SFU SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY ENGAGING THE WORLD

To: Senate

From: Jo Hinchliffe, Secretary Senate Nominating Committee

Date: May 24, 2012

Subject: Senate Committee Elections

This is a summary of the nominations received and outstanding vacancies for the Senate committees. Senators who wish to submit additional nominations must send an email to the secretary of the Senate Nominating Committee (joah@sfu.ca). These nominations must be received by the secretary **no later than Friday, June 8, 2012**. Nominations received after that time will not be accepted. Senators making nominations must ensure in advance that the nominee is willing to stand for election.

If only one nomination is received for a position, the position will be elected by acclamation. If more than one nomination is received for a position, online voting will be held during the week following the Senate meeting on Monday, June 11, 2012. An email will be sent to all senators with information about the candidates and a link to the online voting system. Voting will be permitted for 48 hours and election results will be released within three days of the end of voting.

COMMITTEE	POSITION	TERM (starting	Nominations Received	Elected By:
		June 1, 2012)		
CC	Faculty Senator	1 year	Dianne Cyr	Acclamation
	Student member	1 year	Japreet Lehal	Acclamation
CRUA	Faculty member	2 years	Maureen Fizzell	Acclamation
	2 Graduate Students	2 years	Sylvia Gajdics	ONLINE VOTE
	(regular and alternate)		Hsiu-yang Tseng	(to determine
				regular/alternate)
DQAC	Convocation Senator	2 years	Jenn McRae	Acclamation
	2 Undergraduate Students	1 year	Mariana Rivacoba	Acclamation
ESC	2 Senators	2 years	Paul Percival	Acclamation
			Jenn McRae	
	Student Senator	2 years		
REB*	3 Members from the	1 year	Gordon Pritchard	Acclamation
	University Community			
	2 Members from Community	1 year	Margit Nance	Acclamation
	outside of the University		Laurence Turner	
	2 Students	1 year	Heather Palis	ONLINE VOTE
	(regular and alternate)		Ashley Pullman	
			Andreas Pilarinos	
			John Vandergugten	

SAB	2 Faculty members	2 years	Jeremy Snyder	ONLINE VOTE
	(regular and alternate)		Mary-Catherine Kropinski	(to determine regular/alternate)
	2 Graduate Students (regular and alternate)	2 years	Marc Legacy (regular)	Acclamation
SCAR	Vice Chair of Senate	1 year	Paul Percival	Acclamation
	2 Senators	2 years	Stephen Easton	Acclamation
	Student Senator (alternate)	2 years		
SCCS	4 Faculty Senators	2 years	Robert Gordon Daniel Laitsch Lynne Quarmby	Acclamation
	2 Student Senators (regular and alternate)	2 years	Jens Lundgreen-Nielsen (regular)	Acclamation
SCEMP	2 Faculty Senators	2 years	Elizabeth Elle Paul Li	Acclamation
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year		
	Graduate Student (at large)	1 year		
SCIA**	Faculty (BUS)	2 years	Pek-Hooi Soh	Acclamation
(At least 2	Faculty (EDUC)	2 years		
faculty senators)	Faculty (FCAT)	1 year	Martin Laba Patricia Gruben	ONLINE VOTE
	Faculty (HSCI)	2 years	Kelley Lee Charles Goldsmith	ONLINE VOTE
	Faculty (SCI)	2 years	Carl Lowenberger	Acclamation
	Faculty (Lifelong Learning)	2 years		
	Undergraduate Student Senator	2 years		
SCODA	3 Faculty members (1 regular, 2 alternate)	2 years (reg) 1 year (alt)	Doug Allen Karen Kavanagh Melek Ortabasi Sam Black	ONLINE VOTE
	5 Student members (3 regular, 2 alternate)	1 year	Marc Legacy Jennifer Brooks Nimisha Parekh Ashley Pullman	ONLINE VOTE (to determine regular/alternate)
SCUH	Senator (APSC)	3 years	Jim Delgrande	Acclamation
	Senator (ARTS)	1 year		
	Senator (FCAT)	3 years	Rob Woodbury	Acclamation
	Senator (EDUC)	3 years		
	Senator (SCI)	2 years		
	Student Senator	2 years		
	Student member (at large)	3 years	Japreet Lehal	Acclamation
SCUP	Faculty Senator (APSC)	2 years	Glenn Chapman	Acclamation
	Faculty Senator (ARTS)	2 years	Betty Schellenberg	Acclamation
	Faculty Senator (BUS)	2 years	Peter Tingling	Acclamation

	Faculty Senator (FCAT)	1 year	Chris Shaw	Acclamation
	Faculty Senator (ENV)	2 years	Tracy Brennand David Burley	ONLINE VOTE
	Faculty Senator (HSCI)	1 year		
	4 Undergraduate Student Senators	1 year	Heather Palis (regular)	Acclamation
	(3 regular, 1 alternate)2 Graduate Student Senators(regular and alternate)	1 year	Angie Hall (regular)	Acclamation
	Convocation Senator	2 years	Jenn McRae	Acclamation
SCUS	3 Undergraduate Students (2 regular, 1 alternate)	1 year	Karan Thukral Yan Xiao John Vandergugten	ONLINE VOTE (to determine regular/alternate)
SCUTL	Faculty (FCAT)	3 years	Russell Taylor	Acclamation
	Faculty (EDUC)	3 years		
	Faculty (ENV)	3 years	Bob Muir	Acclamation
	Faculty (HSCI)	3 years	Kitty Corbett	Acclamation
	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Japreet Lehal	Acclamation
	Graduate Student	1 year	Sylvia Gajdics Fiona Shaw Ashley Pullman Cathy Griffin Marc Legacy	ONLINE VOTE
SGAAC	Faculty member	1 year		
	Convocation Senator	2 years	Jenn McRae	Acclamation
	2 Graduate Students (regular and alternate)	1 year	Angie Hall (regular)	Acclamation
SGSC	3 Graduate Students (1 regular, 2 alternate)	1 year	Sylvia Gajdics Angie Hall	ONLINE VOTE (to determine regular/alternate)
SLC/LPAC Dual Positions	Undergraduate Student (alternate)	2 years	Andreas Pilarinos Japreet Lehal Heather Palis	ONLINE VOTE
	2 Graduate Students (regular and alternate)	2 years		
SNC	Faculty Senator (ARTS)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (BUS)	1 year	Peter Tingling	Acclamation
	Faculty Senator (FCAT)	1 year	Rob Woodbury	Acclamation
	Faculty Senator (EDUC)	2 years	Daniel Laitsch	Acclamation
	Faculty Senator (ENV)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (HSCI)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (SCI)	1 year		
	Student Senator	1 year		
	Graduate Student	1 year		
SPCSAB	Faculty member	2 years	Christine Kim	Acclamation
	Faculty member	1 year		
SPCSAB/	2 Undergraduate Students	1 year	Karan Thukral (regular)	Acclamation

SUAAC	(regular and alternate)		Hendson Szeto (alternate)	
SPCSAB/ SGAAC	2 Graduate Students (regular and alternate)	1 year	Angie Hall (regular)	Acclamation
SUAAC	Faculty member	1 year		
	Convocation Senator	2 years	Colin Percival	Acclamation
	2 Undergraduate Students (regular and alternate)	1 year	Hendson Szeto (regular)	Acclamation

* Memberships on the Research Ethics Board are for one year terms while a review is under way. ** At least three of the Faculty members on SCIA need to be Faculty Senators.

CC	Calendar Committee	
CRUA	Committee to Review University Admissions	
DQAC	Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee	
ESC	Electoral Standing Committee	
LPAC	Library Penalties Appeal Committee	
REB	Research Ethics Board	
SAB	Senate Appeals Board	
SCAR	Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules	
SCCS	Senate Committee on Continuing Studies	
SCEMP	Senate Committee on Enrolment Management and Planning	
SCIA	Senate Committee on International Activities	
SCODA	Senate Committee on Disciplinary Appeals	
SCUH	Senate Committee on University Honours	
SCUP	Senate Committee on University Priorities	
SCUS	Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies	
SCUTL	Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning	
SGAAC	Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee	
SGSC	Senate Graduate Studies Committee	
SLC	Senate Library Committee	
SNC	Senate Nominating Committee	
SPCSAB	Senate Policy Committee on Scholarships, Awards & Bursaries	
SUAAC	Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee	