SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY

Memorandum

To:	Senate
-----	--------

From: N. Heath Acting Registrar and Secretary of Senate

Date: September 19, 1995

Subject: Senate Meeting - October 2, 1995

There were insufficient items requiring the immediate attention of Senate to warrant the scheduling of a meeting on Monday, October 2, 1995 and therefore the meeting has been cancelled.

The date of the next regularly scheduled meeting of Senate is Monday, November 6, 1995. Agenda items and papers for the November meeting will be required by the Secretary of Senate by 4:30 p.m. Thursday, October 19, 1995. These items will be considered by the Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules on Tuesday, October 24, 1995 with distribution to Senate on Friday, October 27, 1995.

A number of vacancies will occur to the undernoted Senate committees as of October 1, 1995. Normally, elections to fill these positions take place at the October Senate meeting. However, since this meeting has been cancelled, it is necessary to conduct the electoral process by mail so that Senate committees can carry out their responsibilities with the least possible interruption.

Nominations:

The Senate Nominating Committee has submitted nominations for elections to these committees. Under Senate regulations any Senator who wishes to add nominations to those shown below may do so by notifying the Secretary of Senate in writing of such nominations no later than <u>4:30 p.m. Friday</u>, <u>September 29, 1995</u>. Senators making such nominations must ensure in advance that the nominee is willing to stand for election.

Ballots, information on candidates, and return envelopes for this election will then be mailed to all Senators as soon as possible following close of nominations, with completed ballots to be received by this office no later than 4:30 p.m. Thursday, October 12, 1995.

Change in the end date for terms of office on all Senate Committees (from September 30 to May 31) approved by Senate September 18, 1995. In this first election, terms of office normally ending September 30, 1996 will be changed to May 31, 1996, and terms of office normally ending September 30, 1997 will be changed to May 31, 1997. Thereafter, all positions will be filled for one-year or two-year terms of office as specified.

SENATE COMMITTEE ON DISCIPLINARY APPEALS (SCODA)

Due to the election of P. Percival as the Chair of the Senate Committee on Disciplinary Appeals, it will be necessary to replace him in his elected faculty position on SCODA as follows: **One Faculty Member (at-large)** (who is not also a Chair, Dean or Vice-President) for term of office from date of election to April 30, 1996.

K. Akins

Two Faculty Members (at-large) (who are not also Chairs, Deans or Vice-Presidents) to replace D. Chunn for term of office from date of election to September 30, 1997, and K. Akins for two-year term of office, from October 1, 1995 to May 31, 1997.

L. Pinfield Insufficient nominations received

Three Students (at-large) to replace R. Dhir, M. Shabbits, and T. Myers for one-year terms of office, from October 1, 1995 to May 31, 1996.

V. Finberg R. Jahn T. Morrison M. Shabbits

<u>SENATE COMMITTEE ON ACADEMIC PLANNING (SCAP)/SENATE COMMITTEE ON</u> <u>UNIVERSITY BUDGET (SCUB)</u>

Three Senators (at-large) to replace C. Eaton, K. Heinrich and P. Winne for two-year terms of office, from October 1, 1995 to May 31, 1997.

C. Eaton W.S. Luk D. Ross O. Underhill P. Winne

One Lay Senator to replace I. McAskill for a two-year term of office, from October 1, 1995 to May 31, 1997.

B. Naef

One Student Senator to replace R. Dhir for a two-year term of office, from October 1, 1995 to May 31, 1997.

K. Giffen R. Jahn

SENATE COMMITTEE ON AGENDA AND RULES (SCAR)

One Senator (at-large) to replace P. Percival for a two-year term of office, from October 1, 1995 to May 31, 1997.

K. Heinrich

T. Morrison

One Student Senator to replace T. Morrison for a two-year term of office, from October 1, 1995 to May 31, 1997.

SENATE COMMITTEE ON CONTINUING STUDIES (SCCS)

One Faculty Senator to replace L. Hafer for balance of term of office, from September 1, 1995 to May 31, 1996.

M. Howlett

Two Senators (at-large) to replace K. Giffen and G. Mauser for two-year terms of office, from October 1, 1995 to May 31, 1997.

G. Blazenko G. Mauser

One Lay Senator to replace N. Wickstrom for a two-year term of office, from October 1, 1995 to May 31, 1997.

S. Beattie M. Warsh

SENATE LIBRARY COMMITTEE (SLC)

Two Senators (at-large) to replace M.L. Stewart and K. Giffen for two-year terms of office, from October 1, 1995 to May 31, 1997.

M. Howlett M.L. Stewart

SENATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE (SNC)

Four Senators (at-large) to replace J. D'Auria, L. Peterson, L. Etherington and M.L. Stewart for one-year terms of office, from October 1, 1995 to May 31, 1996.

J. D'Auria L. Etherington L. Peterson Insufficient nominations received

Two Student Senators (One Regular, One Alternate) to replace R. Jahn and R. Dhir respectively, for one-year terms of office, from October 1, 1995 to May 31, 1996. K. Giffen R. Jahn

SENATE POLICY COMMITTEE ON SCHOLARSHIPS, AWARDS & BURSARIES (SPCSAB)

Two Faculty Members (at-large) to replace K. Mezei and P. Percival for two-year terms of office, from October 1, 1995 to May 31, 1997.

G. Blazenko

E. Buksar

E. Palmer

SENATE POLICY COMMITTEE ON SCHOLARSHIPS, AWARDS & BURSARIES (SPCSAB) (continued)

One Lay Senator to replace V. Dunsterville for two-year term of office, from October 1, 1995 to May 31, 1997.

V. Dunsterville

SENATE UNDERGRADUATE AWARDS ADJUDICATION COMMITTEE (SUAAC)

One Faculty Member (at-large) to replace O. Underhill for a two-year term of office, from October 1, 1995 to May 31, 1997.

L. Palmer

SENATE GRADUATE AWARDS ADJUDICATION COMMITTEE (SGAAC)

. . . .

One Faculty Member (at-large) to replace C. Dean for a two-year term of office, from October 1, 1995 to May 31, 1997.

No Nominations Received

INTERNATIONAL UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT EXCHANGE COMMITTEE (IUSEC)

One Undergraduate Student (at-large) to replace F. Karabotsos for a one-year term of office, from October 1, 1995 to May 31, 1996.

No Nominations Received

SENATE COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY TEACHING AND LEARNING (SCUTL)

Two Faculty Members (at-large) to replace I. Gordon and A. Rawicz for two-year terms of office, from October 1, 1995 to May 31, 1997.

I. Gordon L. Weldon M. Wideen

One Undergraduate Student (at-large) to replace K. Chan for a one-year term of office, from October 1, 1995 to May 31, 1996.

J. Reamer S. Sowerby

One Graduate Student (at-large) to fill an existing vacancy for term of office, from date of election to May 31, 1996.

D. Boote K. Deerpalsing