

To: Senate

From: Jo Hinchliffe, Secretary

Senate Nominating Committee

Date: June 20, 2014

Subject: Senate Committee Elections

This is a summary of the nominations received and outstanding vacancies for the Senate committees. Senators who wish to submit additional nominations must send an email to the secretary of the Senate Nominating Committee (joah@sfu.ca). These nominations must be received by the secretary **no later than Friday, July 4, 2014**. Nominations received after that time will not be accepted. Senators making nominations must ensure in advance that the nominee is willing to stand for election.

If only one nomination is received for a position, the position will be elected by acclamation. If more than one nomination is received for a position, online voting will be held during the week following the Senate meeting on Monday, July 7, 2014. An email will be sent to all senators with information about the candidates and a link to the online voting system. Voting will be permitted for 48 hours and election results will be released within three days of the end of voting.

COMMITTEE	POSITION	TERM (starting June 1, 2014)	NOMINATIONS RECEIVED (after June Senate elections)	CANDIDATES ELECTED (from June Senate meeting)
СС	Faculty Senator	1 year		Lisa Shapiro
	Student Senator	1 year		Shirin Escarcha
	Faculty member	1 year		
DQAC	Convocation Senator	3 years*		Rob McTavish
	Student, undergraduate	1 year		Madelaine Simpkin
	Student, undergraduate	1 year		
ESC	Senator	2 years		Peter Tingling
	Senator	2 years		Paul Percival
	Student Senator	2 years		Chardaye Bueckert
REB	Student, graduate	1 year		Avleen Randhawa
	Student, graduate	1 year		
SAB	Faculty member (regular)	2 years		Mary-Catherine Kropinski
	Faculty member (regular)	2 years		Shauna Jones
	Faculty member (regular)	2 years		
	Student, undergraduate (alternate)	1 year		Colin Chu
	Student, graduate (regular)	2 years		
	Student, graduate (alternate)	2 years		

	Vice-Chair of Senate	1 year	Daniel Leznoff
	Senator	2 years	Steve Easton
SCAR	Senator	2 years	Panayiotis Pappas
	Senator	1 year	Paul Percival
	Student Senator (alternate)	2 years	Barbara Szymczyk
	Faculty Senator	2 years	Lynne Quarmby
	Faculty Senator	2 years	Julian Guttman
SCCS	Faculty member	2 years	Stephen Spector
	Faculty member	2 years	
	Convocation Senator	3 years*	Sylvia Gajdics
	Student	2 years	Laura Forsythe
	Student (alternate)	2 years	·
g or the	Faculty Senator	2 years	Elizabeth Elle
	Faculty Senator	2 years	Anke Kessler
SCEMP	Student Senator, undergraduate	1 year	Barbara Szymczyk
	Student, graduate (at large)	1 year	, ,
SCIA **	Faculty (FASS)	1 year	Lisa Shapiro
	Faculty (Business)	2 years	Pek-Hooi Soh
	Faculty (Education)	2 years	Kumari Beck
	Faculty (Environment)	2 years	
	Faculty (Health Sciences)	2 years	
	Faculty (Science)	2 years	Carl Lowenberger
	Faculty (Lifelong Learning)	2 years	
	Graduate student (at-large)	1 year	
GG07.1	Faculty member (regular)	2 years	Doug Allen
	Faculty member (alternate)	1 year	Jillian McIntosh
	Faculty member (alternate)	1 year	Christian Venhuizen
	Student (regular)	1 year	Brandon Chapman
SCODA	Student (regular)	1 year	Ehsan Jozaghi
	Student (regular)	1 year	Kathryn Knapp
	Student (alternate)	1 year	Ali Najaf
	Student (alternate)	1 year	Saumya Sangal
	Faculty Senator (FCAT)	1 year	Chris Shaw
	Faculty Senator (Environment)	3 years	
	Faculty Senator (Health Sciences)	3 years	Julian Somers
SCUH	Faculty Senator (Science)	3 years	Daniel Leznoff
	Convocation Senator	3 years	Rob McTavish
	Convocation Senator	3 years	Sylvia Gajdics
	Student Senator	3 years	Ehsan Jozaghi
	Faculty Senator (FAS)	2 years	Glenn Chapman
	Faculty Senator (FASS)	2 years	Betty Schellenberg
	Faculty Senator (BUS)	2 years	Neil Abramson
	Faculty Senator (FENV)	2 years	Tracy Brennand
CCUD	Faculty Senator (FHS)	1 year	j
SCUP	Undergraduate Student Senator	·	Diam Classes
	(regular)	1 year	Dion Chong
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year	Colin Ch.
	(regular)	1 year	Colin Chu
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year	Madelaine Simpkin

	Undergraduate Student Senator (alternate)  Graduate Student Senator (regular)  Graduate Student Senator (alternate)  Convocation Senator	1 year 1 year 1 year	Paul Yoon
	(regular) Graduate Student Senator (alternate) Convocation Senator		Paul Yoon
	(alternate) Convocation Senator	1 year	
		3 years*	Tracey Leacock
l	Student, undergraduate (regular)	1 year	Dion Chong
	Student, undergraduate (regular)	1 year	Laura Forsythe
9	Student, undergraduate (alternate)	1 year	Garrett Shafer
]	Faculty (FASS)	3 years	Panayiotis Pappas
SCUTL	Faculty (SCI)	3 years	Julian Christians
SCUIL	Student, graduate	1 year	
[ ;	Student, undergraduate	1 year	Laura Forsythe
]	Faculty member	1 year	Siamak Arzanpour
CCAAC C	Convocation Senator	3 years*	Colin Percival
SGAAC	Student, graduate (regular)	1 year	
,	Student, graduate (alternate)	1 year	
(	Student, undergraduate (regular)	1 year	Kayode Fatoba
SLC/LPAC	Student, undergraduate (alternate)	2 years	
Dual Positions	Student, graduate (regular)	1 year	Avleen Randhawa
	Student, graduate (alternate)	2 years	
]	Faculty Senator (FASS)	2 years	
	Faculty Senator (EDUC)	2 years	Dan Laitsch
SNC	Faculty Senator (ENV)	2 years	Nick Hedley
<u> </u>	Student Senator	1 year	
	Graduate Student	1 year	
GDCGAD (	Chair, Faculty Senator	3 years	Stephen Easton
SPCSAB	Faculty Member	2 years	Siamak Arzanpour
SPCSAB /	Student, graduate (regular)	1 year	Ting Liu (Emma)
	Student, graduate (alternate)	1 year	
	Student, undergraduate (regular)	1 year	Brandon Chapman
SUAAC S	Student, undergraduate (alternate)	1 year	Chardaye Bueckert
]	Faculty Member	1 year	Siamak Arzanpour
(	Convocation Senator	3 years*	Colin Percival
SUAAC	Student, undergraduate (regular)	1 year	Subin Punnen
	Student, undergraduate (alternate)	1 year	Jashanjot Singh Dhaliwal

<sup>\*</sup> Convocation Senator positions are for 3 years, per S.14-87.

CC Calendar Committee

DQAC Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee

ESC Electoral Standing Committee

LPAC Library Penalties Appeal Committee

REB Research Ethics Board

<sup>\*\*</sup> SCIA Faculty members: In the event that the Faculty Member is unable to attend, the Faculty Dean is authorized to appoint an alternate replacement.

SAB Senate Appeals Board

SCAR Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules SCCS Senate Committee on Continuing Studies

SCEMP Senate Committee on Enrolment Management and Planning

SCIA Senate Committee on International Activities
SCODA Senate Committee on Disciplinary Appeals
SCUH Senate Committee on University Honours
SCUP Senate Committee on University Priorities
SCUS Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies

SCUTL Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning

SGAAC Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee

SGSC Senate Graduate Studies Committee

SLC Senate Library Committee SNC Senate Nominating Committee

SPCSAB Senate Policy Committee on Scholarships, Awards & Bursaries

SUAAC Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee