## SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY

### Memorandum

To:

Senate

From:

Alison Watt

Director, University Secretariat

Date:

June 27, 2000

Subject:

Revisions - Senate Committee on University Honours

**MOTION** 

"that Senate approve the revisions to the Senate Committee on University Honours as outlined in S.00-66"



## Simon Fraser University

Dean of Student Services & Registrar tel 291-4176; fax 291-5732; email heath@sfu.ca

# Memorandum

To:

Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules

From: Ron Heath, Dean of Student Services

And Registrar, Committee Secretary/

Subject:

Senate Committee on University Honours Date:

June 19, 2000

- Revisions

The Senate Review Committee has recommended that the former Senate Committee on Honorary Degrees be given a wider mandate that would include adjudication of some awards that are available to various members of the University community and where there is no obvious existing committee to make that adjudication. Senate also recommended the addition of another student member. These changes have been accepted by Senate and accordingly the former Senate Committee on Honorary Degrees met to consider how these changes might be implemented. The Committee, in addition to reviewing the specific questions arising out of the recommendations of the Senate Review Committee, also wishes to recommend some further changes based on experience in the operations of this Committee over past years.

Changes to Membership

- It is recommended that the Chief Librarian be removed as an *ex officio* member. (The Library used to be actively involved in research on various nominees and provided considerable supporting documentation. This is no longer the case. The Chief Librarian is a member of Senate and could, if she/he wished, be a candidate for the Senator-at-large position on the Committee.)
- 2) It is recommended that the Vice-President, External Relations be added as an *ex officio* and voting member of the Committee.
- 3) It is recommended that the Director of Ceremonies be added as an *ex officio* and non-voting member of the Committee.

#### Vice-Chair

It is recommended that the President and Vice-Chancellor be designated as the Vice-Chair. (The Committee is chaired by the Chancellor.)

#### **Terms of Reference**

- 1) To recommend to Senate candidates for Honorary Degrees.
- 2) To make decisions on awards and distinctions specified in Appendix A.
- 3) From time to time, review the awards and make recommendations for changes.
- 4) On request, to advise on University nominations for external awards.

#### **Ouorum**

It is recommended that the quorum be set at seven voting members.

(The total voting membership is fourteen, including the recommendations set out above.)

#### Other Additions

- 1) This Committee is Reporting Category B
- 2) Committee meetings will be held at least once per semester.

### Appendix A

The following awards shall be determined by the Senate Committee on University Honours:

B. C. Sugar Achievement Award Terry Fox Gold Medal Stephen Harold Edward Herring Prize Judy Kelly Humanitarian Award C. D. Nelson Memorial Prize Eileen Purkiss Memorial Award Ted Sinnott Memorial Award William A. Stewart Leadership Award Roger G. Welch Alumni Prize