DRAFT UNTIL APPROVED BY SENATE

MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE SENATE OF SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY HELD MONDAY, JUNE 1, 1981, 3172 ADMINISTRATION BUILDING, 7:00 P.M.

OPEN SESSION

Present: Pedersen, K. G., Chairman

Arrott, A. S. Banister, E. W. Beirne, B. P. Bhakthan, N.M.G. Blaney, J. P. Brown, R. C. Calvert, T. W. Carter, S. D. Cleveland, W. L. Cochran, J. F. Crawley, J. M. Cripps, P. G. Dobb, T. C. Einstein, F. Evenden, L. J. Hanson, J. A. Hinchcliffe, S. Holmes, R. A. Irwin, J. C. Johnston, H.J.M. Leiss, W. Manley-Casimir, M. E. McKeown, B. A. McNabb, G. T. Munro, J. M. Nielsen, V. Okuda, K. Palmer, L. H. Rieckhoff, K. E. Showler, W. G. Smith, R. J. Starcevich, R.D.I. Verdun-Jones, S. N. Weinberg, H. Wideen, M. F. Wotherspoon, A. J.

Absent: Barden, W. S.
Coté, P. T.
Doherty, P. M.
Gehlbach, R. D.
Hale, L. R.
Ivany, J.W.G.
Jones, C.H.W.
Krebs, D. L.
Mackauer, J.P.M.
Overholt, M. J.
Toor, J. B.
Webster, J. M.

Evans, H. M., Secretary Heath, N. Norsworthy, R., Recording Secretary

1. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

On a motion by K. Rieckhoff, seconded by R. Starcevich, the agenda was approved as distributed.

2. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

A memorandum was circulated to the membership indicating the following corrections and additions to the minutes of the Open Session of May 11, 1981:

Page 4, Item 5, i) a) - Paper S.81-60 should read S.81-69

Page 7, Item 5, i) f) - Paper S.81-74 should read S.81-75

Page 8, Item 5, i) g) - The following actions by SCUS are required to be recorded:

"Acting under its delegated authority, SCUS approved changes relating to the following:

- i) FPA. 104-3 Music Fundamentals Change in prerequisite and description.
 - FPA. 230-3 The Crafts of Film I Change in prerequisite.
- ii) FPA. 236-3 The History of Aesthetics of Cinema I Change in number to FPA. 136-3 (effective September 1981).

 Students with credit for FPA. 236-3 may not take this course for further credit.
 - FPA. 237-3 The History of Aesthetics of Cinema II Change in number to FPA. 137-3; also change in prerequisite from FPA. 236-3 to FPA. 136-3 recommended effective September 1981. Students with credit for FPA. 237-3 may not take this course for further credit.
- iii) FPA. 334-3 Film Analysis Change in prerequisite.

 FPA. 430-5 Directed Studies in Film Production I Change in prerequisite."

It was moved by T. McNabb, seconded by K. Rieckhoff,

"That the minutes of the Open Session of May 11, 1981, as corrected and expanded, be approved."

Question was called, and a vote taken.

MOTION CARRIED

3. BUSINESS ARISING FROM THE MINUTES

There was no business arising from the minutes.

4. REPORT OF CHAIRMAN

- i) The Chairman introduced and welcomed the following newly elected Senators who were in attendance: M. E. Manley-Casimir, P. G. Cripps, W. G. Showler, R. J. Smith, and S. D. Carter.
- ii) It was reported that a committee, chaired by J. P. Blaney, to name rooms and buildings of the University, had submitted a suggestion to the Board of Governors which had been endorsed enthusiastically, resulting in the Senate chambers being known in future as Rieckhoff Hall.

5. REPORTS OF COMMITTEES

i) Senate Nominating Committee

a) Paper S.81-89 - Senate Elections

Senate was informed that in addition to the nominations submitted by the Senate Nominating Committee, M. E. Manley-Casimir had been nominated to the Senate Committee on Continuing Studies for a faculty Senator position, and R. A. Holmes had been nominated to the Senate Appeals Board. Ballots were distributed to conduct required elections to the Senate Committee on Continuing Studies and to the Senate Nominating Committee. At the request of T. Arrott, individuals nominated to the various committee positions identified themselves.

Complete elections results follow:

Senate Committee on Academic Planning (SCAP)/Senate Committee on University Budget (SCUB)

Two Lay Senators, to replace D. C. Moffatt from date of election to September 30, 1982, and to replace S. Luetzen, from date of election to September 30, 1981.

NO NOMINATIONS RECEIVED

One student Senator to replace M. D. Trainer, from date of election to September 30, 1981.

Elected by acclamation:

G. T. McNABB

Senate Committee on Continuing Studies (SCCS)

Two Faculty Senators, to replace M. L. Bowman, from date of election to September 30, 1982, and to replace J. J. Tuinman from date of election to September 30, 1981.

Ballots cast 37 Ballots spoiled 1

Individual totals: Banister

16

Manley-Casimir

20

Individual receiving the higher number of votes and elected to September 30, 1982

M. E. MANLEY-CASIMIR

Individual receiving the lesser number of votes and elected to September 30, 1981

E. W. BANISTER

One student Senator to replace M. D. Trainer, from date of election to September 30, 1982.

Elected by acclamation:

R. J. SMITH

Senate Committee on Honorary Degrees (SCHD)

Two Lay Senators to replace S. Luetzen and D. C. Moffatt, from date of election for no specified terms of office.

NO NOMINATIONS RECEIVED

Senate Library Committee (SLC)

Two Senators at large to replace M. D. Trainer and J. J. Tuinman, from date of election to September 30, 1981.

Elected by acclamation:

W. S. BARDEN

W. G. SHOWLER

One student Senator alternate to replace S. K. Anderson, from date of election to September 30, 1982.

Elected by acclamation: A. J. WOTHERSPOON

Senate Nominating Committee (SNC)

Two Senators at large to replace G. H. Geen and J. J. Weinkam, from date of election to September 30, 1981.

Ballots cast		37
Ballots spoiled		-
		_
Individual totals:	Cripps	28
	Leiss	28
	Wotherspoon	18

Two individuals receiving the highest

numbers of votes and elected:

P. G. CRIPPS

W. LEISS

Senate Committee on Scholarships, Awards and Bursaries (SCSAB)

One Lay Senator to replace D. C. Moffatt, from date of election to September 30, 1981.

Senate Appeals Board (SAB)

One Faculty Senator and one Faculty Senator Alternate to replace M. L. Bowman and P. L. Wagner, from date of election for no specified terms of office.

Elected by acclamation to the regular position: R. A.

R. A. HOLMES

NO NOMINATIONS RECEIVED FOR THE ALTERNATE POSITION

Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies (SCUS)

One Lay Senator to replace S. Luetzen, from date of election for no specified term of office.

NO NOMINATIONS RECEIVED

Two student Senator alternates to replace M. D. Trainer and J. M. Crawley, from date of election for no specified terms of office.

Elected by acclamation:

P. G. CRIPPS

R. J. SMITH

The Secretary noted that the Senate Nominating Committee will be asked to continue its efforts to fill the remaining vacancies.

ii) Senate Committee on Academic Planning

a) Paper S.81-90 - Annual Report

K. Rieckhoff enquired if there had been any further consideration of the SCAP Task Force Report on Faculty Organization since June 1980, and J. Munro replied in the negative. The Chairman suggested that there would probably be further response to the query at the next meeting of Senate. K. Rieckhoff then commented on ratio of approvals to rejections in connection with proposals considered by SCAP, and J. Munro stated that the recently approved Guidelines for Program Review would simplify consideration at the Committee level through the specified screening processes allocated to departments and Faculties.

iii) Senate Committee on University Budget

a) Paper S.81-91 - Annual Report

The Annual Report of the Senate Committee on University Budget was circulated for information.

6. REPORTS OF FACULTIES

There were no reports from faculties.

7. OTHER BUSINESS

There was no other business.

8. NOTICES OF MOTION

There were no notices of motion.

9. INFORMATION

The assembly recessed briefly at $7:22~\mathrm{p.m.}$ on a motion by R. Brown, seconded by K. Rieckhoff, prior to moving into Closed Session.

The next regular meeting of Senate is scheduled for Monday, July 6, 1981.

H. M. Evans Secretary