5.398

SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY

MEMORANDUM

To ALL MEMBERS OF SENATE	From H. M. EVANS
	REGISTRAR AND SECRETARY OF SENATE
Subject SENATE ELECTIONS	Date AUGUST 31, 1970

The Chairman of the Senate Nominating Committee, on behalf of the Senate Nominating Committee, has submitted nominations for a number of elections to be held by Senate at its meeting of Monday, September 14, 1970.

Under Senate regulations any Senator who wishes to add nominations to any of those listed below may do so by notifying the Secretary of Senate in writing of such nominations, to reach his office no later than Friday, September 11, 1970. Nominations received after that time, and nominations from the floor, cannot be accepted.

If a nomination is made, the Senator making the nomination must ensure in advance that the nominee is willing to stand for election.

1. SENATE AGENDA COMMITTEE

Election of one-Senator at large to replace temporarily R. C. Brown from date of election to December $31,\ 1970.$

MUGRIDGE, I.

2. SENATE COMMITTEE ON EXAMINATION AND GRADING PRACTICES

Election of two faculty members at large, with one member to replace permanently J. F. Hutchinson, and the other member to replace temporarily S. Wassermann from date of election to December 31, 1970.

ALLEN, I. ENNS, R. H.

3. SENATE COMMITTEE ON HONORARY DEGREES

a) Election of one Senator at large to replace G. Kirchner. No specified term of office.

HARPER, R.J.C. O'CONNELL, M. S.

b) Election of one Faculty of Arts Senator to replace W. E. Williams from date of election to August 31, 1971.

MUGRIDGE, I.

4. SENATE LIBRARY COMMITTEE

Election of three Senators at large to replace J. K. Kenward, A. H. Lachlan and M. S. O'Connell. Term of office from October 1, 1970 to September 30, 1971.

BASHAM, G. D. HAMILTON, C. L. O'CONNELL, M. S.

5. SENATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE

Election of five Senators at large to replace D. A. Baird, J. S. Barlow, G. Kirchner, A. H. Lachlan and R. Rògow. Term of office from October 1, 1970 to September 30, 1971.

BURSTEIN, K. R. ELLIS, J. F. FUNT, B. L. HAMILTON, C. L. SULLIVAN, D. H.

6. SENATE COMMITTEE ON SCHOLARSHIPS, AWARDS AND BURSARIES

Election of three faculty members, one from each Faculty, to replace H. Weinberg (Arts), W. B. McDermott (Education), and A. M. Unrau (Science). Term of office in all three cases is for two years from October 1, 1970 to September 30, 1972.

- a) Faculty of Arts
- b) Faculty of Education
- c) Faculty of Science

WEINBERG, H.

NO NAME SUBMITTED.

THE NAME OF A. M. UNRAU WAS SUBMITTED BY THE SENATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE, BUT THIS INDIVIDUAL IS INELIGIBLE TO STAND FOR RE-ELECTION ACCORDING TO SENATE'S RULES OF PROCEDURE, SECTION 12.c).

7. SENATE COMMITTEE ON RULES AND PROCEDURES PERTAINING TO PROFESSIONAL CONDUCT (ad hoc)

Election of one faculty member at large to replace J. F. Hutchinson. No specified term of office.

PROCK, L. M.

8. ACADEMIC PLANNING COMMITTEE

Election of two Senators at large to replace J. F. Hutchinson and G. Kirchner. No specified term of office.

BURSTEIN, K. R. ELLIS, J. F. O'CONNELL, M. S.