

Election Report, including results of mail balloting, re elections to Senate Committees October 1995

Change in end date for terms of office on all Senate Committees (from September 30 to May 31) approved by Senate September 18, 1995. In this first election, terms of office normally ending September 30, 1996 will be changed to May 31, 1996, and terms of office normally ending September 30, 1997 will be changed to May 31, 1997. Thereafter, all positions will be filled for one-year or two-year terms of office as specified.

SENATE COMMITTEE ON DISCIPLINARY APPEALS (SCODA)

Due to the election of P. Percival as the Chair of the Senate Committee on Disciplinary Appeals, it is necessary to replace him in his elected faculty position on SCODA as follows: **One Faculty Member (at-large)** (who is not also a Chair, Dean or Vice-President) for term of office from date of election to April 30, 1996.

Elected by acclamation:

K. Ákins

Two Faculty Members (at-large) (who are not Chairs, Deans or Vice-Presidents) to replace D. Chunn for term of office from date of election to May 31, 1997, and K. Akins for term of office from date of election to May 31, 1997.

Elected by acclamation:

L. Pinfield J. Thewalt

Three Students (at-large) to replace R. Dhir, M. Shabbits, and T. Myers for terms of office from date of election to May 31, 1996.

Candidates: V. Finberg, R. Jahn, T. Morrison, M. Shabbits Elected: V. Finberg T. Morrisor

T. Morrison M. Shabbits

SENATE COMMITTEE ON ACADEMIC PLANNING (SCAP)/SENATE COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY BUDGET (SCUB)

Three Senators (at-large) to replace C. Eaton, K. Heinrich and P. Winne for terms of office from date of election to May 31, 1997.

Candidates: C. Eaton, W.S. Luk, D. Ross, O. Underhill, P. Winne

Elected:

C. Eaton O. Underhill P. Winne

One Lay Senator to replace I. McAskill for term of office from date of election to May 31, 1997.

Elected by acclamation:

B. Naef

One Student Senator to replace R. Dhir for term of office from date of election to May 31, 1997.

Candidates: K. Giffen (subsequently withdrew candidacy), R. Jahn Elected by acclamation: R. Jahn SENATE COMMITTEE ON AGENDA AND RULES (SCAR)

One Senator (at-large) to replace P. Percival for term of office from date of election to May 31, 1997.

Elected by acclamation:

K. Heinrich

One Student Senator to replace T. Morrison for term of office from date of election to May 31, 1997.

Elected by acclamation:

T. Morrison

SENATE COMMITTEE ON CONTINUING STUDIES (SCCS)

One Faculty Senator to replace L. Hafer for term of office from date of election to May 31, 1996.

Elected by acclamation:

M. Howlett

Two Senators (at-large) to replace K. Giffen and G. Mauser for terms of office from date of election to May 31, 1997.

Elected by acclamation:

G. Blazenko G. Mauser

One Lay Senator to replace N. Wickstrom for term of office from date of election to May 31, 1997.

Candidates: S. Beattie, M. Warsh Elected:

S. Beattie

SENATE LIBRARY COMMITTEE (SLC)/LIBRARY PENALTIES APPEAL COMMITTEE (LPAC)

Two Senators (at-large) to replace M.L. Stewart and K. Giffen for terms of office from date of election to May 31, 1997.

Elected by acclamation:

M. Howlett M.L. Stewart

SENATE NOMINATING COMMITTEE (SNC)

Four Senators (at-large) to replace J. D'Auria, L. Peterson, L. Etherington, and M.L. Stewart for terms of office from date of election to May 31, 1996.

Elected by acclamation:

K. Chan J. D'Auria L. Etherington L. Peterson

Two Student Senators (One Regular, One Alternate) to replace R. Jahn and R. Dhir for terms of office date of election to May 31, 1996. Candidates: K. Giffen, R. Jahn

The candidate receiving the highest number of votes and declared elected as the Regular Member: R. Jahn

Runner-up declared as Alternate Member: K. Giffen

