

Dean of Student Services & Registrar tel 604.291.4176; fax 604.291.5732; email ron_heath@stri.ca

Simon Fraser University

Memorandum

To:	Senate Committee on Agenda And Rules	From:	Ron Heath M Dean of Student Services & Registrar
Subject:	Transition Planning for Senate - New Faculty of Health Sciences	Date:	June 21 2004

With the establishment of the Faculty of Health Sciences in September, 2004, the membership of Senate must be adjusted to conform to provisions of *The University Act*. The Act calls for the Dean to be an ex-officio member of the Senate and the overall membership is increased by two faculty members and one student from that Faculty. At the present time, the search for a Dean is underway, and since the Faculty is not established until September, there are no Faculty members or students from which to draw Senate membership. I am advised that there is little likelihood that there will be any significant number of faculty appointed to the Health Sciences Faculty until early 2005. Faculty members to the search committee for the Dean were elected by and from the registered members of IHRE. This arrangement worked well and I recommend that it be used as the model to deal with Senate membership in the coming year as well.

I propose the following for Senate membership in 2004/2005 and for subsequent years.

For 2004/2005 only

In September 2004, the membership of Senate will be expanded to include the Dean of Health Sciences. [The Director of IHRE (or Acting Dean) will serve until the Dean assumes office.] To maintain the balance of representation, two faculty members and one student member should be added to Senate under Sections (g) and (h) respectively. However, since there will unlikely be any faculty members appointed to the Faculty of Health Sciences in September and since there are no programs currently under the purview of that Faculty from which to elect a student, alternatives to fill these three Senator positions must be developed. Section (l) allows for "additional members the Senate may determine without altering the ratio set out in paragraphs (g) and (h)". For 2004/2005, the two faculty positions should be filled for one year term of office "elected by and from the members of IHRE" and the student position should be filled by a student elected at large for a one year term of office. This would maintain the balance of representation mandated by *The University Act* and at the same time, allow for representation by faculty and students closely identified with the new Faculty.

For 2005 and the Future



The Dean of Health Sciences will be the ex officio member. Elections to Senate will be conducted at the usual time in March of 2005. Two faculty members will be elected by and from the Faculty of Health Sciences and one student undertaking studies in the Faculty will be elected. In the case of the faculty members, in order to achieve some continuity of membership, the candidate receiving the highest number of votes will be elected for a three year term of office while the candidate receiving the second highest number of votes will be elected for a two year term of office. In accordance with *The University Act*, the student will serve for a one year term of office. In subsequent years, the usual terms of office would apply to all faculty members elected from that Faculty. On the question of faculty members elected jointly to Senate, there must be one such member from each faculty. If there are no members of Senate who are also members of the Faculty of Health Sciences at the time of the election, one Senate position will be designated for a faculty member from the Faculty of Health Sciences.

<u>Motion:</u> That Senate approve the following transitional membership arrangements resulting from the establishment of the FHS:

a) Effective 1 September 2004, the Dean of the FHS will be an ex officio member of Senate, and two Faculty Senator positions (elected by and from the FHS), and one Student Senator position (elected by and from the FHS) will be established but not filled until 31 May 2005.

b) As there will be no faculty or students initially in the FHS, three positions will be established under section 35 (l) of the University Act for 2 Faculty Senators to be elected by and from the members of IHRE and 1 Student Senator elected at-large for the period 1 September, 2004 to 31 May, 2005.

c) Elections for the FHS will take place at the usual time in spring 2005. The Faculty Senator positions will initially be staggered with one position a 3 year term and the other position a 2 year term.

d) During the period 1 September 2004 to 31 May 2005, the members elected under 2.b) above will be eligible to represent the FHS on Senate committees which will have FHS representation, and IHRE members will be eligible to fill FHS positions elected by the FHS.