# S.77-93

# SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY

### **MEMORANDUM**

To ALL MEMBERS OF SENATE	From H. M. EVANS, REGISTRAR AND
	SECRETARY OF SENATE
Subject SENATE ELECTIONS	Date SEPTEMBER 20, 1977

The Chairman of the Senate Nominating Committee, on behalf of the Senate Nominating Committee, has submitted nominations for elections to be conducted by Senate at its meeting of October 3, 1977.

Under Senate regulations any Senator who wishes to add nominations to those listed below may do so by notifying the Secretary of Senate in writing of such nominations, to reach his office no later than Friday, September 30, 1977. Nominations received after that time, and nominations from the floor cannot be accepted.

If a nomination is made, the Senator making the nomination must ensure in advance that the nominee is willing to stand for election.

\*SENATORS WILL NOTE THERE ARE INSUFFICIENT NOMINATIONS YET RECEIVED TO FILL VACANCIES.

\*SENATE COMMITTEE ON ACADEMIC PLANNING (SCAP)/SENATE COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY BUDGET (SCUB)

Three Senators at large to replace P. Buitenhuis, A. S. Arrott, and J. F. Hutchinson; one Lay Senator to replace S. Thomas; one Student Senator to replace B.J.F. Palmer, whose terms of office expire September 30, 1977. Terms of office are for two years from October 1, 1977 to September 30, 1979.

A. S. ARROTT

P. BUITENHUIS

A. KAZEPIDES

C. L. KEMP

S. THOMAS

B.J.F. PALMER

One Student Senator to replace L. Severy for balance term of office from date of election to September 30, 1978.

(Note: At least one more Student Senator is required to complete the slate.)

#### SENATE COMMITTEE ON AGENDA AND RULES (SCAR)

One Senator at large to replace A. E. Chapman and one Student Senator to replace D. E. Bitle, whose terms of office expire September 30, 1977. Terms of office are for two years from October 1, 1977 to September 30, 1979.

D. E. BITLE

A. E. CHAPMAN

B. HOLWEG

A. A. KELTNER

### \*SENATE COMMITTEE ON CONTINUING STUDIES (SCCS)

One faculty Senator to replace J. D. Wyatt; two Senators at large to replace S. Thomas and D. E. Knight; one Lay Senator to replace L. Latham, whose terms of office expire September 30, 1977. Terms of office are for two years from October 1, 1977 to September 30, 1979.

- A. KAZEPIDES
- D. E. KNIGHT
- L. LATHAM
- L. RESNICK
- J. WALKLEY
- J. D. WYATT

One Student Senator alternate to replace L. Severy for balance term of office from date of election to September 30, 1978.

(Note: At least one more Student Senator is required to complete the slate.)

#### \* SENATE COMMITTEE ON HONORARY DEGREES (SCHD)

One Faculty of Education Senator to replace temporarily A. J. Dawson from date of election to August 31, 1978.

(Note: At least one Faculty of Education Senate is required.)

# \*SENATE LIBRARY COMMITTEE (SLC)

Two Senators at large to replace A. S. Arrott and S. Thomas, whose terms of office expire September 30, 1977. Terms of office are for two years from October 1, 1977 to September 30, 1979.

- J. F. HUTCHINSON
- S. THOMAS

One Student Senator to replace E. Ryan for balance term of office from date of election to September 30, 1978.

(Note: At least one Student Senators is required.)

#### \*SENATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE (SNC)

Four Senators at large to replace A. E. Curzon, J. F. Hutchinson, M. P. Hindley and S. Thomas, and one Student Senator and one Student Senator alternate to replace T. Glas and R. H. White, whose terms of office expire September 30, 1977. Terms of office are for we years from October 1, 1977 to September 30, 1978.

- R. F. HOBSON
- B. HOLWEG
- C. L. KEMP
- J. WALKLEY

(Note: At least one Senator at large and one Student Senator are required to complete the slate.)

# SENATE COMMITTEE ON SCHOLARSHIPS, AWARDS AND BURSARIES (SCSAB)

One faculty member from the Faculty of Arts to replace J. M. Kitchen; one faculty member from the Faculty of Education to replace E. Warrell; one faculty member from the Faculty of Interdisciplinary Studies to replace I. Garland; and one faculty member from the Faculty of Science to replace N. R. Reilly, whose terms of office expire September 30, 1977. Terms of office are for two years from October 1, 1977 to September 30, 1979.

> Faculty of Arts Faculty of Education

M. LEBOWITZ M. WIDEEN

A. H. ELLIOTT M. GIBBONS

Faculty of Interdisciplinary Studies Faculty of Science

M. L. BENSTON C.H.W. JONES

E. M. VOIGT

One Lay Senator to replace D. E. Knight, whose term of office expires September 30, 1977. Term of office is for two years from October 1, 1977 to September 30, 1979.

D. E. KNIGHT

## \*SENATE UNDERGRADUATE ADMISSIONS BOARD (SUAB)

Two Student Senators and one student Senator alternate to replace T. Glas, E. Ryan and G. T. McGuire, whose terms of office expire September 30, 1977. Terms of office are for one year from October 1, 1977 to September 30, 1978.

> D. E. BITLE G. T. McGUIRE

(Note: At least one Student Senator is required to complete the slate.)

One Senator at large to replace A. J. Dawson for balance term of office from date of election to September 30, 1978.

> A. A. KELTNER E. J. WELLS

#### SENATE APPEALS BOARD (SAB)

One Senator at large alternate to replace J. F. Hutchinson from date of election for no specified term of office.

G. C. HOYT

#### \*SENATE COMMITTEE ON UNDERGRADUATE STUDIES (SCUS)

One Lay Senator to replace A. G. Martel from date of election for no specified term of office.

(Note: At least one Lay Senator is required.)

One Student Senator alternate to replace  $R.\ H.\ White from date of election for no specified term of office.$ 

(Note: At least one Student Senator is required.)