### FOR INFORMATION

### Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules

## Annual Report 1 June 2007 - 31 May 2008

As required by the Rules of Senate, the Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules is pleased to submit its annual report to Senate.

## 1. Membership

Michael Stevenson, President and Chair of Senate
Stephen Easton, Faculty Senator, Vice-Chair
John Waterhouse, Vice-President, Academic
Michael Hayes, Faculty Senator, until December 2007
Stella Atkins, Faculty Senator from January 2008
Daniel Weeks, Faculty Senator
Amanda van Baarsen, Student Senator
Derrick Harder, Student Senator (alternate)
Colin Percival, Convocation Senator
Alison Watt, Director, University Secretariat, Secretary of SCAR

# 2. Meetings

SCAR meets 13 days before each scheduled meeting of Senate, and held meetings on:

2007 26 June, 4 September, 2 and 23 October, 20 November, 18 December 2008 22 January, 18 February, 25 March, 29 April, and 20 May

#### 3. Matters considered

Almost all items considered by SCAR are forwarded to Senate for information or approval and are not repeated here.

Some items are considered by SCAR and SCAR determines that there is no need for them to be forwarded to Senate. The following items were not forwarded to Senate;

- a) Two motions dealing with the implications of the Trade, Investment and Labour Mobility Agreement between BC and Alberta were forwarded to SCAR for consideration by Senate. This item was referred to the VP Finance and Administration to request feedback on this issue from the University Presidents' Council (TUPC). When this matter returned to SCAR, the general consensus was that the matter did not fall within the jurisdiction of Senate and the matter did not come forward.
- b) SCAR discussed the possibility of moving to a different method of distribution of materials. One possibility was having the materials distributed electronically, and having them displayed on projector at the Senate meeting. No conclusion was reached and this was a matter that would be raised for discussion at a future Senate meeting.

Michael Stevenson, President

Chair of Senate and the Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules

30 June, 2008