# SENATE AND BOARD OF GOVERNORS SPRING 2002 ELECTIONS

#### **CONVOCATION ELECTION**

#### a) Chancellor

One person elected by members of Convocation.

Milton Wong re-elected by acclamation as Chancellor for term of office from June 2002 to June 2005.

#### b) Convocation Senators

Four persons who are not faculty members of the University elected by and from members of Convocation.

Valerie Dunsterville, James McArthur, and Silvia Wessel re-elected by acclamation for terms of office from June 1, 2002 to May 31, 2005. One position remains vacant. Albert Chan will continue until a successor is elected.

#### **ELECTIONS TO SENATE - FACULTY**

#### **Joint Faculty**

Election of five full-time faculty members (or designated electoral equivalent) to Senate for terms of office from June 1, 2002 to May 31, 2005.

Elected/Re-elected by acclamation:

Stella Atkins

Computing Science, Applied Sciences

Robert Gordon Criminology, Arts Kamal Gupta

Engineering Science, Applied Sciences

Anne Higgins English, Arts Paul McFetridge Linguistics, Arts

Faculty of Applied Sciences

Election of one full-time faculty member (or designated electoral equivalent) to Senate for term of office from June 1, 2002 to May 31, 2005.

Elected:

Jacques Vaisey, Engineering Science

Faculty of Arts

Election of one full-time faculty member (or designated electoral equivalent) to Senate for term of office from June 1, 2002 to May 31, 2005.

Re-elected by acclamation:

Carole Gerson, English

Faculty of Business Administration

Election of one full-time faculty member (or designated electoral equivalent) to Senate for term of office from June 1, 2002 to May 31, 2005.

Re-elected by acclamation:

Gary Mauser

**Faculty of Education** 

Election of one full-time faculty member (or designated electoral equivalent) to Senate for term of office from June 1, 2002 to May 31, 2005.

Elected by acclamation:

Adam Horvath

Faculty of Science

Election of one full-time faculty member (or designated electoral equivalent) to Senate for term of office from June 1, 2002 to May 31, 2005.

Re-elected by acclamation:

Colin Jones, Chemistry

#### **ELECTIONS TO SENATE - STUDENTS**

Election of thirteen students to Senate for terms of office from June 1, 2002 to May 31, 2003. At least one student is to be elected from each Faculty, and there shall be at least one graduate and one undergraduate student among the total number of students elected.

Elected / Re-elected:

Clement Apaak, Arts (G)
Brynn Bourke, Arts (UG)
Danny Chen, Science (UG)
Carlos Garcia, Arts (UG)
Britta Jensen, Science (UG)
Michelle Kemper, Arts (UG)

Kate Phipps, Applied Sciences (UG) Taira Poletz, Applied Sciences (UG)

Scott Rohan, Arts (UG) Azam Tyab, Arts (UG) Joel Warren, Arts (UG)

No nominations were received from the Faculty of Business Administration or the Faculty of Education. Therefore two positions will remain vacant and a 2<sup>nd</sup> call will be issued at the beginning of the Summer semester 02-2 to try to fill these vacancies.

# **ELECTION TO THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS - STUDENTS**

Election of two students to the Board of Governors for terms of office from June 1, 2002 to May 31, 2003.

Elected/Re-elected:

Danny Chen, Science Jonathan Silveira, Arts

# **ELECTION TO THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS - FACULTY**

Election of two full-time faculty members by and from faculty members jointly for terms of office from June 1, 2002 to May 31, 2005.

Elected:

Catherine Murray, Communication Nancy Olewiler, Economics

# **ELECTION TO THE BOARD OF GOVERNORS - STAFF**

Election of one full-time employee who is not a faculty member for term of office from June 1, 2002 to May 31, 2005.

Elected:

Paulette Johnston, Co-Op Education/Arts