SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY

Senate Committee on University Priorities Memorandum

TO: Senate

FROM:

John Waterhouse

Chair, SCUP

Vice President, Academic

RE:

Burnaby Mountain University

Professorships Terms of Reference

DATE:

July 19, 2004

At its July 7, 2004 meeting SCUP reviewed and approved the terms of reference for the Burnaby Mountain University Professorships, which is now forwarded to Senate for approval.

Motion

That Senate approve and recommend to the Board of Governors the terms of reference for the Burnaby Mountain University Professorships.

encl.

c: J. Osborne

G. Nicholls

BURNABY MOUNTAIN UNIVERSITY PROFESSORSHIPS

TERMS OF REFERENCE

The Burnaby Mountain University Professorships are established by the Burnaby Mountain Endowment Fund. They may be awarded to tenure-track faculty members in any Faculty, Department or School in any field of study deemed to be of significance at Simon Fraser University, including interdisciplinary areas. The purpose of the Burnaby Mountain University Professorships is to attract, and/or recognize and retain excellent faculty

A Burnaby Mountain Professor will be a scholar of any rank whose scholarly achievements are clearly superior relative to others of that rank and who will foster the growth of her/his discipline at SFU and increase its profile within the broader academic community.

The term of a Burnaby Mountain Professorship is a minimum of 5 years and a maximum of 10 years.

University Policy A10.06 will govern the appointment and renewal of a Burnaby Mountain Professor.

A stipend of \$25,000 a year, plus benefits, will be provided from the Endowment. The Vice President, Academic or Dean will have the discretion to create two professorships, each with a stipend of \$12,500 a year, plus benefits.