

SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY THINKING OF THE WORLD

To: Senate

From: Kate Ross Registrar & Executive Director Student Enrolment

Date: May 5, 2011

Subject: Election Report to Senate (For Information)

The University Act requires that the Registrar report the results of elections to Senate. The results of elections to the Board of Governors are also included for information.

Faculty Election to Senate

Twelve faculty members were required to be elected to Senate for term of office from June 1, 2011 to May 31, 2014. Ten nominations were received and the results are as follows:

Name	Faculty	Type of Election	Acclamation or Elected
Farid Golnaraghi	Applied Sciences	Faculty	Acclamation
Glenn Chapman	Applied Sciences	Joint Faculty	Acclamation
Robert Gordon	Arts and Social Sciences	Faculty	Acclamation
Tom Perry	Arts and Social Sciences	Joint Faculty	Acclamation
June Frances	Business	Faculty	Acclamation
Christopher Pavsek	FCAT	Joint Faculty	Acclamation
Michelle Nilson	Education	Faculty	Acclamation
Tracy Brennand	Environment	Joint Faculty	Acclamation
Daniel Leznoff	Science	Faculty	Elected
Vacant	Environment	Faculty	
Vacant	Health Sciences	Faculty	
Vacant	Health Sciences	Joint Faculty	

A second call for faculty nominations to Senate will be issued on June 6, 2011 to fill the remaining three vacancies.

Convocation Election to Senate

Four members of convocation were required to be elected to Senate for term of office from June 1, 2011 to May 31, 2014. Six nominations were received and the successful candidates are as follows:

Tracey Leacock, Jennifer McRae, Colin Percival, D'Arcy Warner

Student Election to Senate

Sixteen students were required to be elected to Senate with at least one student elected from each faculty and at least three undergraduate and three graduate students among the total number of students elected. Terms of office are from June 1, 2011 to May 31, 2012.

Eleven nominations were received and therefore in accordance with the above-noted requirements, the following candidates were elected by acclamation:

Name	Faculty	Undergraduate/Graduate
David Hughes	Applied Sciences	Undergraduate
Arthur Armstrong	Arts & Social Sciences	Undergraduate
Jordan Kohn	Arts & Social Sciences	Undergraduate
Kyle Acierno	Arts & Social Sciences	Undergraduate
Arry Dhillon	Business	Undergraduate
Diego Reyeros	Business	Undergraduate
Marc Fontaine	Business	Undergraduate
Alexander Chen	Environment	Undergraduate
Benjamin Lee	Health Sciences	Undergraduate
Pasha Tashakor	Applied Sciences	Graduate
Sara Moghaddamjoo	Business	Graduate
Vacant		Graduate
Vacant	Communication, Art &	
	Tech	
Vacant	Education	
Vacant	Science	
Vacant		

A second call for nominations to Senate will be issued on May 17, 2011 to fill the remaining five vacancies.

Student Election to Board of Governors

The following two students were elected to the Board of Governors for term of office from June 1, 2011 to May 31, 2012:

Marc Fontaine (undergraduate) Pasha Tashakor (graduate)