For Information

ANNUAL REPORT OF THE SENATE COMMITTEE ON UNIVERSITY BUDGET

This report covers the period October 1997 to September 1998, and corresponds to the preparation cycle for the 1998/99 Budget. The elected members of SCUB during this period were:

Larry Boland Len Berggren Valerie Dunsterville Joy Morris Louis Peterson Allan Emmott John Jones (from June 1, 1998) Michael Wortis (from June 1, 1998) Maya Russell (from June 1, 1998) Khushwant Dhillon (from Nov. 2, 1998) Jennifer Overington (until Jan 31, 1998) Ian Yagi (until May 31, 1998) Paul Percival (until May 31, 1998) Lawrence Tam (from Jan 31, 1998 until Nov. 2, 1998) Philip Winne (until May 31, 1998)

Ex-officio members were the Director of Analytical Studies, Walter Wattamaniuk (Committee Secretary) and, by invitation, the Vice President Finance and Administration, Roger Ward. Larry Boland chaired SCUB throughout this period and continues as Chair for 1998/99.

The Committee met 11 times during the reporting period, including meetings with President Blaney and Vice-Presidents Clayman and Gagan. The major issues discussed by SCUB were:

- Early Retirements and Replacement Positions (discussed with Dr. Gagan)
- Long Term Budget Recommendations from SCUB to the President (attached to the last annual report to Senate)
- Role of SCUB (discussed with President Blaney)
- 3-year plans of each Vice president (discussed with Drs. Gagan, Clayman, and Ward)
- 1998/99 Operating Budget (discussed with Drs. Blaney, Gagan and Ward)
- 1998/99 Non-Recurring Budget (discussed with Drs. Blaney, Gagan, Clayman and Ward)
- Financial impact of VP Academic 3-year plan (discussed with Dr. Gagan)

There were no public meetings of the Senate Committee on University Budget.