# SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY

# Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning Memorandum

TO: Senate

FROM:

Ted Kirkpatrick

Chair, SCUTL

RE:

Policy for Excellence in Teaching

DATE:

March 15, 2006

At its January 16, 2006 meeting SCUTL reviewed and approved the proposal dealing with revising the policy for the Excellence in Teaching Award.

#### **Motion**

That Senate approve the changes to the criteria for the Excellence in Teaching Award as outlined in the accompanying document "Award for Excellence in Teaching", prepared by the Excellence in Teaching Award Committee.

#### Rationale

From John Waterhouse (March 13, 2006):

"In the past, it has been made unclear in the policy as to who would be eligible for the Excellence in Teaching Award. Within the last 5 years, there has been talk within the committee members to make changes to the policy to show that only "continuing" faculty members who have taught a minimum of 5 years would be eligible. The reason for the 5 years of teaching is so that statistical data extracted from Analytical Studies would be fair and consistent. The process is to send evaluations out to at least 51 students (there needs to be a diversity of courses taught, and enough students to do a random selection). For example, within the last 5 years, we would select 17 students from 2001, 17 students from 2003, and 17 students from 2005 (a mixture of male/female students, a mixture of grades, a mixture of courses taught). We then compile this data along with the students' evaluations into a summary and the committee members use this as a tool to determine the most outstanding nominees.

"Within the last several years, we continued to accepted nominations of those who haven't taught a minimum of 5 years, however, we were unable to provide fair and consistent data (vs. those nominees who have taught over 5 years). With that said, they were not selected as award recipients. Based on this, the committee members made a decision to revamp the policy."

Sincerely,

Arthur (Ted) Kirkpatrick

( E. Kirknotrick

Chair, SCUTL

cc: J. Waterhouse

#### Award for Excellence in Teaching

### Purpose

The purpose of the Excellence in Teaching Award is to give greater recognition for teaching excellence. Up to three awards may be made each year, each consisting of a \$2,000 prize. The awards shall be presented at the Awards Ceremony.

#### **Policy**

- 1 Full and part-time faculty members and laboratory instructors shall be eligible to receive the Award for Excellence in Teaching.
- The University Committee for Excellence in Teaching Award shall consist of five faculty nominated by the Faculty Deans, two students selected by the Student Society, and two representatives from the Alumni Association. The Committee will select its own Chair.
- 3 Nominations for this Award, which may be made by present or former students or faculty members, shall be forwarded to the University Committee for the Excellence in Teaching Award by October 15.
- 4 The Committee shall be expected to seek appropriate information from various sources before making its recommendation to the President. Award recipients are not eligible for nomination in future years.

## Interpretation

Questions of interpretation or application of this policy or its procedures shall be referred to the President, whose decision shall be final.

We propose that the first item in the policy should be changed to read:

"Continuing faculty members (tenured and tenure-track professors, lecturers, and lab instructors) who have taught a minimum of 5 years at SFU shall be eligible for nomination for the Excellence in Teaching Awards."

Motion:

Moved by: T. Grieve Seconded by: S. Lavieri

"That the committee approve and recommend to the Vice-President, Academic and Senate a revision to the Excellence in Teaching Awards policy" CARRIED