

SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY ENGAGING THE WORLD

To: Senate

From: Jo Hinchliffe, Secretary Senate Nominating Committee

Date: August 24, 2012

Subject: Senate Committee Elections

This is a summary of the Senate committee election results from the July Senate meeting, nominations received for the September meeting and outstanding vacancies. Senators who wish to submit a nomination must send an email to the secretary of the Senate Nominating Committee (joah@sfu.ca). These nominations must be received by the secretary no later than Friday, **September 7, 2012**. Nominations received after that time will not be accepted. Senators making nominations must ensure in advance that the nominee is willing to stand for election.

If only one nomination is received for a position, the position will be elected by acclamation. If more than one nomination is received for a position, online voting will be held following the Senate meeting on Monday, September 10, 2012. An email will be sent to all senators with information about the candidates and a link to the online voting system. Voting will be permitted for 48 hours and election results will be released within three days of the end of voting.

COMMITTEE	POSITION	TERM (starting June 1/12)	NOMINATIONS RECEIVED (after the July Senate meeting)	ELECTION RESULTS (from the July Senate meeting)
DQAC	Undergraduate Student	1 year		
ESC	Student Senator	2 years		
REB**	2 Members from the University Community	1 year		
SAB	Graduate Student (alternate)	2 years		
SCAR	Senator	2 years	Anke Kessler	
	Student Senator (alternate)	2 years		
SCCS	Faculty Senator	2 years		
	Student Senator (alternate)	2 years		
SCEMP	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year		
	Graduate Student (at large)	1 year		
SCIA	Faculty (EDUC)	2 years		
	Faculty (Lifelong Learning)	2 years		
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year		Sarah-Sophia Flodr

SCODA	Student member (alternate)	1 year		Meaghan Wilson(alt)
	Student member (regular; to replace Jennifer Brooks)	1 year	Cody Coombes (reg)	
SCUH	Senator (ARTS)	1 year		
	Senator (EDUC)	3 years		
	Senator (SCI)	2 years		
	Student Senator	2 years		Kevin Zhang
SCUP	Faculty Senator (HSCI)	1 year		
	3 Undergraduate Student Senators (2 regular, 1 alternate) *	1 year		Meaghan Wilson (reg) Sarah-Sophai Flodr (reg) Moe Kopahi (alt)
	Graduate Student Senator (alternate)	1 year		
SCUTL	Faculty (EDUC)	3 years		
	Undergraduate Student	1 year		Meaghan Wilson
SGSC	Graduate Student (alternate)	1 year		
SLC/LPAC	2 Graduate Students	1 year		
<b>Dual Position</b>	(regular and alternate)	(reg)		
		2 years (alt)		
SNC	Faculty Senator (ARTS)	2 years	Anke Kessler	
	Faculty Senator (ENV)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (HSCI)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (SCI)	1 year		
	Student Senator	1 year		
	Graduate Student	1 year		
SPCSAB	Faculty member	1 year		
SPCSAB/	Graduate Student (alternate)	1 year	Fatemeh	
SGAAC			Rostamzadeh	
<b>Dual Position</b>			Renani (alt)	
SGAAC	Faculty member	1 year		
	2 Graduate Students	1 year	Fatemeh	
	(regular and alternate)		Rostamzadeh	
			Renani (reg)	
SUAAC	Faculty member	1 year		
	2 Undergraduate Students	1 year	Emily MacLean	Subin Punnen (reg)
	(regular and alternate)		(alt)	

\* The regular positions are filled by the candidates who receive the most votes, unless a candidate has requested the alternate position.
\*\* Memberships on the Research Ethics Board are for one year terms while a review is under way.

CC	Calendar Committee
CRUA	Committee to Review University Admissions
DQAC	Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee
ESC	Electoral Standing Committee
LPAC	Library Penalties Appeal Committee
REB	Research Ethics Board
SAB	Senate Appeals Board
SCAR	Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules
SCCS	Senate Committee on Continuing Studies
SCEMP	Senate Committee on Enrolment Management and Planning
SCIA	Senate Committee on International Activities
SCODA	Senate Committee on Disciplinary Appeals
SCUH	Senate Committee on University Honours
SCUP	Senate Committee on University Priorities
SCUS	Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies
SCUTL	Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning
SGAAC	Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee
SGSC	Senate Graduate Studies Committee
SLC	Senate Library Committee
SNC	Senate Nominating Committee
SPCSAB	Senate Policy Committee on Scholarships, Awards & Bursaries
SUAAC	Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee