

To: Senate

From: Kris Nordgren, Secretary

Senate Nominating Committee

Date: March 22, 2024

Subject: Senate Committee Elections

This is a summary of the nominations received and outstanding vacancies for Senate committees.

All nominations must be received by the Senate Office from the Nominating Committee in time to be included in the documentation sent out for the next Senate meeting. Senators will be informed that further nominations may be made by individual members of Senate. Any such nominations must reach the Committee Secretary the Friday before the meeting of Senate, and no further nominations will be accepted after this time. The Committee Secretary will provide members of Senate at the Senate meeting with such further nominations as may have been received. Oral nominations during the meeting of Senate will not then be allowed.

If only one nomination is received for a position, the position will be elected by acclamation. If more than one nomination is received for a position online voting will be held during the week following the Senate meeting on Monday, April 8, 2024. An email will be sent to all Senators with information about the candidates and a link to the online voting system. Voting will be permitted for 48 hours and election results will be released within three days of the end of voting

COMMITTEE	POSITION	TERM (from June 1, 2023)	NOMINATIONS RECEIVED (after March Senate Elections)	CANDIDATES ELECTED (from March Senate Meeting)
DQAC	Undergraduate Student	1 year		
ESC	<b>Senator</b>	1 year		
	Senator	1 year		
REB	External (Community Member)	3 years (April 2024 – March 2027)	Dante Abbey	
	External (Community Member)	3 years (April 2024 – March 2027)	Paul Gill	
	Arts and Social Sciences (Criminology)	3 years (April 2024 – March 2027)	Eric Beauregard	
	Arts and Social Sciences (Economics)	3 years (April 2024 – March 2027)	David Freeman	
	Arts and Social Sciences (Political Science)	3 years (April 2024 – March 2027)	Mark Pickup	
	Health Sciences	3 years (April 2024 – March 2027)	Jean-Christophe Belisle-Pipon	
	Science (BPK)	3 years (April 2024 – March 2027)	Andy Hoffer	

SAB	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	
SCAR	Student Senator	2 years	
SCCS	Student (Alternate)	1 year	
SCEMP	Graduate Student (at-large)	1 year	
	Faculty Member (Arts and Social Sciences)	2 years	
SCIA*	Faculty Member (Environment)	2 years	
	Faculty Member (Health Sciences)	1 year	
SCUH	Graduate Student (at-large)	2 years	
	Faculty Senator (Applied Sciences)	1 year	
SCUP	Faculty Senator (Education)	1 year	Jeannie Kerr
	Faculty Senator (Communication, Art & Technology)	2 years	Brian Fisher
	Graduate Student Senator (Alternate)	1 year	
SGAAC	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year	
SLC	Faculty Member (Environment)	1 year	
	Faculty Member (Health Sciences)	2 years	
SLC/LPAC	Graduate Student (Alternate)	2 years	
	Faculty Senator (Arts and Social Sciences)	1 year	
SNC	Faculty Senator (Business)	2 years	
	Faculty Senator (Communication, Art and Technology)	2 years	
	Faculty Senator (Education)	1 year	
	Faculty Senator (Environment)	1 year	
	Faculty Senator (Health Sciences)	2 years	
SPCSAB/ SGAAC	Graduate Student (Alternate)	2 years	
SUAAC	<b>Undergraduate Student (Alternate)</b>	1 year	

<sup>\*</sup> SCIA Faculty members: *In the event that the Faculty Member is unable to attend, the Faculty Dean is authorized to appoint an alternate replacement.* 

CC Calendar Committee

DQAC Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee

ESC Electoral Standing Committee

REB Research Ethics Board SAB Senate Appeals Board

SCAR Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules SCCS Senate Committee on Continuing Studies

SCEMP Senate Committee on Enrolment Management and Planning

SCIA Senate Committee on International Activities
SCODA Senate Committee on Disciplinary Appeals
SCUH Senate Committee on University Honours
SCUP Senate Committee on University Priorities
SCUS Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies

SCUTL Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning SGAAC Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee

SGSC Senate Graduate Studies Committee

SLC/LPAC Senate Library Committee/Library Penalties Appeal Committee

SNC Senate Nominating Committee

SPCSAB Senate Policy Committee on Scholarships, Awards & Bursaries SUAAC Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee