

SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY ENGAGING THE WORLD

- To: Senate
- From: Kris Nordgren, Secretary Senate Nominating Committee
- Date: May 31, 2024

Subject: Senate Committee Elections

This is a summary of the nominations received and outstanding vacancies for Senate committees.

All nominations must be received by the Senate Office from the Nominating Committee in time to be included in the documentation sent out for the next Senate meeting. Senators will be informed that further nominations may be made by individual members of Senate. Any such nominations must reach the Committee Secretary the Friday before the meeting of Senate, and no further nominations will be accepted after this time. The Committee Secretary will provide members of Senate at the Senate meeting with such further nominations as may have been received. Oral nominations during the meeting of Senate will not then be allowed.

If only one nomination is received for a position, the position will be elected by acclamation. If more than one nomination is received for a position online voting will be held during the week following the Senate meeting on Monday, June 10, 2024. An email will be sent to all Senators with information about the candidates and a link to the online voting system. Voting will be permitted for 48 hours and election results will be released within three days of the end of voting

COMMITTEE	POSITION	TERM	NOMINATIONS	CANDIDATES
		(from June 1, 2024)	RECEIVED	ELECTED
CC	Student Member	1 year		
DOAC	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Jessica Simpson	
DQAC	Undergraduate Student	1 year		
ESC	Senator	2 years		
	Senator	2 years	Aaron Fung	
	Student Senator	2 years	Mishael Abu-Samhan	
REB	Scientific Member	3 years	Bohdan Nosyk	
SAB	Faculty Member	2 years	Alexander Karaivanov	
	Faculty Member	2 years		
	Faculty Member	2 years		
	Graduate Student	2 years		
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	2 years		
SCAR	Senator	2 years	Thecla Schiphorst	
	Senator	2 years	Dan Laitsch	
	Student Senator	1 year		
	Student Senator (Alternate)	2 years		
SCCS	Faculty Senator	2 years	Danny Leznoff	
	Faculty Senator	2 years	Vance Williams	
	Faculty Member	2 years	Matt Martell	

	Faculty Member	2 years	Margaret Hall	
	Student	2 years	Jessica Simpson	
	Student (Alternate)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator	2 years	Anke Kessler	
SCEMP	Faculty Senator	2 years		
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year	Darrick Gunawan	
	Graduate Student (at-large)	1 year	Durrier Gunavian	
	Faculty Member (Arts and Social			
	Sciences)	1 year		
	Faculty Member (Business Admin)	2 years	Michael Favere- Marchesi	
	Faculty Member (Education)	2 years	Steve Marshall	
SCIA*	Faculty Member (Environment)	1 year		
	Faculty Member (Health Sciences)	2 years		
	Faculty Member (Science)	2 years		
	Faculty Member (Lifelong			
	Learning)	2 years		
	Graduate Student (at-large)	1 year		
	Faculty Member	2 years	Leanne Barlow; Abraham Punnen	
	Faculty Member (Alternate)	1 year		
	Faculty Member (Alternate)	1 year		
SCODA	Student	1 year	Henry Do	
	Student	1 year	Darrick Gunawan	
	Student	1 year		
	Student (Alternate)	1 year		
	Student (Alternate)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (Applied Sciences)	3 years		
COLUM	Faculty Senator (Education)	3 years	Jeannie Kerr	
SCUH	Senator (at-large)	1 year		
	Student (at-large)	3 years		
	Faculty Senator (Applied Sciences)	2 years	Glenn Chapman	
SCUP	Faculty Senator (Arts and Social Sciences)	2 years	Michael Everton; Anke Kessler	
	Faculty Senator (Bus. Admin.)	2 years	Connie Liu	
	Faculty Senator (Environment)	2 years	Tracy Brennand	
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year	Mishael Abu-Samhan	
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year	Henry Do	
	Undergraduate Student Senator	1 year		
	Undergraduate Student Senator (Alternate)	1 year		
	Graduate Student Senator	1 year		
	Graduate Student Senator (Alternate)	1 year		
SCUS	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Mishael Abu-Samhan; Lynn Masri	
	Undergraduate Student	1 year		
	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		
SCUTL	Faculty Member (Communication, Art & Technology)	3 years		
	Faculty Member (Education)	3 years		
	Lacary memori (Laudation)	2 Junio		

	Faculty Member (Environment)	3 years	
	Faculty Member (Health Sciences)	3 years	
	Senator	3 years	John Stockie
	Undergraduate Student	1 year	
	Undergraduate Student	1 year	
	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	
	Graduate Student	1 year	
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	
	Graduate Student	1 year	Sikandra Ali
SGAAC	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	
SGSC	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	
	Faculty Member (Arts and Social		
	Sciences)	2 years	
	Faculty Member (Business Admin.)	2 years	Geoffrey Poitras
SLC	Faculty Member (Education)	2 years	Roger Frie
	Faculty Member (Environment)	1 year	
	Faculty Member (Health Sciences)	1 year	Stuart Peacock
	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	2 years	Aaron Fung
SLC/LPAC	Graduate Student (Alternate)	2 years	
	Faculty Senator (Arts and Social		
	Sciences)	2 years	
	Faculty Senator (Business)	1 year	
	Faculty Senator (Communication,	1 yoor	
SNC	Art and Technology)	1 year	
SINC	Faculty Senator (Education)	2 years	
	Faculty Senator (Environment)	2 years	
	Faculty Senator (Health Sciences)	1 year	
	Student Senator	1 year	
	Graduate Student	1 year	
SPCSAB	Faculty Senator	3 years	Connie Liu
STUSAD	Faculty Member	2 years	
SPCSAB/ SGAAC	Graduate Student	1 year	
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	
		-	
SPCSAB/ SUAAC	Faculty Member	2 years	Michael Everton
	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Mishael Abu-Samhan
	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	
SUAAC	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Jessica Simpson
	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	
Vice-Chair of	Senator	1 year	
Senate		1 your	

* SCIA Faculty members: In the event that the Faculty Member is unable to attend, the Faculty Dean is authorized to appoint an alternate replacement.

CC	Calendar Committee
DQAC	Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee
ESC	Electoral Standing Committee
REB	Research Ethics Board
SAB	Senate Appeals Board
SCAR	Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules

SCCS	Senate Committee on Continuing Studies
SCEMP	Senate Committee on Enrolment Management and Planning
SCIA	Senate Committee on International Activities
SCODA	Senate Committee on Disciplinary Appeals
SCUH	Senate Committee on University Honours
SCUP	Senate Committee on University Priorities
SCUS	Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies
SCUTL	Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning
SGAAC	Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee
SGSC	Senate Graduate Studies Committee
SLC/LPAC	Senate Library Committee/Library Penalties Appeal Committee
SNC	Senate Nominating Committee
SPCSAB	Senate Policy Committee on Scholarships, Awards & Bursaries
SUAAC	Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee