For Information

Simon Fraser University Memorandum

TO:

Senate

FROM:

Alison Watt, Director, University Secretariat

DATE:

26 April, 2001

SUBJECT:

Order-in-Council Appointments.

New OIC Senators

I am pleased to advise Senate that Mr. Devinder Sekhon and Mr. Ranbir Thandi have been appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council to the Senate of Simon Fraser University for a three year term starting 30 March, 2001. We welcome Mr. Sekhon and Mr. Thandi to their new roles as Senators.

Re-Appointed OIC Senators

I am pleased to advise Senate that Ms. Dina McInnes and Ms. Barbara Naef have been re-appointed by the Lieutenant Governor in Council to the Senate of Simon Fraser University for a further three year term starting 30 March, 2001. We thank Ms. McInnes and Ms. Naef for their continuing involvement as OIC Senators.

Retiring OIC Senators

The new appointments and reappointments noted above complete the required four Order in Council appointments to Senate. This means that Mr. Balwant Sanghera and Mr. Michael Warsh who have been OIC Senators since 1994 have now completed their terms as Government appointments to the Senate of Simon Fraser University. We thank Mr. Sanghera and Mr. Warsh for their commitment to the work of the University Senate over the past seven years of appointment.

Shirth.