DRAFT UNTIL APPROVED BY SENATE

Minutes of a meeting of the Senate of Simon Fraser University held on Monday, July 5, 2004 at 5:30 pm in Room 3210 WMC

Open Session

Present: Dickinson, John, Interim Chair

Atkins, Stella Beynon, Peter Brennand, Tracey Clayman, Bruce Delgrande, James Driver, Jon

Dunsterville, Valerie Easton, Stephen Fizzell, Maureen Giacomantonio, Chris

Gordon, Irene

Haunerland, Norbert Hunsdale, Shawn Johansen, Elinor MacKenzie, Christine McInnes, Marcia

Mundle, Todd (representing L. Copeland)
Parkhouse, Wade (representing B. Lewis)

Sears, Camilla Schellenberg, Betty Shaker, Paul

Tietz, John (representing J. Pierce)

Waterhouse, John Walters, Brenton Wong, Josephine Woodbury, Robert Yerbury, Colin Absent:

Apaak, Clement Breden, Felix Budd, James da Silva, Gisele Fung, Edward Gordon, Robert Grimmett, Peter Gupta, Kamal Higgins, Anne Honda, Barry Horvath, Adam Krane, Bill Li, Ze-Nian Love, Ernie Mauser, Gary McArthur, James McFetridge, Paul McKinnon, Stephanie

Percival, Paul Plischke, Michael Rozell, Sara Scott, Jamie Smith, Don

Stevenson, Michael Tombe, Trevor Weeks, Daniel Wessel, Sylvia Wong, Milton Zandvliet, David

Heath, Ron, Dean of Student Services/Registrar Watt, Alison, Director, University Secretariat Grant, Bobbie, Recording Secretary

1. <u>Interim Chair</u>

In the absence of the Chair and the Vice-Chair, Senator John Dickinson was elected interim Chair by acclamation.

2. Approval of the Agenda

The Agenda was approved as distributed.

3. Approval of the Minutes of the Open Session of June 7, 2004

The Minutes were approved as distributed.

4. <u>Business Arising from the Minutes</u>

Reference was made to the report under Item 3 about the removal of students who did not meet prerequisite requirements. N. Haunerland mentioned that the check was done after departments had already removed a number of ineligible students so the figures did not actually reflect the total number of ineligible students who could have registered.

5. Report of the Chair

There was no formal report from the Chair. On behalf of Senate, the Chair welcomed the newly elected Student Senator from Education, Marcia McInnes, and thanked two Senators who were attending their final Senate meeting: Senator Bruce Clayman, and Senator Stella Atkins.

6. Question Period

There were no questions.

7. Reports of Committees

A) <u>Senate Nominating Committee</u>

i) <u>Paper S.04-49 Revised – Elections (outstanding vacancies)</u>

Senate's attention was directed to the newly distributed paper, S.04-49 Revised, which contained a slate of candidates for election to the Senate Appeals Board. No nominations were received for the outstanding Student Senator positions on the Senate Committee on Continuing Studies (SCCS) and the Senate committee on International Activities (SCIA).

The results of balloting are as follows:

Senate Appeals Board

One Undergraduate Student (at-large) to replace B. Bourke (Regular Member) for term of office to May 31, 2005:

Elected: Ravi Bansal

B) <u>Senate Graduate Studies Committee</u>

- i) Paper S.04-50 Curriculum Revision Faculty of Education Senate received information that the Senate Graduate Studies Committee, acting under delegated authority, approved minor revisions to program requirements in the Ed.D. in Educational Leadership program.
- C) Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules
- i) Paper S.04-51 ISEC Change of Committee Membership

Moved by J. Driver, seconded by W. Parkhouse

"that Senate approve the revisions to the membership and organization of ISEC as set out in S.04-51"

Question was called, and a vote taken.

MOTION CARRIED

ii) Paper S.04-52 - Transition Planning for Senate - Faculty of Health Sciences

Moved by W. Parkhouse, seconded by J. Waterhouse

"that Senate approve the following transitional membership arrangements resulting from the establishment of the Faculty of Health Sciences:

- a) Effective 1 September 2004, the Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences will be an ex officio member of Senate, and two Faculty Senator positions (elected by and from the Faculty of Health Sciences), and one Student Senator position (elected by and from the *student body*)* will be established but not filled until 31 May 2005.
- b) As there will be no faculty or students initially in the Faculty of Health Sciences, three positions will be established under section 35(l) of the University Act for 2 Faculty Senators to be elected by and from the members of IHRE and 1 Student Senator elected at-large for the period 1 September, 2004 to 31 May, 2005.
- c) Elections for the Faculty of Health Sciences will take place at the usual time in spring 2005. The Faculty Senator positions will initially be staggered with one position a 3 year term and the other position a 2 year term.
- d) During the period 1 September 2004 to 31 May 2005, the members elected under 2.b) above will be eligible to represent the Faculty of Health Sciences (FHS) on Senate committees which will have FHS representation, and IHRE members will be eligible to fill FHS positions elected by the FHS."

*Secretary's Note: Editorial correction to motion to bring it in line with the University Act and current practice.

Page 4

Senate was advised that with the establishment of the Faculty of Health Sciences in September 2004, the proposal ensures that the formation of Senate conforms to provisions of *The University Act* and provides a common sense method of achieving status during the transition period.

Question was called, and a vote taken.

MOTION CARRIED

iii) Paper S.04-53 - Notice of Motion - Amendment to committee terms

Senate received a Notice of Motion with respect to an amendment to the Rules of Senate dealing with a process to cover the period between committee terms that conclude on May 31 and the date of the next Senate meeting when elections can be held. This item will be placed on the agenda for consideration by Senate at the September meeting.

8. Other Business

There was no other business.

9. Information

The date of the next regularly scheduled meeting of Senate will take place on Monday, September 13, 2004. There is no meeting in August.

Open Session adjourned at 5:40 pm, and Senate moved directly into Closed Session.

Alison Watt Director, University Secretariat