To: Senate

From: Rummana Khan Hemani

Registrar and Executive Director, Student Enrollment

Date: April 27, 2017

Subject: Election Report to Senate (For Information)

The University Act and Rules of Senate require that the Registrar report the results of elections to Senate and the Board of Governors for information.

Student Election to Senate

A call for nominations was sent to all undergraduate and graduate students on January 23, 2017 for sixteen student positions on Senate for term of office from June 1, 2017 to May 31, 2018.

Twenty-nine nominations were received: five graduate students and twenty-four undergraduate students.

The election rules state that there shall be at least one student elected from each faculty and at least three undergraduate and three graduate students among the total number of students elected. In accordance with the requirements, the following two candidates are elected by acclamation:

NAME	FACULTY	UNDERGRADUATE / GRADUATE
Kumar, Hanrick	Education	Undergraduate
Chisty, Mohammad Dedarol M.	Environment	Undergraduate

Twenty-two nominations were received for the remaining eleven positions and online voting resulted in the election of the following candidates*:

NAME	FACULTY	Undergraduate/Graduate
Khalili, Sina	Applied Sciences	Undergraduate
Bains, Raman	Arts and Social Sciences	Undergraduate
Ng, Dorothy	Arts and Social Sciences	Undergraduate
Randhawa, Jaskarn	Business	Undergraduate
Singh, Amar	Business	Undergraduate
Chen, Larissa	Health Sciences	Undergraduate
Garcha, Raajan	Health Sciences	Undergraduate

Baharmand, Iman	Science	Undergraduate
Khehra, Alam	Science	Undergraduate
Wang, Christine	Science	Undergraduate

Five nominations were received for three graduate positions and online voting resulted in the election of the following candidates:

Lord Ferguson, Sarah	Business	Graduate
Keliipio, Kau'i	Education	Graduate

Note: No nominations were received from the Faculty of Communication, Art and Technology. A call for nominations for this vacancy will be issued in the Summer 2017 term. Based on the requirement to have at least three graduate students on Senate, the vacant Faculty of Communication, Art and Technology position may only be filled by a graduate student.

* Due to a number of complaints before the Electoral Standing Committee, the counting of votes has been suspended for one student Senator position until a decision is reached about the complaints.

Student Election to Board of Governors

A call for nominations was sent to all undergraduate and graduate students on January 23, 2017 for two student positions on the Board of Governors: one undergraduate student, elected by and from the undergraduate student body, and one graduate student, elected by and from the graduate student body, for term of office from June 1, 2017 to May 31, 2018.

Four undergraduate student nominations were received and online voting resulted in the election of **Jimmy Dhesa** to the undergraduate student position on the Board of Governors.

One graduate student nomination was received and **Oliver Zihlmann** was elected by acclamation to the graduate student position on the Board of Governors.

Student Election to Senate Graduate Studies Committee

A call for nominations was sent to all graduate students on January 23, 2017 for four graduate student positions (2 regular, 2 alternate) on the Senate Graduate Studies Committee for term of office from June 1, 2016 to May 31, 2017.

No nominations were received. In accordance with the SGSC terms of reference, postelection vacancies will be filled by election by Senate.

Convocation Election to Senate

A call for nominations for four convocation member positions on Senate was posted on March 6, 2017. Eleven nominations were received and the following candidates were elected/re-elected through an online vote for term of office from June 1, 2017 to May 31, 2020:

- Sylvia Gajdics
- Tracey Leacock
- Colin Percival
- Amanda Zanette

Faculty Election to Senate

A call for nominations was sent to all faculty members on March 13, 2017 for faculty positions on Senate. The following candidates were elected by and from faculty members jointly by acclamation for term of office from June 1, 2017 to May 31, 2020:

NAME	FACULTY
Spector, Stephen	Business
Brennand, Tracy	Environment

The following candidates were elected by and from the respective faculties by acclamation for term of office from June 1, 2017 to May 31, 2020:

NAME	FACULTY
Luelfesmann, Christoph	Arts and Social Sciences
Poitras, Geoffrey	Business
Bartram, Lyn*	Communication, Art & Technology
Leznoff, Daniel	Science

^{*} for term of office to May 31, 2018

A call for nominations will be issued during the Summer 2017 term to fill the remaining vacancies by and from the faculties jointly: one position from any faculty, one position from Communication, Art and Technology, and one position from Health Sciences; and from the faculties of: Applied Sciences; Education; and Health Sciences.

For a summary of all the nominations received and the positions filled on Senate committees and Faculty College resulting from the faculty call on March 13, 2017, please go to:

Staff Election to the Board of Governors

A call for nominations for one staff representative on the Board of Governors was sent to all employees of the University who are not faculty members on March 23, 2017. Four nominations were received and the following candidate was elected through an online vote for term of office from June 1, 2017 to May 31, 2020:

• Martin Mroz