

To:

Senate

From:

Jo Hinchliffe, Secretary

Senate Nominating Committee

Date:

October 5, 2009

Subject: Senate Committee Elections

The following Senate committees have outstanding vacancies for election by Senate. Elections, if required, will be conducted on-line following the Senate meeting on Monday, October 5, 2009. Nominations received by the Senate Nominating Committee are forwarded below.

Additional nominations must be received by the Secretary of the Committee in writing (email joah@sfu.ca) no later than Friday, October 2, 2009. Nominations received after that time will not be accepted. Senators making nominations must ensure in advance that the nominee is willing to stand for election.

### Calendar Committee (CC)

One Faculty Senator (replacing Tracy Brennand) for term of office to May 31, 2011.

### Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee (DQAC)

One Faculty Member (replacing Andrew Rawicz) for term of office to May 31, 2011.

One Undergraduate Student (replacing Ravi Patel) for term of office to May 31, 2010.

**Ballot Required** 

Jake Keithley Patrick Low Trisha Patidar Anna Shoemaker

### Electoral Standing Committee (ESC)

One Senator (replacing Michael Letourneau) for term of office to May 31, 2010.

### Research Ethics Board (REB)

One Member from the University community (replacing Bev Neufeld) for term of office to May 31, 2012.

### Elected by acclamation

Trisha Patidar

One Student Alternate (replacing Sean Robertson) for term of office to May 31, 2010.

Elected by acclamation

Risha Patidar

## Senate Committee on Continuing Studies (SCCS)

One Senator (replacing Brent Seal) for term of office to May 31, 2011.

Elected by acclamation

Evan Tiffany

One Faculty Senator (replacing Brad Bart) for term of office to May 31, 2010

### Senate Committee on Enrolment Management and Planning (SCEMP)

One Graduate Student (replacing Graham Lyons) for term of office to May 31, 2010.

# <u>Senate Committee on International Activities (SCIA)</u> (New membership as approved by Senate on September 14, 2009)

One Faculty Member, Faculty of Applied Sciences, for term of office to May 31, 2011 (formerly a Faculty Senator on SCIA) **Elected by acclamation** Cenk Sahinalp

One Faculty Member, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, for term of office to May 31, 2011

One Faculty Member, Faculty of Business Administration, for term of office to May 31, 2010

One Faculty Member, Faculty of Communication, Art & Technology, for term of office to May 31, 2011

One Faculty Member, Faculty of Education, for term of office to May 31, 2010

One Faculty Member, Faculty of Environment, for term of office to May 31, 2011

One Faculty Member, Faculty of Health Sciences, for term of office to May 31, 2010 (formerly a Senator at-large on SCIA) **Elected by acclamation** Jamie Scott

One Faculty Member, Faculty of Science, for term of office to May 31, 2010
(formerly a Faculty Senator on SCIA)

Elected by acclamation

Danny Leznoff

#### Senate Committee on University Honours (SCUH)

One Senator (Applied Sciences) (replacing Thomas Shermer) for term of office to May 31, 2012.

Elected by acclamation Cenk Sahinalp

One Senator (Education) (replacing Peter Liljedahl) for term of office to May 31, 2012.

One Senator (Communication, Art & Technology) for term of office to May 31, 2012.

Elected by acclamation Rob Woodbury

### Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning (SCUTL)

One Faculty Member (Communication, Art & Technology) (replacing Janet McCracken) for term of office to May 31, 2012.

Page 2 of 3

## Senate Nominating Committee (SNC)

One Faculty Senator (Applied Sciences) for term of office to May 31, 2011.

## Elected by acclamation

Glenn Chapman

One Faculty Senator (Environment) for term of office to May 31, 2011.

One Faculty Senator (Education) (replacing Natalee Popadiuk) for term of office to May 31, 2010.

One Graduate Student (replacing Eli Gibson) for term of office to May 31, 2010.

# Senate Policy Committee on Scholarships, Awards & Bursaries (SPCSAB) and Senate Graduate Awards

Adjudication Committee (SGAAC) (dual position)

One Graduate Student (Regular Position replacing J. Newman) for term of office to May 31, 2010

Elected by acclamation Christi Garneau-Scott

Balloting, if required, will be done online. Following the October 5<sup>th</sup> Senate meeting, a web survey ballot will be released with an email announcement to all Senators. Voting will be permitted for 48 hours, and election results will be released within three days of the end of voting.