Election Report to Senate: For Information

The University Act requires that the Registrar report the results of Senate elections to Senate. The results of elections to the Board of Governors are also reported for information.

Faculty Elections to Senate

1. Joint Faculty

Election of five faculty members to Senate (one of whom must be from the Faculty of Business Administration) for terms of office from June 1, 2010 to May 31, 2013:

Elected by acclamation:

Sam Black, Department of Philosophy, Faculty of Arts/Social Sciences
Dianne Cyr, Faculty of Business Administration
Stephen Easton, Department of Economics, Faculty of Arts/Social Sciences
Mary-Catherine Kropinski, Department of Mathematics, Faculty of Science
Mehrad Saif, School of Engineering Science, Faculty of Applied Sciences

2. Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences

Election of one faculty member to Senate for term of office from June 1, 2010 to May 31, 2013: Elected by acclamation:

Shuyu Kong, Department of Humanities

3. Faculty of Education

Election of one faculty member to Senate for term of office from June 1, 2010 to May 31, 2013: Re-elected by acclamation:

Daniel Laitsch

4. Faculty of Environment

Election of two faculty members to Senate for terms of office to May 31, 2012:

One nomination was received therefore one position will remain vacant. Elected by acclamation:

Geoff Mann

5. Faculty of Health Sciences

Election of one faculty member to Senate for term of office from June 1, 2010 to May 31, 2013: Elected by acclamation:

Julian Somers

6. Faculty of Science

Election of one faculty member to Senate for term of office from June 1, 2010 to May 31, 2013:

Elected by acclamation:

Bruce Brandhorst, Department of Molecular
Biology and Biochemistry

Faculty Election to Board of Governors

Joint Faculty

Election of one faculty member to the Board of Governors for term of office from June 1, 2010to May 31, 2013.

Elected: Gordon Myers, Department of Economics
Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences

Student Election to Senate

Senate

Sixteen students elected by and from the student body to Senate. Senate Rules state at least one student is elected from each Faulty an at least three undergraduate students and three graduate students are among the total number of students elected. Terms of office are from June 1, 2010 to May 31, 2011.

No nominations were received from the following Faculties: Applied Sciences, Environment, and Science. Therefore 3 positions will remain vacant and a 2nd call will be issued in May 2010.

Only one nomination was received from a graduate student. Therefore 2 positions will remain vacant and a 2nd call will be issued in May 2010.

Elected by acclamation:

Christi Garneau-Scott	Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences	Graduate
Mona Law	Faculty of Communication, Art & Technology	Undergraduate
Benjamin Lee	Faculty of Health Sciences	Undergraduate
Ravi Patel	Faculty of Education	Undergraduate

Balloting resulted in the election of the following students for the remaining seven positions:

Kyle Acierno	Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences	Undergraduate
Anton Bezglasnyy	Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences	Undergraduate
Arry Dhillon	Faculty of Business Administration	Undergraduate
Andrew Fergusson*	Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences	Undergraduate
Fiona Li	Faculty of Business Administration	Undergraduate
Alysia MacGrotty	Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences	Undergraduate
John Morrison	Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences	Undergraduate

^{*} Resignation received from A. Fergusson. This position will be included in the 2nd call for nominations which will be issued in May 2010.

Student Election to Board of Governors

Board of Governors

Election of two students to the Board of Governors for terms of office from June 1, 2010 to May 31, 2011:

Elected: Arry Dhillon Faculty of Business Administration

Ravi Patel Faculty of Education/Faculty of Arts &

Social Sciences