Simon Fraser University Memorandum

To:

Senate

From:

Paul Budra

Chair, Senate Nominating Committee

Date:

August 28, 2001

Subject:

Elections at Senate Meeting - Monday, September 17, 2001

The following vacancies on the undernoted Senate Committees are outstanding and are brought forward to the September meeting of Senate. Elections, if required, will be conducted by ballot at the Senate meeting of September 17, 2001.

Under Senate regulations, any Senator who wishes to submit nominations may do so by notifying the Secretary of Senate in writing (e-mail watt@sfu.ca) of such nominations. Nominations must be received by the Secretary of Senate no later than Friday, September 14, 2001.

Nominations received after that time cannot be accepted. Senators making nominations must ensure in advance that the nominee is willing to stand for election.

Senate Committee on Continuing Studies (SCCS)

One Faculty Senator to replace Linda LaRocque for term of office to May 31, 2002.

Senate Committee on University Honours (SCUH)

One Student Senator to replace Christopher Steinbach for term of office to May 31, 2004.

Caralyn Tansey

One Student (at-large) to replace Ken Giffen for term of office to May 31, 2003.

One Senator (Faculty of Education) to replace Linda LaRocque for term of office to May 31, 2003.

Senate Library Committee (SLC) and Library Penalties Appeal Committee (LPAC) – Dual Position

One Graduate Student (Alternate position) to replace Laila Singh for term of office to May 31, 2002.

Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee (SUAAC)
One Lay Senator to replace Michael Warsh for term of office to May 31, 2002.

Barbara Naef

Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee (SGAAC)

One Graduate Student (at-large) to replace Narendra Pachkhede for term of office to May 31, 2002.

Senate Appeals Board (SAB)

One Graduate Student (Alternate) to replace Narendra Pachkhede for term of office to May 31, 2002.

One Faculty Member (at-large) to replace Martin Hahn for term of office to May 31, 2002.

One (at-large) Undergraduate Student Alternate to replace Sameh Al-Natour for term of office to May 31, 2003.

Committee To Review University Admissions (CRUA)

One Graduate Student (at-large) to replace Georgia Livadiotakis for term of office to May 31, 2002.

Electoral Standing Committee (ESC)

One Student Senator to replace Ken Giffen for term of office to May 31, 2002.

Senate Committee on International Activities (SCIA)

One Undergraduate Student Senator to replace Veronika Miralles-Sanchez for term of office to May 31, 2002.

Jack Chang

One Faculty Senator to replace Linda LaRocque for term of office to May 31, 2002.