S.17-73



SIMON FRASER UNIVERSITY

| TO: | Senate |
|----------|--|
| FROM | Andrew Petter Chair of Senate Committee on Agenda and Rules |
| DATE: | June 29, 2017 |
| SUBJECT: | Membership Revision to Senate Graduate Studies Committee |

Motion

That Senate approve the attached proposed revision to the membership on the Senate Graduate Studies Committee.

Revision

The proposed revision is to change the Director, Graduate Admissions, Records & Registration to the Associate Director, Graduate Admissions, Records & Registration. This change is a result of the restructuring of duties within the Office of Graduate Studies and Postdoctoral Fellows.



Simon Fraser University Maggie Benston Centre 1100 8888 University Drive Burnaby, BC V5A 186 TEL 778.782.3042 FAX 778.782.3080 gradstudies@sfu.ca www.sfu.ca/grad

MEMORANDUM -

| ATTENTION | SCAR | DATE | May 18, 2017 | Λο |
|-----------|---|--------|--------------|----|
| FROM | Jeff Derksen, Acting Chair of Senate Graduate Studies Committee | | | pr |
| RE: | Membership Revision to Senate Graduate | Studie | es Committee | U |

Motion

That SCAR approve the attached proposed revision to the membership on the Senate Graduate Studies Committee.

Revision

The proposed revision is to change the Director, Graduate Admissions, Records & Registration to the Associate Director, Graduate Admissions, Records & Registration. This change is a result of the restructuring of duties within the Office of Graduate Studies and Postdoctoral Fellows.

Proposed Composition of the Senate Graduate Studies Committee (SGSC) - Standing (Reporting Category "B")

| Members | Conditions | Names |
|--|---|---------------------------------|
| Dean of Graduate Studies | Chair, Ex-Officio | Wade Parkhouse |
| Associate Dean of Graduate Studies | Ex-officio | Jeff Derksen Peter Liljedahl |
| Associate Director, Graduate Admissions, Records & Registration | Ex-officio | Shelley Gair |
| University Librarian (or designate) | Ex-officio | Nicole White |
| Applied Sciences | | Mirza Faisal Beg |
| Arts & Social Sciences | | Lisa Shapiro |
| Business Administration | | Ian McCarthy |
| Communication, Art and Technology | Chair, Faculty of Graduate | Zoë Druick |
| Education | Studies Committee (or designate) | Shawn Bullock |
| Environment | | Dongya Yang |
| Health Sciences | | Stephen Smith |
| Science | | Peter Ruben |
| Graduate Student (Regular) | Elected annually in the Spring Semester by/from | Sarah Lord Ferguson |
| Graduate Student (Regular) | graduate students; post- | Erin Hogg |
| Graduate Student (Alternate) | election vacancies will be filled by election by | Kevin Hegeman |
| Graduate Student (Alternate) | Senate (ends May 31, 2018) | |
| GSS Executive representative | Ex-officio | Chantal Turpin |
| Coordinator, Graduate Academic Programs Policy & Curriculum | Ex-officio (non-voting) | Krista Gerlich- Fitzgerald |
| Recording Secretary | Ex-officio (non-voting) | Daria Babeshko |