

SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY ENGAGING THE WORLD

To: Senate

From: Jo Hinchliffe, Secretary Senate Nominating Committee JoHinchiffe

Date: October 18, 2012

Subject: Senate Committee Elections

This is a summary of the Senate committee election results from the October Senate meeting, nominations received for the November meeting, and outstanding vacancies. Senators who wish to submit a nomination must send an email to the Secretary of the Senate Nominating Committee (joah@sfu.ca). These nominations must be received by the Secretary no later than Friday, November 2, 2012. Nominations received after that time will not be accepted. Senators making nominations must ensure in advance that the nominee is willing to stand for election.

If only one nomination is received for a position, the position will be elected by acclamation. If more than one nomination is received for a position, online voting will be held following the Senate meeting on Monday, November 5, 2012. An email will be sent to all senators with information about the candidates and a link to the online voting system. Voting will be permitted for 48 hours and election results will be released within three days of the end of voting.

COMMITTEE	POSITION	TERM (starting June 1/12)	NOMINATIONS RECEIVED (after the October Senate meeting)	ELECTION RESULTS (from the October Senate meeting)
DQAC	Undergraduate Student	1 year		
ESC	Student Senator	2 years		
REB**	2 Members from the University Community	1 year		
	Student member (regular - to replace Heather Palis)	1 year	Choo-Ming Yeak	
SAB	Graduate Student (alternate)	2 years	Choo-Ming Yeak	
SCAR	Student Senator (alternate)	2 years		
SCCS	Faculty Senator	2 years		
	Student Senator (alternate)	2 years		
SCEMP	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year		
	Graduate Student (at large)	1 year		

SCIA	Faculty (Lifelong Learning)	2 years		
SCUH	Senator (ARTS)	1 year		
	Senator (EDUC)	3 years		
	Senator (SCI)	2 years	Daniel Leznoff	
SCUP	Faculty Senator (HSCI)	1 year		Kitty Corbett
	Faculty Senator (EDUC - to	1 year		
	replace Michelle Nilson			
	Levisohn)	1. <b>1</b> . 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1. 1.		
	Convocation Senator (to	2 years		Tracey Leacock
	replace Jennifer McRae)			
	Graduate Student Senator	1 year		
	(alternate)			
SCUTL	Faculty (EDUC)	3 years		
	Faculty (ARTS)	2 years		Adrienne Burk
	Faculty (HSCI – to replace	3 years		Nienke Van Houten
	Kitty Corbett)	-		
	Faculty (FCAT – to replace	3 years		Stuart Poyntz
	Russell Taylor)			
SGSC	Graduate Student (alternate)	1 year		
SLC/LPAC	2 Graduate Students	1 year		
<b>Dual Position</b>	(regular and alternate)	(reg)		
		2 years		
		(alt)		
SNC	Faculty Senator (ENV)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (HSCI)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (SCI)	1 year		
	Student Senator	1 year		
	Graduate Student	1 year		
SPCSAB	Faculty member	1 year		
SGAAC	Faculty member	1 year		
	Graduate Student (alternate)	1 year		
SUAAC	Faculty member	1 year		

\* The regular positions are filled by the candidates who receive the most votes, unless a candidate has requested the alternate position.

\*\* Memberships on the Research Ethics Board are for one year terms while a review is under way.

CC	Calendar Committee
CRUA	Committee to Review University Admissions
DQAC	Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee
ESC	Electoral Standing Committee
LPAC	Library Penalties Appeal Committee
REB	Research Ethics Board
SAB	Senate Appeals Board
SCAR	Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules
8008	Senate Committee on Continuing Studies

SCCS Senate Committee on Continuing Studies

,

SCEMP	Senate Committee on Enrolment Management and Planning
SCIA	Senate Committee on International Activities
SCODA	Senate Committee on Disciplinary Appeals
SCUH	Senate Committee on University Honours
SCUP	Senate Committee on University Priorities
SCUS	Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies
SCUTL	Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning
SGAAC	Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee
SGSC	Senate Graduate Studies Committee
SLC	Senate Library Committee
SNC	Senate Nominating Committee
SPCSAB	Senate Policy Committee on Scholarships, Awards & Bursaries
SUAAC	Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee

.