

To: Senate

From: Kris Nordgren, Secretary

Senate Nominating Committee

Date: June 21, 2024

Subject: Senate Committee Elections

This is a summary of the nominations received and outstanding vacancies for Senate committees.

All nominations must be received by the Senate Office from the Nominating Committee in time to be included in the documentation sent out for the next Senate meeting. Senators will be informed that further nominations may be made by individual members of Senate. Any such nominations must reach the Committee Secretary the Friday before the meeting of Senate, and no further nominations will be accepted after this time. The Committee Secretary will provide members of Senate at the Senate meeting with such further nominations as may have been received. Oral nominations during the meeting of Senate will not then be allowed.

If only one nomination is received for a position, the position will be elected by acclamation. If more than one nomination is received for a position online voting will be held during the week following the Senate meeting on Monday, July 8, 2024. An email will be sent to all Senators with information about the candidates and a link to the online voting system. Voting will be permitted for 48 hours and election results will be released within three days of the end of voting

COMMITTEE	POSITION	TERM (from June 1, 2024)	NOMINATIONS RECEIVED (after June Senate Elections)	CANDIDATES ELECTED (from June Senate Meeting)
CC	Student Member	1 year		Xi Lan (Landy) Liu
DQAC	Undergraduate Student	1 year		Lisa Kim
	Undergraduate Student	1 year		Deion Fairfax
ESC	Senator	2 years		Pok Man Tong
	Senator	2 years		Aaron Fung
	Student Senator	2 years		Mishael Abu- Samhan
REB	Scientific Member	3 years		Bohdan Nosyk
SAB	Faculty Member	2 years		Alexander Karaivanov
	Faculty Member	2 years	Michael Everton	
	Faculty Member	2 years		
	Graduate Student	2 years		
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	2 years		
SCAR	Senator	2 years		Thecla Schiphorst
	Senator	2 years		Dan Laitsch

	Student Senator	1 year		
	Student Senator (Alternate)	2 years		
SCCS	Faculty Senator	2 years		Danny Leznoff
	Faculty Senator	2 years		Vance Williams
	Faculty Member	2 years		Matt Martell
	Faculty Member	2 years		Margaret Hall
	Student	2 years		Jessica Simpson
	Student (Alternate)	2 years		Jessieu Simpson
SCEMP	Faculty Senator	2 years		Anke Kessler
	Faculty Senator	2 years		Time Ressiei
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year		Darrick Gunawan
	Graduate Student (at-large)	1 year		Darrick Gunawan
	Faculty Member (Arts and Social	1 year		
SCIA*	Sciences)	1 year		
	Faculty Member (Business Admin)	2 years		Michael Favere- Marchesi
	Faculty Member (Education)	2 years		Steve Marshall
	Faculty Member (Environment)	1 year		
	Faculty Member (Health Sciences)	2 years		
	Faculty Member (Science)	2 years		
	Faculty Member (Lifelong	2 years		
	Learning)	2 years		
	Graduate Student (at-large)	1 year		Pok Man Tong
	Faculty Member	2 years		Doug Allen
	Faculty Member (Alternate)	1 year		Leanne Barlow
SCODA	Faculty Member (Alternate)	1 year		Abraham Punnen
	Student	1 year		Rishu Bagga
	Student	1 year		Henry Do
	Student	1 year		Darrick Gunawan
	Student (Alternate)	1 year		Pok Man Tong
	Student (Alternate)	1 year		Deion Fairfax
SCUH	Faculty Senator (Applied Sciences)	3 years		
	Faculty Senator (Business)	1 year	Luana Carcano	
	Faculty Senator (Education)	3 years		Jeannie Kerr
	Senator (at-large)	1 year		
	Student (at-large)	3 years		Pok Man Tong
SCUP	Faculty Senator (Applied Sciences)	2 years		Glenn Chapman
	Faculty Senator (Arts and Social			-
	Sciences)	2 years		Anke Kessler
	Faculty Senator (Bus. Admin.)	2 years		Connie Liu
	Faculty Senator (Environment)	2 years		Tracy Brennand
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year		Abdulkarim El Hayek
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year		Xi Lan (Landy) Liu
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year		Mishael Abu- Samhan
	Undergraduate Student Senator (Alternate)	1 year		Henry Do
	Graduate Student Senator	1 year		Pok Man Tong

	Graduate Student Senator	1 year		
	(Alternate) Undergraduate Student	1 year		Lynn Masri
SCUS		•		Coin Toss
	Undergraduate Student Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		Coin Toss Coin Toss
		1 year		Colli Toss
SCUTL	Faculty Member (Communication, Art & Technology)	3 years	Ahmed Al-Rawi	
	Faculty Member (Education)	3 years		Suzanne Smythe
	Faculty Member (Environment)	3 years		Suzumie Smythe
	Faculty Member (Health Sciences)	3 years		
	Senator	3 years		Luana Carcano
	Undergraduate Student	1 year		Tara Hashemi
	Undergraduate Student Undergraduate Student	1 year		Angela Dukic
	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	•		Deion Fairfax
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		Defoii Fairiax
		1 year		
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		Sikandra Ali
SGAAC	Graduate Student	1 year		Sikanura Ali
0000	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		D 1 M T
SGSC	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		Pok Man Tong
	Faculty Member (Arts and Social Sciences)	2 years		Michael Everton
OT C	Faculty Member (Business Admin.)	2 years		Geoffrey Poitras
SLC	Faculty Member (Education)	2 years		Roger Frie
	Faculty Member (Environment)	1 year		
	Faculty Member (Health Sciences)	1 year		Stuart Peacock
CI C/I D A C	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	2 years		Aaron Fung
SLC/LPAC	Graduate Student (Alternate)	2 years		Pok Man Tong
	Faculty Senator (Arts and Social Sciences)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (Business)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (Communication,	_		
CNC	Art and Technology)	1 year		
SNC	Faculty Senator (Education)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (Environment)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (Health Sciences)	1 year		
	Student Senator	1 year		
	Graduate Student	1 year		
SPCSAB	Faculty Senator	3 years		Connie Liu
	Faculty Member	2 years		
	Graduate Student	1 year		Pok Man Tong
SPCSAB/ SGAAC	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		
SPCSAB/ SUAAC	Faculty Member	2 years		Michael Everton
	Undergraduate Student	1 year		Mishael Abu- Samhan
	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		Vinisha Vinisha
SUAAC	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		Rishu Bagga
	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		Jessica Simpson
Vice-Chair of	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	•		
Senate	Senator	1 year		Abhi Parmar

* SCIA Faculty members: In the event that the Faculty Member is unable to attend, the Faculty Dean is authorized to appoint an alternate replacement.

CC Calendar Committee

DQAC Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee

ESC Electoral Standing Committee

REB Research Ethics Board SAB Senate Appeals Board

SCAR Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules SCCS Senate Committee on Continuing Studies

SCEMP Senate Committee on Enrolment Management and Planning

SCIA Senate Committee on International Activities
SCODA Senate Committee on Disciplinary Appeals
SCUH Senate Committee on University Honours
SCUP Senate Committee on University Priorities
SCUS Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies

SCUTL Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning SGAAC Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee

SGSC Senate Graduate Studies Committee

SLC/LPAC Senate Library Committee/Library Penalties Appeal Committee

SNC Senate Nominating Committee

SPCSAB Senate Policy Committee on Scholarships, Awards & Bursaries

SUAAC Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee