, undergraduate (regular)	1 year	Ali Najaf
	Student, undergraduate (alternate)	1 year	

** SCIA Faculty members: In the event that the Faculty Member is unable to attend, the Faculty Dean is authorized to appoint an alternate replacement.

CC	Calendar Committee
DQAC	Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee
ESC	Electoral Standing Committee
LPAC	Library Penalties Appeal Committee
REB	Research Ethics Board
SAB	Senate Appeals Board
SCAR	Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules
SCCS	Senate Committee on Continuing Studies
SCEMP	Senate Committee on Enrolment Management and Planning
SCIA	Senate Committee on International Activities
SCODA	Senate Committee on Disciplinary Appeals
SCUH	Senate Committee on University Honours
SCUP	Senate Committee on University Priorities
SCUS	Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies
SCUTL	Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning
SGAAC	Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee
SGSC	Senate Graduate Studies Committee
SLC	Senate Library Committee

SNC	Senate Nominating	Committee
DITE	Somate I tommating	committee

- Senate Policy Committee on Scholarships, Awards & Bursaries Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee SPCSAB
- SUAAC