

SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY THINKING OF THE WORLD

To: Senate

From: Jo Hinchliffe, Secretary Senate Nominating Committee

Date: December 16, 2009

Subject: Senate Committee Elections

The following Senate committees have outstanding vacancies for election by Senate. Elections, if required, will be conducted on-line following the Senate meeting on Monday, January 11, 2010. Nominations received by the Senate Nominating Committee are forwarded below.

Additional nominations must be received by the Secretary of the Senate Nominating Committee in writing (email joah@sfu.ca) no later than Friday. January 8, 2010. Nominations received after that time will not be accepted. Senators making nominations must ensure in advance that the nominee is willing to stand for election.

## Calendar Committee (CC)

One Faculty Senator (replacing Tracy Brennand) for term of office to May 31, 2011

## Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee (DQAC)

One Faculty Member (replacing Andrew Rawicz) for term of office to May 31, 2011

<u>Electoral Standing Committee (ESC)</u> One Senator (replacing Michael Letourneau) for term of office to May 31, 2010

## Research Ethics Board (REB)

One Student Alternate (replacing Risha Patidar) for term of office to May 31, 2010

## Senate Committee on Continuing Studies (SCCS)

One Student Alternate (replacing J. Chan) for term of office to May 31, 2010

# Senate Committee on Enrolment Management and Planning (SCEMP)

One Graduate Student (replacing Graham Lyons) for term of office to May 31, 2010

# <u>Senate Committee on International Activities (SCIA)</u> (New membership as approved by Senate on September 14, 2009)

One Faculty Member, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, for term of office to May 31, 2011

One Faculty Member, Faculty of Business Administration, for term of office to May 31, 2010

One Faculty Member, Faculty of Communication, Art & Technology, for term of office to May 31, 2011

One Faculty Member, Faculty of Education, for term of office to May 31, 2010

One Faculty Member, Faculty of Environment, for term of office to May 31, 2011

## Senate Committee on University Honours (SCUH)

One Senator (Education) (replacing Peter Liljedahl) for term of office to May 31, 2012

## Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning (SCUTL)

One Faculty Member (Communication, Art & Technology) (replacing Janet McCracken) for term of office to May 31, 2012

#### Senate Nominating Committee (SNC)

One Faculty Senator (Environment) for term of office to May 31, 2011

One Faculty Senator (Education) (replacing Natalee Popadiuk) for term of office to May 31, 2010

One Graduate Student (replacing Eli Gibson) for term of office to May 31, 2010

Balloting, if required, will be done online. Following the January 11th Senate meeting, a web survey ballot will be released with an email announcement to all Senators. Voting will be permitted for 48 hours, and election results will be released within three days of the end of voting.