

SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY ENGAGING THE WORLD

- To: Senate
- From: Kris Nordgren, Secretary Senate Nominating Committee
- Date: October 19, 2023

Subject: Senate Committee Elections

This is a summary of the nominations received and outstanding vacancies for Senate committees.

All nominations must be received by the Senate Office from the Nominating Committee in time to be included in the documentation sent out for the next Senate meeting. Senators will be informed that further nominations may be made by individual members of Senate. Any such nominations must reach the Committee Secretary the Friday before the meeting of Senate, and no further nominations will be accepted after this time. The Committee Secretary will provide members of Senate at the Senate meeting with such further nominations as may have been received. Oral nominations during the meeting of Senate will not then be allowed.

If only one nomination is received for a position, the position will be elected by acclamation. If more than one nomination is received for a position online voting will be held during the week following the Senate meeting on Monday, November 6, 2023. An email will be sent to all Senators with information about the candidates and a link to the online voting system. Voting will be permitted for 48 hours and election results will be released within three days of the end of voting

COMMITTEE	POSITION	TERM (from June 1, 2023)	NOMINATIONS RECEIVED (after September Senate Elections)	CANDIDATES ELECTED (from September Senate Meeting)
DQAC	Undergraduate Student	1 year		
ESC	Senator	1 year		
	Senator	1 year		
	Student Senator	1 year	Mishael Abu-Samhan	
REB	Scientific Member	3 years	Jeannie Kerr	
SAB	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		
SCAR	Student Senator	2 years		
SCCS	Student (Alternate)	1 year		
SCEMP	Faculty Senator	1 year		Anke Kessler
	Graduate Student (at-large)	1 year		
SCIA*	Faculty Member (Arts and Social Sciences)	2 years		
	Faculty Member (Environment)	2 years		
	Faculty Member (Health Sciences)	1 year		
	Undergraduate Student (at-large)	2 years	Moksha Dilip	
	Graduate Student (at-large)	2 years		
SCODA	Student (Alternate)	1 year		Nava Karimi

	Student (Alternate)	1 year		Aaron Fung
SCUH	Faculty Senator (Applied Sciences)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (Education)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (Communication, Art & Technology)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (Education)	2 years		
SCUP	Undergraduate Student Senator (Alternate)	1 year		Aaron Fung
	Graduate Student Senator (Alternate)	1 year		
	Faculty Member (Health Sciences)	1 year		Rochelle Tucker
SCUTL	Undergraduate Student	1 year	Mishael Abu-Samhan; Moksha Dilip	
	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		Parsa Rajabi
SGAAC	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		
SLC	Faculty Member (Education)	1 year		
	Faculty Member (Environment)	2 years		
	Faculty Member (Health Sciences)	2 years		
SLC/LPAC	Graduate Student (Alternate)	2 years		
SNC	Faculty Senator (Arts and Social Sciences)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (Business)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (Communication, Art and Technology)	2 years		
	Faculty Senator (Education)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (Environment)	1 year		
	Faculty Senator (Health Sciences)	2 years		
	Student Senator	1 year		Aaron Fung
SPCSAB/ SGAAC	Faculty Member	2 years		John Stockie
	Graduate Student	1 year		Quang Vuong
	Graduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		
SUAAC	Undergraduate Student (Alternate)	1 year		

* SCIA Faculty members: In the event that the Faculty Member is unable to attend, the Faculty Dean is authorized to appoint an alternate replacement.

CC	Calendar Committee
DQAC	Diverse Qualifications Adjudication Committee
ESC	Electoral Standing Committee
REB	Research Ethics Board
SAB	Senate Appeals Board
SCAR	Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules
SCCS	Senate Committee on Continuing Studies
SCEMP	Senate Committee on Enrolment Management and Planning
SCIA	Senate Committee on International Activities
SCODA	Senate Committee on Disciplinary Appeals
SCUH	Senate Committee on University Honours
SCUP	Senate Committee on University Priorities
SCUS	Senate Committee on Undergraduate Studies
SCUTL	Senate Committee on University Teaching and Learning

SGAAC	Senate Graduate Awards Adjudication Committee	
SGSC	Senate Graduate Studies Committee	
SLC/LPAC	Senate Library Committee/Library Penalties Appeal Committee	
SNC	Senate Nominating Committee	
SPCSAB	Senate Policy Committee on Scholarships, Awards & Bursaries	
SUAAC	Senate Undergraduate Awards Adjudication Committee	