

SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY THINKING OF THE WORLD

To: Senate

From: Jo Hinchliffe, Secretary Senate Nominating Committee

Date: November 17, 2011

Subject: Senate Committee Nominations and Vacancies

This is a summary of the online election results and outstanding vacancies for the Senate committees. Senators who wish to submit a nomination must send an email to the secretary of the Senate Nominating Committee (joah@sfu.ca). These nominations must be received by the secretary no later than Friday, December 2, 2011. Nominations received after that time will not be accepted. Senators making nominations must ensure in advance that the nominee is willing to stand for election.

If only one nomination is received for a position, the position will be elected by acclamation. If more than one nomination is received for a position, online voting will be held following the Senate meeting on Monday, December 5, 2011. An email will be sent to all senators with information about the candidates and a link to the online voting system. Voting will be permitted for 48 hours and election results will be released within three days of the end of voting.

COMMITTEE	POSITION	END OF TERM	NOMINATIONS RECEIVED	ELECTED
*REB	Member from University Community	May 31, 2012		Heather Palis (online voting)
SCAR	Student Senator	May 31, 2013	Stacey Robinsmith	
	Student Senator (alt.)	May 31, 2012		
SCCS	Faculty Senator	May 31, 2012		
	Student Senator (alt.)	May 31, 2012		
SCEMP	Undergraduate Student Senator	May 31, 2012		
**SCIA	Faculty (HSCI) – to replace Craig Janes)	May 31, 2012		
	Faculty (EDUC) – to replace Ian Andrews	May 31, 2012	Kelleen Toohey	
	Faculty (Cont. Studies) – to replace Tom Nesbit	May 31, 2012		
	Undergraduate student senator – to replace Diego Reyeros	May 31, 2013		
SCUP	Faculty Senator (FCAT)	May 31, 2013		
	Faculty Senator (HSCI)	May 31, 2013		
	Graduate Student Senator	May 31, 2012	Stacey Robinsmith	
	Graduate Student Senator (alternate)	May 31, 2012		
SCUTL	Faculty Member (HSCI)	May 31, 2012		

SGAAC	Faculty Member	May 31, 2013	
	Graduate Student (alternate)	May 31, 2012	
SGSC	Graduate Student (alternate)	May 31, 2012	
	Graduate Student (alternate)	May 31, 2012	
	- to replace David Pereira		
SNC	Faculty Senator (FCAT)	May 31, 2013	
	Faculty Senator (ENV)	May 31, 2013	
	Faculty Senator (HSCI)	May 31, 2012	
	Student Senator	May 31, 2012	
	Graduate Student	May 31, 2012	
SPCSAB	Faculty Member	May 31, 2013	
SPCSAB/	Graduate Student	May 31, 2012	
SGAAC	Graduate Student (alt.)	May 31, 2012	
SUAAC	Faculty Member	May 31, 2013	
	Undergraduate Student	May 31, 2012	Japreet Lehal (reg)
	(regular and alternate)		Subin Punnen (alt)
			(online voting)

* Memberships on the Research Ethics Board are for one year terms while a review is under way. ** At least three of the Faculty members on SCIA need to be Faculty Senators.

CC CRUA	Calendar Committee Committee to Review University Admissions		
DQAC	Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee		
ESC	Electoral Standing Committee		
LPAC	Library Penalties Appeal Committee		
REB	Research Ethics Board		
SAB	Senate Appeals Board		
SCAR	Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules		
SCCS	Senate Committee on Continuing Studies		
SCEMP	Senate Committee on Enrolment Management and Planning		
SCIA	Senate Committee on International Activities		
SCODA	Senate Committee on Disciplinary Appeals		
SCUH	Senate Committee on University Honours		
SCUP	Senate Committee on University Priorities		
SCUS	Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies		
SCUTL	Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning		
SGAAC	Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee		
SGSC	Senate Graduate Studies Committee		
SLC	Senate Library Committee		
SNC	Senate Nominating Committee		
SPCSAB	Senate Policy Committee on Scholarships, Awards & Bursaries		
SUAAC	Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee		