

SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY THINKING OF THE WORLD

To: Senate

From:

Senate Nominating Committee Collins 16.63

Date: June 16, 2011

Subject: Senate Committee Election Results and Vacancies

This is a summary of the online election results and outstanding vacancies for the Senate committees. Senators who wish to submit a nomination must send an email to the secretary of the Senate Nominating Committee (joah@sfu.ca). These nominations must be received by the secretary no later than Friday, July 1, 2011. Nominations received after that time will not be accepted. Senators making nominations must ensure in advance that the nominee is willing to stand for election.

If only one nomination is received for a position, the position will be elected by acclamation. If more than one nomination is received for a position, online voting will be held following the Senate meeting on Monday, July 4, 2011. An email will be sent to all senators with information about the candidates and a link to the online voting system. Voting will be permitted for 48 hours and election results will be released within three days of the end of voting.

COMMITTEE	POSITION	TERM (starting June 1, 2011)	NOMINATIONS RECEIVED	ELECTED
CC	Student	1 year	Un I Cheang Kimberly Yip	Kimberly Yip
CRUA	Faculty (alternate)	2 years		
	Undergraduate Student (regular and alternate)	2 years	Un I Cheang Ben Lee Helen Luo Michael Pavlic Chanel Stevens Lauren McCarthy	Ben (regular) Chanel (alternate)
DQAC	Undergraduate Student	1 year		
*REB	Member from University Community	1 year		
SAB	Undergraduate Student (regular and alternate)	2 years	Ben Lee Chris Ng Michael Pavlic, Chanel Stevens	Chanel (regular) Ben (alternate)
SCAR	Vice Chair of Senate	1 year	June Francis Sam Black	Sam Black
	Senator	2 years	Tom Perry Colin Percival	Tom Perry
	Student Senator	2 years		
	Student Senator (alt.)	2 years		

SCCS	Faculty Senator	1 year		
	Student Senator (alt.)	1 year		
SCEMP	Faculty Senator	1 year		
~ ~~	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year		
**SCIA	Faculty (ARTS)	2 years	Sam Black (Senator) Tom Perry (Senator)	Tom Perry
	Undergraduate Student Senator	2 years	Diego Reyeros Andreas Pilarinos	Diego Reyeros
SCODA	Student (3 regular and 2 alternate positions)	1 year	Christi Garneau-Scott Ben Lee Chris Ng Jordan Kohn Pasha Tashakor	Christi (regular) Jordan (regular) Pasha (regular) Ben (alternate) Chris (alternate)
	Faculty (alternate)	1 year		
	Faculty (alternate)	1 year		
SCUP	Undergrad Student Senator (3 regular and 1 alternate position)	1 year	Arthur Armstrong Diego Reyeros Andreas Pilarinos Alexander Chen	Arthur (regular) Diego (regular) Andreas (regular) Alexander (alternate)
	Faculty Senator (FCAT)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (EDUC)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (HSCI)	2 years		
	Graduate Student Senator	1 year		
	Graduate Student Senator (alternate)	1 year		
SCUS	Undergraduate Student (2 regular and 1 alternate position)	1 year	Marisol Cruz Helen Luo Sumra Mahmood Arthur Armstrong Motahareh Najar Chris Ng Chanel Stevens Kimberly Yip Nicholas Bordignon Josh Regnier	Josh (regular) Nicholas (regular) Sumra (alternate)
SCUTL	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Arthur Armstrong Janine Reid Nicholas Bordignon, Josh Regnier Ben Lee	Ben Lee
SGAAC	Faculty	2 years		
	Graduate Student (alternate)	1 year		
SGSC	Graduate Student (alternate)	1 year		
	Graduate Student (alternate)	1 year		
SLC/LPAC Dual Position	Undergraduate Student	2 years	Marisol Cruz Motahareh Najar Kimberly Yip	Marisol Cruz

	Graduate Student	2 years	Darius Burbidge	Christi (regular)
	(regular and alternate)		Christi Garneau-Scott	Darius (alternate)
	Graduate Student (alternate)	1 year		
SNC	Faculty Senator (FCAT)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (EDUC)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (ENV)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (HSCI)	1 year		
	Student Senator	1 year		
	Graduate Student	1 year		
SPCSAB	Faculty	2 years		
SPCSAB/	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Motahareh Najar	Janine (regular)
SUAAC	(regular and alternate)		Janine Reid	Motahareh
				(alternate)
SPCSAB/	Graduate Student	1 year		
SGAAC	Graduate Student (alt.)	1 year		
SUAAC	Faculty	2 years		
	Undergraduate Student	1 year		
	Undergraduate Student (alt.)	1 year		

^{*} Memberships on the Research Ethics Board are for one year terms while a review is under way.

** At least three of the Faculty members on SCIA need to be Faculty Senators.

Committee to Review University Admissions

Calendar Committee

CC

CRUA

DQAC	Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee
ESC	Electoral Standing Committee
LPAC	Library Penalties Appeal Committee
REB	Research Ethics Board
SAB	Senate Appeals Board
SCAR	Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules
SCCS	Senate Committee on Continuing Studies
SCEMP	Senate Committee on Enrolment Management and Planning
SCIA	Senate Committee on International Activities
SCODA	Senate Committee on Disciplinary Appeals
SCUH	Senate Committee on University Honours
SCUP	Senate Committee on University Priorities
SCUS	Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies
SCUTL	Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning
SGAAC	Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee
SGSC	Senate Graduate Studies Committee
SLC	Senate Library Committee
SNC	Senate Nominating Committee
SPCSAB	Senate Policy Committee on Scholarships, Awards & Bursaries
SUAAC	Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee