## SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY

### MEMORANDUM

TO: Senate

SUBJECT:

Elections at Senate Meeting

- Monday, October 3, 1994

FROM W.R. Heath Registrar and Secretary of Senate

)ATE:

September 21, 1994

The following electoral matters are carried over from the Senate meeting of September 19, 1994.

Senators are invited to submit nominations to the committees shown below by notifying the Secretary of Senate in writing of such nominations.

Nominations must be received by the Secretary of Senate no later than Friday, September 30, 1994.

Senators making such nominations must ensure in advance that the nominee is willing to stand for election.

Nominations received after September 30th, and nominations from the floor of Senate cannot be accepted.

<u>SENATE COMMITTEE ON DISCIPLINARY APPEALS (SCODA)</u> (formerly the Senate Committee on Academic Discipline)

Insufficient nominations were received; therefore nominations are open for **Two Faculty Members** (who are not also Chairs, Deans or Vice-Presidents) for overlapping two-year terms of office (staggered initially). Terms of office will be for one-year, from date of election to September 30, 1995.

#### SENATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE (SNC)

Insufficient nominations were received; therefore nominations are open for One Senator (atlarge) for one-year term of office, from date of election to September 30, 1995.

### INTERNATIONAL UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT EXCHANGE COMMITTEE (IUSEC)

Due to the election of J. Driver by SCIA as the Chair of the International Undergraduate Student Exchange Committee, it will be necessary to replace him in his recently elected faculty position on IUSEC. Nominations are therefore open for **One Faculty Member (at-large)** for a two-year term of office, from date of election to September 30, 1996.

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

#### **RUN-OFF ELECTION**

# SENATE COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY TEACHING AND LEARNING (SCUTL)

Four Faculty Members (at-large) for two-year terms of office (staggered initially). In this first election, the two faculty members receiving the highest number of votes will be elected for two year terms. The remaining two faculty positions will be elected for one-year terms. Thereafter, terms will be for two years.

Balloting resulted in the election of C. Banerjee and P. Coleman and in a tied vote among three candidates for the remaining two positions. A run-off election is therefore required for **two faculty members** (at-large) for terms of office from date of election to September 30, 1995 among the following candidates.

I Gordon R.K. Pomeroy A. Rawicz