# SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY MEMORANDUM

TO: Senate

FROM:

W.R. Heath

Registrar and

Secretary of Senate

SUBJECT: Elections at Senate Meeting

- Monday, September 19, 1994

DATE:

September 8, 1994

A number of vacancies will occur to the undernoted Senate committees as of October 1, 1994. The Senate Nominating Committee has submitted nominations for elections to these committees to be conducted by Senate at its meeting of September 19, 1994.

Under Senate regulations any Senator who wishes to add nominations to those shown below may do so by notifying the Secretary of Senate in writing of such nominations.

Nominations must be received by the Secretary of Senate no later than Friday, September 16, 1994.

Senators making such nominations must ensure in advance that the nominee is willing to stand for election.

Nominations received after September 16th, and nominations from the floor of Senate cannot be accepted.

<u>SENATE COMMITTEE ON DISCIPLINARY APPEALS (SCODA)</u> (formerly the Senate Committee on Academic Discipline)

One Senator (at-large) as Chair for two-year term of office, from date of election to September 30, 1996.

New Committee - Nominations in progress

Three Faculty Members (who are not also Chairs, Deans or Vice-Presidents) for overlapping two-year terms of office (staggered initially). In the first election, the one faculty member receiving the highest number of votes will be elected for a two-year term. The remaining two faculty positions will be elected for one-year terms. Thereafter, terms will be for two years.

New Committee - Nominations in progress

Three Students for one-year terms of office, from date of election to September 30, 1995.

New Committee - Nominations in progress

# SENATE COMMITTEE ON ACADEMIC PLANNING (SCAP)/SENATE COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY BUDGET (SCUB)

Two Senators (at-large) to replace L. Boland and L. Hafer for two-year terms of office, from October 1, 1994 to September 30, 1996.

- L. Boland
- C. Crawford
- J. D'Auria
- C. Eaton
- L. Etherington
- P. Percival
- L. Peterson

One Lay Senator to replace V. Dunsterville for two-year term of office, from October 1, 1994 to September 30, 1996.

- V. Dunsterville
- M. Warsh

Two Student Senators to replace D. Einstein and K. Hoeflich for two-year terms of office, from October 1, 1994 to September 30, 1996.

- K. Chan
- D. Einstein
- S. Wu

### SENATE COMMITTEE ON AGENDA AND RULES (SCAR)

Two Senators (at-large) to replace J. Driver and K. Hoeflich for two-year terms of office, from October 1, 1994 to September 30, 1996.

- C. Crawford
- R. Dhir
- J. Driver
- D. Einstein
- K. Hoeflich

# SENATE COMMITTEE ON CONTINUING STUDIES (SCCS)

Four Faculty Senators to replace C. Crawford, A. Ciria, L. Hafer and M. Wideen for two-year terms of office, from October 1, 1994 to September 30, 1996.

- C. Eaton
- L. Hafer
- L. Peterson
- M. Wideen

Two Student Senators (One Regular, One Alternate) to replace K. Hoeflich and J. Bacani respectively for two-year terms of office, from October 1, 1994 to September 30, 1996.

- J. Bacani
- T. Morrison

#### SENATE COMMITTEE ON HONORARY DEGREES (SCHD)

One Faculty Senator (who must be from the Faculty of Business Administration) to replace L. Pinfield from date of election for no specified term of office.

G. Mauser

One Faculty Senator (who must be from the Faculty of Science) to replace L. Dill from date of election for no specified term of office.

J. D'Auria

P. Percival

#### SENATE LIBRARY COMMITTEE (SLC)

One Senator (at-large) to replace D. Chunn for balance term of office, from October 1, 1994 to September 30, 1995.

G. Mauser

# SENATE LIBRARY COMMITTEE (SLC)/LIBRARY PENALTIES APPEAL COMMITTEE (LPAC)

Two Student Senators (One Regular, One Alternate) to replace K. Hoeflich and S. Wu respectively for two-year terms of office, from October 1, 1994 to September 30, 1996.

K. Chan

K. Hoeflich

S. Wu

# SENATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE (SNC)

**Four Senators (at-large)** to replace R.Dhir, E. Palmer, L. Etherington, and M.L. Stewart for one-year terms of office, from October 1, 1994 to September 30, 1995.

L. Etherington

J. D'Auria

L. Peterson

M.L. Stewart

Two Student Senators (One Regular, One Alternate) to replace J. Bacani and T. Morrison respectively for one-year terms of office, from October 1, 1994 to September 30, 1995.

J. Bacani

R. Dhir

K. Giffen

T. Morrison

# SENATE POLICY COMMITTEE ON SCHOLARSHIPS, AWARDS & BURSARIES (SPCSAB)

One Faculty Member (at-large) to replace E. Palmer for balance term of office, from date of election to September 30, 1996.

- D. Chunn
- C. Crawford
- C. Dean
- L. Peterson

# SENATE UNDERGRADUATE AWARDS AND ADJUDICATION COMMITTEE (SUACC)

One Lay Senator to replace S. Beattie for two-year term of office, from October 1, 1994 to September 30, 1996.

M. Warsh

## SENATE GRADUATE AWARDS ADJUDICATION COMMITTEE (SGAAC)

One Lay Senator to replace V. Dunsterville for two-year term of office, from October 1, 1994 to September 30, 1996.

V. Dunsterville

### SENATE UNDERGRADUATE ADMISSIONS BOARD (SUAB)

One Senator (at-large) to replace C. Crawford for two-year term of office, from October 1, 1994 to September 30, 1996.

C. Crawford

L. Peterson

Three Student Senators (Two Regular, One Alternate) to replace T. Lord, R. Dhir, and D. Bullock respectively for one-year terms of office, from October 1, 1994 to September 30, 1995.

K. Chan

R. Dhir

T. Lord

### SENATE APPEALS BOARD (SAB)

One Faculty Senator (Alternate) to replace E. Palmer from date of election for no specified term of office.

P. Winne

# SENATE COMMITTEE ON INTERNATIONAL ACTIVITIES (SCIA)

Three Faculty Senators to replace J. Driver, L. Dill and A. Ciria for two-year terms of office, from October 1, 1994 to September 30, 1996.

A. Ciria

J. Driver

A. Rawicz

### SENATE COMMITTEE ON INTERNATIONAL ACTIVITIES (SCIA) (continued)

One Senator (at-large) to replace B. Clayman for two-year term of office, from October 1, 1994 to September 30, 1996.

Vacant - No nominations received

One Student Senator to replace K. Giffen for two-year term of office, from October 1, 1994 to September 30, 1996.

K. Giffen

T. Morrison

S. Wu

#### INTERNATIONAL UNDERGRADUATE STUDENT EXCHANGE COMMITTEE (IUSEC)

**Three Faculty Members (at-large)** to replace P. McFetridge, K. Viswanathan, and J. Zaslove for two-year terms of office, from October 1, 1994 to September 30, 1996.

Nominations in progress

J. Driver

A. Rawicz

One Undergraduate Student (at-large) to replace J. Bacani for one-year term of office, from October 1, 1994 to September 30, 1995.

Nominations in progress

J. Bacani

S. Wu

### SENATE COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY TEACHING AND LEARNING (SCUTL)

**Member at-large**, as Chair, for two-year term of office, from date of election to September 30, 1996.

New Committee - Nominations in progress

**Four Faculty Members (at-large)** for two-year terms of office (staggered initially). In this first election, the two faculty members receiving the highest number of votes will be elected for two year terms. The remaining two faculty positions will be elected for one-year terms. Thereafter, terms will be for two years.

New Committee - Nominations in progress

One Undergraduate Student (at-large) for one-year term of office, from date of election to September 30, 1995.

New Committee - Nominations in progress

One Graduate Student (at-large) for one-year term of office, from date of election to September 30, 1995.

New Committee - Nominations in progress