S.72-53

SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY

MEMORANDUM

TO SENATE

From H. M. EVANS

SECRETARY OF SENATE

NOMINATIONS AND ELECTION OF ONE

Subject FACULTY OF SCIENCE FACULTY MEMBER TO
THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON SCHOLARSHIPS

TO Date APRIL 25, 1972

MOTION:

AWARDS AND BURSARIES

"That the individual nominated to the Senate

Committee on Scholarships, Awards and Bursaries

be declared elected by acclamation."

Note:

If additional nominations to that appearing in the attached paper are received by the deadline of May 5, 1972 a new motion will be circulated at the Senate meeting.

MEMORANDUM

MEMBERS OF SENATE

From D. A. MEYERS

DIRECTOR OF SECRETARIAT SERVICES

Subject.

NOMINATIONS AND ELECTION OF ONE FACULTY OF SCIENCE FACULTY MEMBER TO THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON SCHOLARSHIPS AWARDS AND BURSARIES

Date APRIL 25, 1972

Election is required of one faculty member from the Faculty of Science to replace A. M. Unrau who, as a result of the action of Senate at its meeting of April 10, 1972, sits on the Senate Committee on Scholarships, Awards and Bursaries as the Senate appointed Chairman. Term of office is from date of election to September 30, 1973.

For the information of Senators a list is attached showing the current membership of the Committee.

In accordance with Senate election procedures, the Senate Nominating Committee has submitted nominations as shown below. Election is to be undertaken at the meeting of Senate on Monday, May 8, 1972. Members are reminded that under Senate regulations any Senator who wishes to add nominations to those listed below may do so by notifying the Secretary of Senate in writing of such nominations to reach his office no later than Friday, May 5, 1972. Nominations received after that time, and nominations from the floor cannot be accepted.

If a nomination is made, the Senator making the nomination must ensure in advance that the nominee is willing to stand for nomination.

Nominations by the Senate Nominating Committee:

R. R. RENNIE - DEPARTMENT OF MATHEMATICS

encl.

SENATE COMMITTEES

April 10, 1972

SENATE COMMITTEE ON SCHOLARSHIPS, AWARDS AND BURSARIES (standing)

Members	Conditions	Term	Expiry Date]	Name
Chairman	Appointed by Senate	3 years	Sep 30/73	A. 1	1. Unrau
Faculty Member (Arts)	r Appointed	2 years	Sep 30/73	W. 1	E. Williams
Faculty Member (Education)	r by	2 years	Sep 30/73	т	J. Mallinson
Faculty Member (Science)	s Senate	2 years	Sep 30/73		
Faculty Member (Arts)	Faculty	l year	Sep 30/72	R. I	C. Debo
Faculty Member (Education)	elects	1 year	Sep 30/72	J. 7	. Trivett
Faculty Member (Science)	Nominee	1 year	Sep 30/72	J. I	1. Borden
Student (Arts)	Three Students selected by Student Society	1 year	Sep 30/73	S. I	. Nichol
Student (Education)	with not more than one from any one Faculty or	l year	Sep 30/73	R. 3	J. Banks
Student (Science)	Division, etc.	1 year	Sep 30/73	D. A	A. Sabourin
Financial Aid Officer	Non-voting			D. (Clarke

TERMS OF REFERENCE:

- 1. To award fellowships, scholarships, exhibitions, bursaries, prizes and other awards which are sponsored or administered by Simon Fraser University.
- To propose, when requested, candidates for the receipt of certain fellowships, scholarships, exhibitions, bursaries, prizes and other awards which are administered and sponsored by organizations external to Simon Fraser University.
- 3. To deal generally, on behalf of Senate with the establishment or discontinuance of any fellowship, scholarship, exhibition, bursary, prize or other award, including review, modification and approval of the terms of reference of fellowships, scholarships, exhibitions, bursaries, prizes and other awards.
- 4. To report, in March of each year, to Senate on the procedures and criteria developed to implement charges (1), (2) and (3) and actions taken under charges (1), (2) and (3).

COMPOSITION OF THE COMMITTEE:

1. The Committee shall consist of nine members, plus a Chairman, all of whom shall be voting members.

- 2. The Chairman shall be a full-time faculty member appointed by Senate for a term of three years. The Chairman shall be eligible for reappointment.
- 3. Three of the nine members shall be full-time faculty members, selected by Senate. The term shall be two years, with appointment in odd numbered years. Members appointed to the Committee by Senate shall be eligible for reappointment.
- 4. Three of the nine members shall be full-time faculty members elected one each by and from the Faculties of Arts, of Education and of Science respectively. The term shall be two years, with election in even numbered years. Members elected to the Committee from the Faculties shall be eligible for re-election.
- 5. Three of the nine members shall be students, to be selected by the Simon Fraser Student Society by means of its choice. However, there shall be no more than one student from the Faculty of Arts, or from the Faculty of Education, or from the Faculty of Science. The term shall be one year. Members selected by the Simon Fraser Student Society shall be eligible for reappointment.
- 6. Appointments of faculty members through elections shall follow normal rules pertaining to Senate committees.

NON-VOTING MEMBERS:

The Financial Aid Office shall be a non-voting member of the Committee, as shall be such other individuals who, in the judgment of the Committee, will provide a substantial contribution not offered by one or more of its members.

QUORUM:

The quorum shall consist of five Committee members, one of whom must be the Chairman, or his designate.

Original approved by Senate April 4, 1966. Revision of membership and terms of reference approved by Senate April 10, 1972.

(Note: In the transition to the new Terms of Reference and Membership approved by Senate April 10, 1972, Senate extended the terms of office of the three faculty members previously appointed by Senate to September 30, 1973. This included A. M. Unrau as Chairman, W. E. Williams, and T. J. Mallinson.)