

To:

Senate

From:

Kate Ross

Registrar & Executive Director, Student Enrolment

Date:

February 14, 2012

Subject: Election Report to Senate (For Information)

The University Act and Rules of Senate require that the Registrar report the results of elections to Senate and the Board of Governors for information.

Student Election to Senate

A call for nominations was sent to all undergraduate and graduate students on January 16, 2012 for sixteen student positions on Senate for term of office from June 1, 2012 to May 31, 2013. The election rules state that there shall be at least one student elected from each faculty and at least three undergraduate and three graduate students among the total number of students elected. In accordance with these requirements, the following candidates were elected by acclamation:

NAME	FACULTY	Undergraduate/Graduate
Alia Ali	Arts & Social Sciences	Undergraduate
Michael H. Hejazi	Arts & Social Sciences	Undergraduate
Hendson Szeto	Arts & Social Sciences	Undergraduate
Meaghan Wilson	Arts & Social Sciences	Undergraduate
Kevin Zhang	Business	Undergraduate
Nimisha Parakh	Business	Undergraduate
Rohan Sakhrani	Business	Undergraduate
Heather Palis	Communications, Art & Technology	Undergraduate
Joseph Leivdal	Communications, Art & Technology	Undergraduate
Stacey Robinsmith	Education	Graduate
Alexander Chen	Environment	Undergraduate
Andreas Pilarinos	Health Sciences	Undergraduate
Jens Lundgreen- Nielsen	Science	Graduate

A second call for nominations will be issued during the summer 2012 term to fill the remaining three vacancies.



Student Election to Board of Governors

A call for nominations was sent to all undergraduate and graduate students on January 16, 2012 for two student positions on the Board of Governors for term of office from June 1, 2012 to May 31, 2013. Seven nominations were received and online voting resulted in *Arry Dhillon* and *Andreas Pilarinos* being elected to the Board of Governors.

Student Election to Senate Graduate Studies Committee

A call for nominations was sent to all graduate students on January 16, 2012 for four graduate student positions on the Senate Graduate Studies Committee for term of office from June 1, 2012 to May 31, 2013. One nomination was received and therefore *Daniella Sieukaran* was elected by acclamation to the regular position. The remaining three vacancies will be filled by elections at Senate through the Senate Nominating Committee.